We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 58 Byron Bay accommodations

Nomads Byron Bay

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1 Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Nomads Odyssey)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Nomads Byron Bay to your Saves list
Nomads Byron Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
61%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Daisy W Gold Coast, Australia
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    70
    34
    20
    16
See reviews for
1
29
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (174)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In typical Sydney sider fashion, my past travel experiences have been nothing less than luxurious. Despite my five-star past, Nomads Byron Bay, complete with beanbags, bunk beds and ping pong over cheap champagne was my best trip yet. Byron Bay itself is drenched in culture and attitude. This seamlessly cool destination is definitely represented in Nomads hostel. The friendly atmosphere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review

Dear Daisy W, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Nomads Byron Bay! I am pleased that enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to experience what Nomads Byron Bay has to offer. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Sam B More

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed in a deluxe double room which was clean and modern. Had a TV, fridge, kettle (+tea/coffee), air con and an en-suite bathroom. In a great location with supermarkets/bottle shops only a few minutes walk away. Be warned: at night the hostel is a great place to party but that means it's quite noisy until 10pm in the main area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed here one night, my partner two. We both really enjoyed this hostel! I stayed in a mixed dorm with 10 beds, the room was tiny and best described as a shoe box! However we had a great time meeting the different people in our room. The room got really hot and muggy through out the night, mostly to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, in a king private en suite room. King bed, wall-mount TV and generally well maintained. The bathroom was new, fresh, and so clean. Super solid for $90/night. Obvs 'cause it's a hostel it's going to be loud (6/10 volume at the loudest) - and people are going to be drinking, and causing a ruckus. If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

we stayed in the king room for $150 a night and unfortunately the window had been sealed shut and we could not have any fresh air. This was made worse when the exhaust in the bathroom was not working and the only fresh air came from a enclosed corridor. we really didn't expect much but is it even legal not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review

Dear sophie l, Thank you for your review. I was obviously disappointed to read your comments and I apologise that the stay did not meet your expectations. We do have a variety of King rooms which are different styles, some have the circular windows such as the room you stayed in and others have full opening doors with balcony's. Different... More

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I first visited this hostel three years ago and thought it was brilliant. It was clean, modern and with some great staff. Sadly on returning it appears to be run down and run by a team of young, immature staff with the main goal of getting you to go out and get drunk every night. It's as though a bunch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karine B, Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review

Dear wacko_1983, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Nomads Byron Bay. I apologise if your stay was not what you expected it to be and I also apologise that you were disturbed by noise during the evening. I am not sure which response/s you are referring to when you mention to read the responses... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great hostel, nice and clean with great staff. The facilities are good, tv room with a selection of DVDs and plentiful areas (indoor and out) for socialising with friends and other guests, including as organised events each night by the hostel. I ignored the reviews commenting on the hostel being noises, partly because that tends to come with the territory... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review

Dear Karen N, Thank you for your candid review! I am pleased that you enjoyed the hostel and staff, however I was obviously disappointed to read that you were kept awake by noise in the corridors. We certainly do not allow party's or gatherings in our corridors and we do not allow socialising in the hostel after 10pm. We do... More

Bangkok
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed in a 10 person dorm and the room was adequate and clean. The bathrooms were very nice and always clean. The location of the hostel is great, just off the high street and a few minutes walk to the beach. The only downside is it was always very noisy from other guests and music. if you want a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review

Dear Alex R, Thank you for choosing to stay at Nomads Byron Bay and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I apologise that you were disturbed by other guests making noise and playing music. We now have strict procedures in place to ensure that there is no socialising or partying in the hostel after 10pm. I... More

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed here recently in a king room with an ensuite. There wasn't much room for anything apart from the bed! The ensuite was a good size however a little shabby looking. The shower leaked water all over the bathroom and the tiles was grubby. The walls were also quite thin and you could hear everything going on in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review

Dear stacelm69, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Nomads Byron Bay. I apologise that the condition of your room was not up to standard, I will certainly be discussing your comments the with Housekeeping and Maintenance Managers to ensure that they amend their procedures to ensure we do not receive feedback such as this... More

Brisbane
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Book the king bed room with private bathroom. Exceeded expectations for a backpacker/hostel. Clean, spacious with clean, comfy bed. There's a fridge, tv, and kettle etc. Not that we needed it but good to have. Room looks fairly new. There was a loud knock on our door one night but after that it was quiet, guess being at the very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review

Dear chifufunie, Thank you for choosing to stay at Nomads Byron Bay and thank you for taking the time to review your stay! I am pleased that your expectations were exceeded and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Sam More

Do you own or manage Nomads Byron Bay?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Nomads Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Byron Bay

Address: 1 Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Nomads Odyssey)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nomads Byron Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Nomads Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hostel is the winner of the North Coast Tourism Awards 2010 for Best Backpackers Accommodation. This is Byron Bay’s newest premiere backpackers/flashpackers. Opened in March 2009, Nomads Byron is located just minutes from the stunning main beach behind the iconic Great Northern Hotel.This brand-new property offers a variety of dorms and en suite private rooms. Facilities include our Mad Travel Shop, a sun-drenched courtyard with two 12-seater spas, a fully equipped kitchen, Global Gossip internet, a BBQ, balcony views and a TV lounge. ... more   less 

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Byron Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer