We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 58 Byron Bay accommodations

First Sun Holiday Park

Save Saved
You added First Sun Holiday Park to your Saves list
Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Hotel amenities
First Sun Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Byron Bay
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Brighton, Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I first stayed at First Sun in 1991 and have been back many times, mostly staying in the Starfish Cabins which boast a 180 degree view from the lighthouse to Hastings Point. It's an unbeatable location with the beach and main street steps away. Sadly, successive owners have taken advantage of this - regular price hikes (the Starfish Cabin, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Unfortunately prices have increased some what since 25 years ago however am glad to see that you enjoyed the design and comfort of the hippy huts. These were created to give the camping feeling along with the comfort of a cabin. I do hope you return again to enjoy these great rooms. More

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Located on a hill and hard to get camping car stand straight. A lot of music in the evenings and adolescents. The toilets are cleaned very sloppy but otherwise it's ok. Poor WIFI if you succeed to connect.......

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review however are disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay. Yes we have young campers but do like to think we accommodate all ages. We do have level sites within the park and would have been happy to relocate you if you did not like your site. I hope you can visit again... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

we stayed here for a couple days in august, the area is amazing and location couldn't be better, right on the beach and net to the town. only bad thing is you can hear the town every night. everyone is friendly and id highly recommend upgrading to the beachside view with a caravan/tent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park. Unfortunately due to Workplace Health and Safety regulations we are not allowed to have tents on our direct beachfront sites. We do however have sites not far back from the waterfront that will accommodate tents still within a stone throw of the water. More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at first sun in a powered campet site for 3 nights. It's success is due to a simple equation: great location + average (and very clean) facilities + unbelievable views + access to restaurants and bars. The staff was nice and accomodating. The only thing I can say that was negative is the free internet SUCKS. It wasn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have been experiencing some problems recently with our wifi but are looking into how it can be improved. I hope next time you visit your experience with the internet will be much more positive, More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Currently staying in the lodging with private bathroom room is great friendly receptionist checked in at 10am bed is comfy big camp kitchens and very clean. MAKE SURE YOU BRING YOUR OWN CUTLERY AND PLATES Thank you for giving me a great place to holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Although we do advertise a 2pm check in for all of our onsite accommodation we are happy to arrange an early check in if your room is clean and ready to go. Please always contact us to check if this an is option for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We spent 2 weeks at First Sun Holiday Park and absolutely loved it! It is definitely one of the best holiday parks we have stayed at in our travels over the years. We stayed on a powered camping site (for most of our stay), which was grassy and half covered in shade - perfect! The Holiday Park has clean amenities,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for an excellent review. Byron is a place like no other. We do try to help out as much as possible and glad that your stay was not tarnished by the storm damaging your tent. You are right the lodges are small and basic however do provide somewhere comfortable after a busy day exploring. We look forward to... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at First Sun in one of their beach-front cabins. We started out by booking one of the "lodges", but as soon as we checked into the room, we realised it was absolutely tiny and too small for us. Hardly any room to even put our bags, more suited to backpackers or very budget conscious travellers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. Unfortunately our lodges are very small but do provide adequate accommodation for those travelling on a budget. It is great to hear that we had a cabin you could upgrade to enjoyed your overall experience of our Holiday Park and Byron Bay. We hope you return soon. More

East Anglia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here a few nights at the end of June. Right by town which was very handy. Had a campervan. Facilities were clean. Actual site could do with more trees/shrubbery. Right by the beach although walk round to Clarkes which is nicer. Byron is the most expensive place we have stayed in on the Coast right up to cairns. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It appears that you enjoyed your stay and the walkway along the beach front. I do hope we can welcome you again soon. More

sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

just had a week up here staying in the hippy huts - the park is super clean and well maintained. Has a well stocked kitchen, with plates, glasses etc, even a hair dryer Out hut did have the verandah facing the road - so at night time the glass doors could do with curtains to pull across for privacy as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Since that time we have installed privacy screens on all 3 huts but still enabling you to enjoy the camping feeling. Unfortunately due to severe winds and restrictions placed on us with Workplace Health and Safety we are unable to install beachfront huts but stayed tuned there may be more coming..... More

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

At $47.00 for a powered site for one night I consider this robbery. The staff uniforms should be black and white stripy jumpers because they are robbing everyone is this place. How much really can power and a shower cost, to charge this much is an insult. I was recently in Hervey Bay and I paid $33 a night and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. Sorry you feel we are over priced however I am sure if you compared our prices with similar Holiday Parks in Byron Bay with direct beach frontage and in the heart of the CBD you would find we are quite reasonable. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to First Sun Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Sun Holiday Park

Address: Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
1st Sun Holiday Park
First Sun Holiday Park Hotel Byron Bay

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay