We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 56 Byron Bay accommodations

Bay Royal Apartments

4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   24 - 28 Bay St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bay Royal Apartments to your Saves list
Bay Royal Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
62%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
460AnneR Melbourne, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (34)
  • Photos (8)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is our third viisit to Byron Bay in recent years and these apartments are by far the best accommodation. Apartment 1 made us feel like we were in our home away from home,. Very clean, comfortable, roomy, everything you need in the kitchen and bathroom and great showers. Location is prefect across the road from the main beach and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our first family visit to Byron Bay, and we couldn't have been recommended a better place to stay. Right on the beach front, a beautiful and comfortable apartment - great kitchen and good facilities. Our kids loved the tennis court and access to town for book shops and eating out on rainy days was great. Thanks Phil and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here three times now and in two types of apartment. Location couldn't be better. Marie and Phil really do care and their service level is high. The apartments don't all have the same owners so do be careful when booking because decor and level of renovation vary. We highly recommend apt 9. We love the pool, tennis... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Location is across the street from the beach. It is also quiet because the main traffic does not pass in front. Well layed out apartment. The kitchen is excellent. The apartments are tired and need refurbishing. If you want late check out ask on booking. They only give out a certain number each morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We usually stay at Wategos but given that it was winter we thought our teenage children would need to balance beach time with other activities so we selected a town location on the beach - it was perfect. The manager (Marie) was extremely helpful and assisted me to choose the ideal apartment and also kindly provided our children with tennis... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great location, great apartments with a major exception... The bed in apartment 16 is so uncomfortable I ended up sleeping on the couch! The base is broken and the mattress is well in need of an update. The couch is not much better but a least I could sleep on it. At 7 months pregnant it is not what I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
adelaide
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Location 9/10 Price 4/10 Room 6/10 Service 3/10 Facilities 7/10 Location is very good but rooms are dated and a little dirty. At 1430 out room was not ready for check in. This was not a problem until our check out. Early flight so up early. 8.55am desk unattended so room emptied. Car packed and off we went to breakfast.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BayRoyal1, Manager at Bay Royal Apartments, responded to this review

We are a little confused as to the contents of this review, firstly, whilst a staff member was setting the apartment when you arrived, by no means did this create a delay, you were checked in, went down to park and by the time you came back from the car park the apartment was ready for you to walk in... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed for 9 nights in apartment 12. Lovely and spacious. The queen size bed was perfect but the two singles were far too short for adult sized people. It would have been good to be able to get an extra roll away bed but was not allowable. There was a lot of outside street noise but expected that. Staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BayRoyal1, Manager at Bay Royal Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Lyn, Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor, we appreciate the feedback. The complex as a whole have chosen to implement a rule to have no roll ways or extra mattresses in the apartments, the beds provided are all that we can offer our guests. We appreciate this is not always convenient, but we... More

Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

When we first arrived we went to have a cuppa all the cups had black stuff inside them - most of the crockery had to be hand washed and several kitchen items were broken. Not good enough when you pay nearly $400 per night. But great position straight acorss from the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BayRoyal1, Manager at Bay Royal Apartments, responded to this review

We do apologise as two cups were brought to reception that were not in an acceptable state, however upon further inspection of the apartment once this was brought to our attention, we did not find any cracked or broken crockery or any other dirty items. We have reminded our cleaning contractors that they need to thoroughly check all items in... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My family and I stayed in apartment 7 for 3 nights.. Everything felt quite old and used. There were 6 of us and we had two cars but only one of the garage remotes worked... The manager knew about this but didn't really offer any apology and only having one remote was really inconvenient. The kitchen wasn't very clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BayRoyal1, Manager at Bay Royal Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Howstheham, Thank you for providing feedback, we are aware that apartment 7 is looking somewhat tired and apologise that this impacted negatively on your vacation. The good news is that this apartment now has a new owner who has the full intention of renovating it completely. If you wish to contact us directly (please mention this trip advisor correspondence... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bay Royal Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Royal Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Apartments

Address: 24 - 28 Bay St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bay Royal Apartments 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Bay Royal Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Byron Bay with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bay Royal Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer