We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baystay Bed & Breakfast

30 Marvell St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baystay Bed & Breakfast
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Baystay Bed & Breakfast
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely owners. Great wifi. Decent location. 5 min walk to beach. 10 min walk (max) to main town area. Stayed in a two bed apartment that had everything you needed. Parking outside if you wanted. Genuinely couldn't fault the place except for the odd bug in the place. Didn't have AirCon although whilst we stayed we didn't need it anyway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My friend and I come every year to baystay b&b for a week away from Sydney. We like the location because its only a 5 min walk to centre Byron/beach but a quiet area where you can still hear the ocean at night. John and his wife are fantastic and make life easy when you are there. We usually eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were very thankfully (as a couple of travelling mates) that at last minute (well a couple of days before) this place accommodated us on Valentines Day for one night. But.................. on arrival we were greeted by the very nice man who had not only upgraded us to the two bedroom 'apartment'....... he also was quite upfront that breakfast would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baystay, Manager at Baystay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We always react to guest problems asap and would have appreciated the opportunity to do so in your case. A couple of points to clarify from your comments: town is 400 metres from our house and takes about 6 minutes to walk to the main street,... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived the owners were not here (and we didn't see them at all during our stay) and nobody to welcome us. We had the badly surprise to find other people in our studio so they had to move at 9pm in an other room. But the studio was dirty (because they already used It for two days) so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baystay, Owner at Baystay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hey things do go wrong sometimes and in the 20 years I have run this guesthouse the odd thing has gone wrong and I have fixed it. In these peoples' case they had a run of bad luck. Unfortunately they arrived tired at 2140 not to my place but to some other place in a different street. They called me... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The setting is fantastic and the location is also amazing. It was such a shame that the owners were away and left their son in charge. The door bell was broken, we had to find out own room with a key and note stuck in the door. Turns out they had stuffed up the rooms and we were in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baystay, Owner at Baystay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is always useful whether positive or negative. The sad thing with your feedback is that you failed to mention that you were told before you booked that I would not be there and given a special price. You were also told that you would be staying in our lovely Garden Studio which is a... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Run by friendly and helpful proprietors, John and Janet, this is a little gem in Byron Bay. Comparatively affordable, and located 5 minutes walk from the shops, restaurants and pubs of town, this bed and breakfast offers cosy and clean rooms. Ask John or Jane about local sights off the beaten track and definitely try the home-made bread for breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just spent two nights here with a friend on a brief mid-week trip away from the Gold Coast. Was very impressed with what we paid for. Stayed in the spa room. Very spacious, comfortable, quiet and felt very secluded. The room has all the basics. Double bed, mini bar fridge, comfortable living area with small tv, spa bath and even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The location, accommodation, food and hospitality were all great. Many of the B&Bs in Byron don't offer breakfast - but Baystay is a wonderful exception. It is really close to town, but without the noise of being right in the centre. We really enjoyed our stay - and will definately return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at the Baystay B&B for 2 nights in the spa room. We were looking for something cosy, peaceful and handy to town and got all of this. The hosts were out when we arrived but had left a key and note explaining how to get to town, the beach etc. These are only 5-10 minutes walk away so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I want to start by apologising to the family that looked after us for taking SO LONG to post this. I got there in the end. We stayed at Baystay for part of a long honeymoon at Christmas and we couldn't have been made to feel mroe welcome. Our room was upgraded so we had a hot tub and sauna... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay