We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 37 Byron Bay B&Bs / inns

The Summerhouse

9 Coopers Shoot Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Hotel amenities
The Summerhouse
Ranked #17 of 37 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Byron Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    11
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
33
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

A bit disappointing. Too close to the Bangalow - Byron road, which is fast and noisy. The rooms were clean and comfortable but without a single item of decoration. The view was great and the breakfast pleasant. Overpriced and not the quiet country retreat we were hoping for. Would not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

A couple of days R&R at the Summerhouse was definitely not enough! Gorgeous location perched up on the hill, with a view of the sea, the lighthouse and the green countryside, this delightful oasis was perfect. The pool was gorgeous, and relaxing with friends on the terrace divine!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Summerhouse Byron Bay. It is like staying in your own home, very welcoming with warm hospitality. The difference is, that it's perched on a ridge with spectacular views of the Byron lighthouse, the sea & the rolling hills.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed peak season which explains the price tag but I was a bit disappointed. The views are amazing but we weren't able to enjoy them from our room as the windows faced into the open aired dining area which meant that all the guests dining could see into our room. There was also seating right outside our window so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Summerhouse. We are disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion however, New Years Eve can be a festive occasion. It is pleasing to hear that you did enjoy the views. Mark Wood - General Manager, The Summerhouse. More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had an overnight stop whilst on a road trip and found it very nice and accommodating. The staff were the friendliest I have come across so far too. The room was very nice and clean and as well the rest of the facilities throughout. The outdoor area is very nice with an excellent infinity pool with deck chairs to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your acknowledgement of The Summerhouse staff who strive to provide high standards. We're very pleased you enjoyed the outdoor areas, we value you as our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Summerhouse. Mark Wood - General Manager More

wollongong
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at The Summerhouse for a long weekend in Byron Bay. The view to the ocean from the main living area was great. We didn't try out the pool however it looked nice. The breakfast was excellent especially the fresh fruit and the chef couldn't be more helpful. We stayed in the apartment on the first floor and would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a very enjoyable 3 nights in the superior suite and the bed and pillows were soooo comfortable. Janet and other staff were very welcoming and the breakfasts were brilliant with Byron fresh fruit and yoghurt. A great place to re-charge the batteries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We're pleased you had a very enjoyable 3 nights in the superior suite and found our staff were welcoming. Your compliments regarding the breakfasts have been passed on to The Summerhouse team. More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed in the Superior Suite with expansive views of the pacific ocean, Byron Bay lighthouse and beaches. One of the best room views I've ever experienced at sunrise. Staff were excellent and the breakfast was an amazing selection of local Byron Bay produce.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of The Summerhouse - we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the expansive views of the pacific ocean, Byron Bay lighthouse and beaches. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Summerhouse. Mark Wood - General Manager | The Summerhouse, ignite your senses More

Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

DO NOT CHOOSE THIS AS A WEDDING VENUE!! The manager doubled the venue fee after we had signed a contract and paid a 25% deposit, even though there was NO clause in the contract to say it was subject to change. This would have amounted to an extra $1200. We felt completely taken advantage of and were sure there would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheSummerhouse, General Manager at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

The Summerhouse hosts many happy wedding celebrations - we are sorry on this occasion you decided to choose another venue and cancel with us four weeks from your wedding date. A refund of your deposit was offered if your dates could be re booked, but at short notice this can be difficult. Please note The Department of Fair Trading have... More

Mitcham, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were so pleased with our Superior Suite at The Summerhouse that included a private spa, private balcony with amazing expansive view, the bed was from heaven; our Superior suite ambiance was unlike anything else I've experienced. A king room with a Moroccan style that's truly special. Service was perfect, the staff were friendly yet discreet. We stayed for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The Summerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summerhouse

Also Known As:
The Summerhouse Hotel
The Summerhouse Hotel Byron Bay
Address: 9 Coopers Shoot Rd, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summerhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Summerhouse to your Saves list