We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peppers Craigieburn

4.5 of 5 Centennial Rd | Southern Highlands (formerly Craigieburn Resort), Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Golf, Stay, Play $239*p/n
#7 of 9 hotels in Bowral
255 Reviews 3.5 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peppers Craigieburn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Peppers Craigieburn
  • Overview
  • Reviews (255)
  • Photos (51)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (65)
  • Location
  • More
Save Saved
You added Peppers Craigieburn to your Saves list
true
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    63
    64
    40
    29
See reviews for
20
135
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel looks beautiful from the photos of the outside, and the grounds are indeed beautiful. However, there is not much to get excited about on the inside. My husband and I stayed for three nights in July this year. When we arrived a conference group was checking in at the same time. There was only one staff member on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Thank you breann_888 for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It seems we have fallen down from our usual high standard and I offer our apologies that this has occurred during your stay. It is standard practice to provide assistance with luggage and I apologise this was not offered in your instance This has been addressed with... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've written previous reviews outlining my standard routine whereby I check the bathroom, the bed and the mini bar for cleanliness etc.... This visit we stopped in as an impromptu to break up a long drive, the rooms are in the $250 ish price range, which was high for what we ended up with. Dropped our bags in the very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pepperscraigieburn, Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Thank you frequent_fly_ for providing feedback on your stay. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your expectation and we have not delived our normal high level of service. I have followed up re the out of date minibar and apologise for this oversight in the room that you stayed. With regards to the bathroom window... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned after a night at Peppers Cragieburn. It is a place of great history that should exude ambience. The property itself has such an amazing atmosphere and sadly is let down by the most disinterested and unprofessional staff that I have seen in long time. I could have tolerated being treated like I was in a pub when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sally P, Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Dear kforrest62 Thank you for your comments in regards to your experience at Peppers Craigieburn. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel, unfortunately, the service from our team tarnished your stay with us and for this we sincerely apologise. I can assure you that we will be conducting remedial training with the team members... More

Moss Vale, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pleasantly restored, but has no real genuine character. The original Craigieburn superior in ambience and warmth. Food only average and wines overpriced in relation to quality of establishment. We used to go there for staff drinks after work on Fridays, but have since found a superior place in Moss Vale

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally P, Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Dear Iorpino, Thank you for the review of your experience at Peppers Craigieburn. We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to the days of old; our aim is to maintain the old world charm that Peppers Craigieburn is renowned for. We did notice that your experience was based in September 2013 - we would sincerely like... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Craigieburn last week.. From my initial phone call to book accommodation to check-in and check-out, we found the staff quite unfriendly and certainly not welcoming. The property is tired - long corridors, dark wood - like a rabbit warren really. Would never stay there again and would not recommend the property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally P, Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Dear VandP2013, Thank you for the review of your experience at Peppers Craigieburn. We apologise that things were not up to standard on this occasion, particularly in the service area. We do pride ourselves on our service and our Reception Team are dedicated to ensuring the standard is improved going forward. We were sorry to hear that the corridor areas... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thankyou, great morning at peppers,staff are first class when asked if we can move to the fireplace it was know problem. The grounds are old world with a modern feel the setting a food just great. We are local and have had high tea around the area in saying that please try peppers just great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally P, Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Dear daygone, Many thanks for your glowing review of our High Tea service. We are very proud of the service we provide in this area. We were also glad to see that you appreciated the grounds of Peppers Craigieburn and the lovely warm lounge environment. We look forward to seeing you back in the lounges again soon. Kind regards Sally... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I with about 70 other people from our car club attended this hotel for a lovely Champagne High Tea. This was a great success. Food & Beverage Manager delightful gentleman. So we had made a decision to stay the night. The grounds were beautiful and the exterior of the hotel extremely inviting. I had read the brief... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally P, Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Dear Jenny F, Many thanks for the review of your Peppers Craigieburn experience. Whilst your first impression was an extremely positive one, it sounds like it went downhill afterwards, for which we do sincerely apologise. The experience you received during the high tea was level that we aim for and we are sorry that this level of service was unable... More

Brisbane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Peppers Craigieburn is a beautiful old hotel. The hotel lounge and restaurant area is gorgeous and I could sit in front of the fire all day. The two lounge room areas are very large in proportion and very high ceiling adding to the grandeur of the room. The restaurant food was sensational. We had a Christmas in July package and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally P, Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Dear Katalinbrisbane, Thank you so much for your review of Peppers Craigieburn. We are so glad to read that your experience was a nice trip down memory lane for you. Whilst I am sure there have been changes in the last 30 years, it was also nice to read that Craigieburn maintains it's charm. Thank you also for your glowing... More

Linden, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed as a couple with a young child, no assistance was offered to help with luggage which would have made things easier, and there was no towel provided for our child. The old house is beautiful and as a horticulturist I can say that the grounds are IMMACULATE. The staff were friendly, though the restaurant manager made a big... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally P, Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Dear Amber T, Thank you for the review of your time at Peppers Craigieburn. Whilst you had some great things to say about your experience, such as our immaculate gardens, not everything was to our usual standard, for which we do apologise. We have reiterated to both our Reception and Food and Beverage teams, the level of service that is... More

Sydney
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The setting was lovely and the hotel had a lovely cosy feel but the rooms were on the small side, there is no gym and the restaurant staff weren't consistently friendly / helpful. Having said that, there were lots of roaring fires, the freshly baked cakes, scones and biscuits were delicious and there is certainly some old-world charm about this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally P, Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Dear EJK80, Thank you for the review of your experience at Peppers Craigieburn. It was great to read that you enjoyed the setting, surroundings and old world charm of Craigieburn, but not everything was up to expectations, for which we do apologise. I can assure you that we are currently working on lifting the standard of service in our Food... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Peppers Craigieburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Peppers Craigieburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Craigieburn

Address: Centennial Rd | Southern Highlands (formerly Craigieburn Resort), Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Craigieburn 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Craigieburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Craigieburn Hotel Bowral
Craigieburn Hotel Bowral

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bowral with
any amenities

Amenities

Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Reflecting the style and elegance of the original homestead, Peppers Craigieburn was originally built in 1887 and welcomed its first guests in 1909. Offering stylish and elegant accommodation, Peppers Craigieburn has a delightful onsite restaurant, tennis court and is the perfect place for a romantic weekend away or a relaxing escape.Within easy reach of Sydney, Canberra and the coast, Peppers Craigieburn is set in an area renowned for its national parks, antique shopping and cool climate wines. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
72

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Peppers Craigieburn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer