We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 58 Byron Bay accommodations

First Sun Holiday Park

Save
You added First Sun Holiday Park to your Saves list
Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Hotel amenities
First Sun Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Byron Bay
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are a young couple who have been lucky enough to your around Australia in our motorhome and go on shorter trips quite regularly. First Sun is honestly one of the best parks in Australia. The staff are excellent, they are fastidious about security and park rules. The amenities are great and the grounds are always lovely. But the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bath
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying here atm and have to say it's nicer than we expected. Well maintained gardens and communal areas. Pleasant atmosphere and far quieter than we thought it would be after reading other reviews. Location great as beach pretty much on your doorstep. Cheapest accommodation in byron.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the 4th year in a row we have stayed at the First Sun Holiday Park and we can't stop returning. We stay in one of their beach front cabins, they have amazing views overlooking the beach to the north. It's worth paying to stay in one of these cabins just for the view. All cabin types we have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 5 nights in waterfront caravan spot - the most expensive powered site I ever stayed in and for the privledge, get to here the noise from the pub all night ( so loud you can here it over the waves) and because we were placed next to the path to the beach, very noisy again in the morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colfax, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First Sun was an absolutly wonderful place to stay. There are so many options for the traveler. My friends and I stayed in one of the two bedroom cabins which was complete down to the wine glasses n the kitchen cupboard. Since we were on a budget, we did most of our cooking at the cabin and there was everythng... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I first stayed at First Sun in 1991 and have been back many times, mostly staying in the Starfish Cabins which boast a 180 degree view from the lighthouse to Hastings Point. It's an unbeatable location with the beach and main street steps away. Sadly, successive owners have taken advantage of this - regular price hikes (the Starfish Cabin, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Unfortunately prices have increased some what since 25 years ago however am glad to see that you enjoyed the design and comfort of the hippy huts. These were created to give the camping feeling along with the comfort of a cabin. I do hope you return again to enjoy these great rooms. More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Located on a hill and hard to get camping car stand straight. A lot of music in the evenings and adolescents. The toilets are cleaned very sloppy but otherwise it's ok. Poor WIFI if you succeed to connect.......

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review however are disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay. Yes we have young campers but do like to think we accommodate all ages. We do have level sites within the park and would have been happy to relocate you if you did not like your site. I hope you can visit again... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

we stayed here for a couple days in august, the area is amazing and location couldn't be better, right on the beach and net to the town. only bad thing is you can hear the town every night. everyone is friendly and id highly recommend upgrading to the beachside view with a caravan/tent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park. Unfortunately due to Workplace Health and Safety regulations we are not allowed to have tents on our direct beachfront sites. We do however have sites not far back from the waterfront that will accommodate tents still within a stone throw of the water. More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at first sun in a powered campet site for 3 nights. It's success is due to a simple equation: great location + average (and very clean) facilities + unbelievable views + access to restaurants and bars. The staff was nice and accomodating. The only thing I can say that was negative is the free internet SUCKS. It wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have been experiencing some problems recently with our wifi but are looking into how it can be improved. I hope next time you visit your experience with the internet will be much more positive, More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Currently staying in the lodging with private bathroom room is great friendly receptionist checked in at 10am bed is comfy big camp kitchens and very clean. MAKE SURE YOU BRING YOUR OWN CUTLERY AND PLATES Thank you for giving me a great place to holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Although we do advertise a 2pm check in for all of our onsite accommodation we are happy to arrange an early check in if your room is clean and ready to go. Please always contact us to check if this an is option for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to First Sun Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Sun Holiday Park

Address: Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
First Sun Holiday Park Hotel Byron Bay
1st Sun Holiday Park

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay