We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Bowral hotels

Peppers Craigieburn

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Centennial Rd | Southern Highlands (formerly Craigieburn Resort), Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Golf, Stay, Play $239*p/n
Save Saved
You added Peppers Craigieburn to your Saves list
Peppers Craigieburn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
48%
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
A recent review
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    67
    65
    41
    29
See reviews for
21
139
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Different sized rooms are available, in our case just for 1 night we chose entry level room which really was a butter box. The room and hotel were clean and well kept. The staff friendly and helpful. Cleaning staff left no cake of soap and only enough toiletries (shampoo and shower gel) for 1 person. I understand the soap was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed a nice stay at Peppers. Craigieburn recently and enjoyed exploring Bowral even more. The grounds at Peppers were well maintained and the lounge room complete with open fires were cosy and inviting. Our room in the Elm Wing was on the small side, but the bed was comfortable and the column heater was really effective. We would stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Peppers Craigieburn is a charming old style "guest house" that has been upgraded to some extent and is now a gracious, quiet resort. Situated on a 9 hole golf course and with large mature garden and trees, it has lost none of its charm from decades ago when it was a preferred weekend away from Sydney for the well to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Evatt (Canberra)
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just spent a weekend at Peppers Craigieburn where we were joined by family and friends to celebrate an 80th birthday. We were very happy with our room which was pleasant, warm and comfortable. The 80th birthday celebration consisted of a buffet luncheon for 17 people. The service provided by the catering staff was impeccable, and the food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Hello Evat, Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback. I will ensure the staff receive your feedback as it is always rewarding and motivating to know when you have performed your job well and your efforts are appreciated. Great to note that you found the accommodation comfortable. We do hope that you will visit us again. Kind regards Robyn... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

1 Bouquets: The hotel looks very impressive and the lounge areas, each with a gas log fireplace, are comfortable and inviting. The dining room is also very nice and most of the staff serving meals are pleasant, especially at breakfast. Warrick, the chef, provides excellent meals and the dessert of "edible Christmas baubles" spectacular and delicious. The rooms were clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Thank you Cattai for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay which is appreciated. I was very concerned to read your comments on what ensued when you were departing the Hotel. The actions of the staff member are highly unacceptable and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. I asure this has been addresed with the... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here over the last weekend of August on either side of a school reunion event. Room 218, a nondescript room in the original wing of the building near the stairs, was very compact - one of the smallest hotel rooms that I have seen outside of Europe. That said, the room opened out on to a shared balcony... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Hello SoDizzy. Thank you for reviewing your stay with us which is appreciated. Being built back in 1887 in the rooms are not overly large but are well appointed. The grounds are beautiful and the lounge areas spacious and comfortable, I am sorry to learn the decor was not to your liking. Great to note that the staff looked after... More

Canberra
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel looks beautiful from the photos of the outside, and the grounds are indeed beautiful. However, there is not much to get excited about on the inside. My husband and I stayed for three nights in July this year. When we arrived a conference group was checking in at the same time. There was only one staff member on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Thank you breann_888 for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It seems we have fallen down from our usual high standard and I offer our apologies that this has occurred during your stay. It is standard practice to provide assistance with luggage and I apologise this was not offered in your instance This has been addressed with... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've written previous reviews outlining my standard routine whereby I check the bathroom, the bed and the mini bar for cleanliness etc.... This visit we stopped in as an impromptu to break up a long drive, the rooms are in the $250 ish price range, which was high for what we ended up with. Dropped our bags in the very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pepperscraigieburn, Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Thank you frequent_fly_ for providing feedback on your stay. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to your expectation and we have not delived our normal high level of service. I have followed up re the out of date minibar and apologise for this oversight in the room that you stayed. With regards to the bathroom window... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We just returned after a night at Peppers Cragieburn. It is a place of great history that should exude ambience. The property itself has such an amazing atmosphere and sadly is let down by the most disinterested and unprofessional staff that I have seen in long time. I could have tolerated being treated like I was in a pub when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sally P, Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Dear kforrest62 Thank you for your comments in regards to your experience at Peppers Craigieburn. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel, unfortunately, the service from our team tarnished your stay with us and for this we sincerely apologise. I can assure you that we will be conducting remedial training with the team members... More

Moss Vale, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Pleasantly restored, but has no real genuine character. The original Craigieburn superior in ambience and warmth. Food only average and wines overpriced in relation to quality of establishment. We used to go there for staff drinks after work on Fridays, but have since found a superior place in Moss Vale

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sally P, Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review

Dear Iorpino, Thank you for the review of your experience at Peppers Craigieburn. We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to the days of old; our aim is to maintain the old world charm that Peppers Craigieburn is renowned for. We did notice that your experience was based in September 2013 - we would sincerely like... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Peppers Craigieburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Peppers Craigieburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Craigieburn

Address: Centennial Rd | Southern Highlands (formerly Craigieburn Resort), Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Craigieburn 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Peppers Craigieburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Craigieburn Hotel Bowral
Craigieburn Hotel Bowral

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bowral with
any amenities