We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 59 Byron Bay accommodations

First Sun Holiday Park

Save
You added First Sun Holiday Park to your Saves list
Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Hotel amenities
First Sun Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Byron Bay
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Milano
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Situated right near both the main Street and the beach this campsite is ideal for a relaxed holiday in the heart of Byron. Well maintained and well equipped with clean facilities and modern BBQ area. Access to the beach through the back of the campsite. Little bit pricey but it was reasonable due to prime location and holiday season (Christmas).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Great weather also helps to make a camping holiday so much fun which is what we have experienced for most of the summer. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had basic ensuite cabin and it was fine for a few days- clean with air con, so no complaints. We were less than a minute to the beach, so perfect location with access from the park. BBQ and kitchen facilities are great too and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We look forward to greeting you again soon. More 

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 4 nights for Christmas in a lodge as we had been living in a camper van for a month and needed a change, and the lodge was good. It's a cute little size with your own fridge and TV, plus sofa. The bed makes a loud horrible noise when moved side to side, but generally quite comfortable. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our lodges are restricted with what we can do for ventilation and are advertised as catering for those on a budget. I do wish however you had mentioned problems with the bed during your stay so we could have looked at getting this replaced. Also, the same with our night staff. I will talk to... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

We are a young couple who have been lucky enough to your around Australia in our motorhome and go on shorter trips quite regularly. First Sun is honestly one of the best parks in Australia. The staff are excellent, they are fastidious about security and park rules. The amenities are great and the grounds are always lovely. But the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. See you again soon. More 

bath
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Staying here atm and have to say it's nicer than we expected. Well maintained gardens and communal areas. Pleasant atmosphere and far quieter than we thought it would be after reading other reviews. Location great as beach pretty much on your doorstep. Cheapest accommodation in byron.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It is good to see that you chose to experience our park and were pleasantly surprised as I am sure many others would be if they gave us the chance. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

This is the 4th year in a row we have stayed at the First Sun Holiday Park and we can't stop returning. We stay in one of their beach front cabins, they have amazing views overlooking the beach to the north. It's worth paying to stay in one of these cabins just for the view. All cabin types we have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review. It is good to see we have met your expectations on more than one occasion and look forward to seeing you again towards the end of the year. More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in waterfront caravan spot - the most expensive powered site I ever stayed in and for the privledge, get to here the noise from the pub all night ( so loud you can here it over the waves) and because we were placed next to the path to the beach, very noisy again in the morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear your view on your stay in our park. Unfortunately we cannot control the noise outside of the park. Our beach side gates are closed all evening and opened at 6am for the guests to have direct beach access. Should you choose to visit us again please request that you are not beside a beach access... More 

Colfax, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

First Sun was an absolutly wonderful place to stay. There are so many options for the traveler. My friends and I stayed in one of the two bedroom cabins which was complete down to the wine glasses n the kitchen cupboard. Since we were on a budget, we did most of our cooking at the cabin and there was everythng... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. These results are what our team strive for at all times and it is nice to see you have taken the time the acknowledge this. We look forward to having you visit again soon. More 

Brighton, Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I first stayed at First Sun in 1991 and have been back many times, mostly staying in the Starfish Cabins which boast a 180 degree view from the lighthouse to Hastings Point. It's an unbeatable location with the beach and main street steps away. Sadly, successive owners have taken advantage of this - regular price hikes (the Starfish Cabin, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Unfortunately prices have increased some what since 25 years ago however am glad to see that you enjoyed the design and comfort of the hippy huts. These were created to give the camping feeling along with the comfort of a cabin. I do hope you return again to enjoy these great rooms. More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Located on a hill and hard to get camping car stand straight. A lot of music in the evenings and adolescents. The toilets are cleaned very sloppy but otherwise it's ok. Poor WIFI if you succeed to connect.......

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review however are disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay. Yes we have young campers but do like to think we accommodate all ages. We do have level sites within the park and would have been happy to relocate you if you did not like your site. I hope you can visit again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to First Sun Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Sun Holiday Park

Address: Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
First Sun Holiday Park Hotel Byron Bay
1st Sun Holiday Park

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay