We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 56 Byron Bay accommodations

Nomads Byron Bay

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1 Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Nomads Odyssey)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Nomads Byron Bay to your Saves list
Nomads Byron Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
  • Reviews (165)
  • Photos (32)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    67
    31
    19
    15
See reviews for
1
26
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Book the king bed room with private bathroom. Exceeded expectations for a backpacker/hostel. Clean, spacious with clean, comfy bed. There's a fridge, tv, and kettle etc. Not that we needed it but good to have. Room looks fairly new. There was a loud knock on our door one night but after that it was quiet, guess being at the very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed there with my 3 friends for only one night (Saturday) and the noise was very loud carrying on past 12am. There was random knocking on our doors throughout the night and the wifi in the lobby wasn't working. The location is right in the middle of town and the showers were hot and strong water pressure

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hated my stay. Mainly because of the other guests. Full of smelly hippies who don't was their hair. They also seem to not wear shoes for some reason. Adding to the scent. Could not sleep even at 4 in the morning because there was a bunch of other people from my room and other rooms on our balcony. They even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karine B, Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review

Dear JoeMilburn, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Nomads Byron Bay. I was obviously disappointed to read of your experience and I apologise if your stay was not what you expected it to be. It seems that your stay was effected by other guests and as I am sure you can understand it is... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights, whilst on our gap year travelling in Australia. We enjoyed our stay at Nomads because it was so social, they have events and nights out planned for backpackers. They also gave backpackers discounts for nights out and drinks. It was very central is byron, so you didn't have to travel to get to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review

Dear Geepea95, Thank you for your review! It's great to read that you enjoyed the hostel and our nightly events. We do put a lot of effort into ensuring that our guests have any amazing experience in Byron Bay so it is very rewarding to read your comments. Thanks again for your review I hope you enjoyed the rest of... More

Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel is situated very nicely in the center of town. 5 minutes walk to the beach and 5 minutes to numerous restaurants and clubs. Can get a little noisy if it's fully booked. Many cool people and staff all around. Recommended for people who look for some fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review

Dear cOkey, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Nomads Byron Bay! I am stoked that you enjoyed your experience here and had the opportunity to meet some cool people. Enjoy the rest of your time in Australia! Kind regards, Sam B More

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel is perfectly situated right in the buzz of everything in byron bay which is good. Unfortunately two of the main selling points- FREE WIFI in reception and FREE spa pools, both were not working while we were there. One spa pool was full of muck and leaves and the other one was freezing cold, not even warm. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review

Dear Kimberley1393, Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay at Nomads Byron Bay! I am pleased that you mostly enjoyed your stay, however I apologise that the spa's and wi-fi were not working while you were here. Unfortunately maintenance issues such as this cannot be predicted however when they do happen we do our very best... More

Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great hostel. It even has two jacuzzis! The bubbles didn't work when we were there, but still. Its generally clean. We had a private deluxe room, so I don't know the standard of the shared doorms. But our room was like a nice hotel room! With our own balconny and all. Very nice. They have free wi-fi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review

Dear Tonje V, Thank you for choosing to stay at Nomads Byron Bay and thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, you will be pleased to know that we have made some improvements to the free wi-fi in our lobby to speed up the connection so many people can use it at... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great stay here. Stayed in the 4 bed dorm with it's own bathroom Wich was great, it has it's own balcony aswell. Location is perfect 2 min walk from the beach. The staff were nice. It was Great in winter coz it was a lot quieter

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karine B, Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review

Dear Bigjim90, Thank you for choosing to stay at Nomads Byron Bay and thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay, our friendly staff and our central location. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Nomads Byron Bay in the near future. Kind... More

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay here. Firstly, the hostel is very close to the Greyhound bus stop and central to everything. All clubs and bars are within walking distance, as are all the shops, restaurants and beach. The beds are comfy with nice duvets and the rooms are clean, however it does get very hot at night ! So some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

There are cheaper hostels around, but none would compare to this one and I'd recommend paying the extra money for this. The spacious rooms are cleaned by four people every day and the kitchen is spotless. The guests all seemed sociable and friendly and gathered in the evenings in the brilliant rooftop area that is perfect for making new friends

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Nomads Byron Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Nomads Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Byron Bay

Address: 1 Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Nomads Odyssey)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nomads Byron Bay 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Nomads Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hostel is the winner of the North Coast Tourism Awards 2010 for Best Backpackers Accommodation. This is Byron Bay’s newest premiere backpackers/flashpackers. Opened in March 2009, Nomads Byron is located just minutes from the stunning main beach behind the iconic Great Northern Hotel.This brand-new property offers a variety of dorms and en suite private rooms. Facilities include our Mad Travel Shop, a sun-drenched courtyard with two 12-seater spas, a fully equipped kitchen, Global Gossip internet, a BBQ, balcony views and a TV lounge. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
250

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer