We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballina Beach Resort

4.0 of 5 Compton Dr (Corner Cedar Crescent) | Lighthouse Beach, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Hotel website
Special Offer
Great deal free extras
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballina Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ballina Beach Resort
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    39
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
23
50
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (102)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Sunshine Coast, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed there on the 15th of February for 2 nights and will be back. This resort is in a perfect location with a short stroll to the beach and not far to town. The rooms a nice and clean. The service was good and breakfast was nice. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a place to stay in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BallinaBResort, Manager at Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lauren B We love hearing from our guests, thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to have played a part in making your recent stay with us so enjoyable and your kind comments on the friendliness of our team have been shared with all. Many of the staff have worked... More 

Annandale, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the staff friendly the room was great and view over the pool awesome the bed so comfortable loved the grounds plants and the water dragon pool spa sauna tennis everything was wonderful thankyou Ballina Beach Resort for making our stay enjoyable we will be back … Jennifer Lyndon <3

Was this review helpful? Yes
BallinaBResort, Manager at Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer L Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us here, we love hearing from our guests and are so pleased we were able to play a part in making your stay so enjoyable. Your kind comment regarding the friendliness of the staff has been shared with the team, thank you.... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ballina is a lovely town but seriously... Find somewhere else to stay. As other reviews state this venue is little more than a rundown over priced resort. The place has the potential to be amazing but lacks direction from management. Who incidently could be a lot more helpful to their visitors. Everything turned out to be a major drama for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Marty G Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Although never pleasant to receive, we appreciate negative feedback from our guests and ensure we utilise it to make improvements where realistically possible. Firstly, we would like to apologies for a failed stay with us. It is our understanding that you were part of... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed a 2-night stay in a spacious, clean, comfortable room after being met by welcoming and friendly reception staff. The continental breakfast was very enjoyable. On-site parking was convenient to our room.The resort is an easy, short drive to the beach and main shopping area. We were impressed with the value for money and have booked 2 more return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Eileen P We love hearing from our guests and appreciate the time taken to post a review on your recent stay with us here at Ballina Beach Resort. Your comments regarding the friendliness of the staff have been shared with the team here, it means a lot to us, thank you. Our great, peaceful location close to beautiful Lighthouse... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a 2 days here last yr really enjoyed it nice spot staff very pleaseant bought another voucher from zoo very good price went to book on line for a few mths later and would nt let me book without my credit card details , rang hotel and manager owner whoever not one of the staff told me had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kathy S We are pleased to read how much you enjoyed your first stay with us. Apologies for the misunderstanding surrounding your second enquiry, it is certainly not our intention to dissuade bookings, in fact quite the opposite as I'm sure you'll understand. We do hope you reconsider and decide to stay with us once again, you will not... More 

Gold Coast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A trip back to the 70's but includes all the good bits - clean, comfortable, nice surroundings, pleasant food and friendly staff. A stroll through the grounds gives you a Fiji feeling. Close to Beach and parklands but quiet and safe. All in all an enjoyable experience and we will return with our grandchildren.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear gbousen Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us, we love hearing from our guests. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and your lovely comments on the friendliness of our staff have been shared with the team, thank you. Our ground staff work hard at creating and... More 

Ballina, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just recently had our wedding here, during the majority of the process the "manager" who is also the husband of the owner was quite good. The afternoon before the wedding we had guests who had travelled and were checking in,their first comment to us was 'what a rude arrogant person that went no where near welcoming us.I had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review

Glen Firstly thank you for your review feedback, we do appreciate hearing the good as well as the not so good so we can make improvements. We do apologise for any issues that gave you concerns and even more so if your felt anyone was rude or unhelpful at any time - this is certainly not our intention by any... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Unfortunately we didnt do enough homework before booking this! To confirm what other reviewers are saying....This is not a resort, it is a motel. The 4star assessment is not reflective of the quality of the facilities. Eg, when they said there is a gym, there is a rusty bike and eliptical machine. We had a King-Spa room. We ran the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bella Thank you for taking time to write your thoughts. We're sorry to hear you didn't feel things met your expectations. The resort is rated by the AAA as a 4star motel and with the location, grounds and leisure facilities offering a 'resort' rather 'hotel' experience. We don't actually have a 'gym' as you mention, the few items of exercise... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Stayed here for a wedding where a special rate had been organised. Even this rate was expensive for what was offered. The grounds are beautiful and it is in a good location away from the main centre of Ballina and close to the beach. The breakfasts are good and there is a restaurant, but we did not dine there. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review

Jeanette, Thank for your comments, were pleased to hear how well everything was with your experiences in the function and restaurant. A little confusion it seems about the wifi - we actually provide complimentary wifi throughout the entire resort for guests. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Pro - Nice size rooms! - Car park free - Air con - Microwaves, fridge, sink, plenty of space for clothes. - View of pool - Close to beach. - Close to SLSC and nice area of town. Con - Small bathroom - Bit outdated. -

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BallinaBeachResort, Manager at Ballina Beach Resort, responded to this review

KS Thank you for your comments, glad to hear you enjoyed most areas of your stay. Unfortunately, the size of bathrooms is of course limited by the building construction and fixed walls. On the opposite side is the size of the guest bedroom/living spaces which are considerably larger than normal which usually provides a more relaxing space. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ballina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Beach Resort

Address: Compton Dr (Corner Cedar Crescent) | Lighthouse Beach, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballina Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ballina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballina Beach Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ballina

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay