We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First Sun Holiday Park

Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
First Sun Holiday Park
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
noosa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

One of the best family trips we have had. Stayed in one of the oceanfront cabins. First camping trip with our young boy and was perfect. Staff are friendly and helpful. Will be back again for sure and bring friends ith there family's also

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I recently stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin. Nice cabin and reasonably priced. This location is excellent. So close to the beach, restaurants and shops. The public pool next to the holiday park is great. Friendly and helpful staff at the holiday park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a Hippy Hut for 3 nights and we were not disappointed! It slept 4 adults comfortably, and the en-suite bathroom was really, really nice! We appreciated the TV - we didn't think we'd end up using it at all, but we actually did at night. The outdoor cooking area is stocked with everything you could ever need -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are staying in a cabin with beach views. What a lovely sound to wake up to each morning! Clean, well maintained caravan park, within minutes of the centre of town, bars, restaurants, shopping..and a great way to keep fit..by walking to the lighthouse daily. We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked 3 cabins for a girls weekend and had anfantastic time. The cabins are spacious enough with aircon and excellent feqtures- decks with shade screens, bbqs, full size fridge etc. 2 of the 3 cabins were beachfront and the access to beach was so convenient. Amazing spot to watch the the january storms roll across the beach! The park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Had a wonderful stay for 1.5 weeks with family and friends, has direct beach access and is a 60 sec walk away from the shops. The staff were incredibly friendly when we asked about the beach kayaking sign out the front and rang the company for us and book a session. The facilities were clean and secure. The grounds were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

This is a fantastic location right on the beach but the facilities are a let down. What is truly amazing is they close the main toilet block every morning between 7.00am and 8.00am for cleaning and force guests to use a smaller toilet block which has only 2 toilets and showers. All other caravan parks close toilets for cleaning after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milano
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Situated right near both the main Street and the beach this campsite is ideal for a relaxed holiday in the heart of Byron. Well maintained and well equipped with clean facilities and modern BBQ area. Access to the beach through the back of the campsite. Little bit pricey but it was reasonable due to prime location and holiday season (Christmas).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Great weather also helps to make a camping holiday so much fun which is what we have experienced for most of the summer. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We had basic ensuite cabin and it was fine for a few days- clean with air con, so no complaints. We were less than a minute to the beach, so perfect location with access from the park. BBQ and kitchen facilities are great too and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We look forward to greeting you again soon. More 

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We stayed 4 nights for Christmas in a lodge as we had been living in a camper van for a month and needed a change, and the lodge was good. It's a cute little size with your own fridge and TV, plus sofa. The bed makes a loud horrible noise when moved side to side, but generally quite comfortable. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our lodges are restricted with what we can do for ventilation and are advertised as catering for those on a budget. I do wish however you had mentioned problems with the bed during your stay so we could have looked at getting this replaced. Also, the same with our night staff. I will talk to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question