We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballina Centrepoint Motel

285- 287 River St, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save
You added Ballina Centrepoint Motel to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    6
    2
    11
See reviews for
9
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

We came here on the Easter long weekend on the spur of the moment thing, travelling up north. We found this hotel easy and central to everything. Our room was clean and tidy with all the facilities that we needed. Our hosts were friendly and to the point with their answers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hervey Bay
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Take my advise! save your money sleep in car! This is the most disgusting, filthy Hotel room I have every stayed at. Trip advisor should take them off from people booking there. Where is the health authorities!! Drunken man and lady that swears at you wearing a dressing gown still in the middle of afternoon! As soon as you leave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review

Incredibly wrong in every way. Leigh J fits no listed guest. Nobody booked more than 3 nights Oct 2014. I'm never drunk, hardly drink at all, not even weekly. Wife does not swear or in dressing gown ever visible to guests. The only smelly thing is the rat I smell: looks like an unprincipled competitor made it up! Or someone... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ballina hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Stayed here over the Christmas period for 3 nights. Excellent location within walking distance to the town and RSL club, facilities superb with a clean good sized pool. Room very clean, we stayed in one of the deluxe rooms which had the added bonus of a garden that my two young children could safely play in.Made very welcome by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So nice to get one from one who's not a determined complainer. More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

This motel is very basic. Room had a unpleasant smell to it. Bed was comfy. Room was relatively clean. Owner came round at 7.30am (check out is 10am) and just tried opening the door without knocking. He then went round and tried the other doors. Booked this hotel at the last minute but would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review

We had a Helen P 27/12 for 3 nights. With 10 rooms to be prepared within 4 hours we need to know who's left ASAP. Because so many guests fail to comply with request doors be left open it is urgent to find out. I do NOT try to open, merely gently (quietly) test knob to be sure, not knock... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

We needed to stay over one night (Christmas Night) so we chose the Centrepoint in Ballina. Not much to say only that this Motel is Very Very basic - no frills. Beds were comfy enough, the Air Conditioning worked OK (noisy) and there was plenty of Hot Water.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for an honest review! But "very very basic?" Only en suite, microwave, kettle, toaster, air con, WiFi internet, 32" TV/DVD, 8 Foxtel 24 free-to-air channels. What more? More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

I guess the first hint that thing weren't going to be too good was as we drove down the street and noticing at least half-a-dozen cars in every other motel. But not this one. We were the only guests. As we drove in we were greeted by an elderly man in a pair of shorts, a half buttoned up shirt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marlon G, Owner at Ballina Centrepoint Motel, responded to this review

We allow guests to dress as they like! I change shirt daily. Military injury to left ankle, athletics arthritic right ankle, age over 80, more sure-footed shoeless. Even so broke arm in a fall recently. Last of 6 motels in a row, but average best occupancy rate. Compliment about breakfast (or complaint) not given. Not appreciated! What relevance other reviews?... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is the worst place we've ever stayed at. The owner is rude and not at all friendly or helpful. stay clear!!!! The room was less than average. Not impressed. the only good thing about this place is the location, but that isn't enough to recommend it to anyone. It was a cheap motel that is just that... cheap

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ballina, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We are a young couple and have been travelling for about 2 weeks now. We are absolutely amazed at the kindness of the owner,s Marlon and Anne :). We had special needs that go far beyond the general traveller and far beyond the motels advertised facilities and services. Our circumstance was happily and politely obliged to even though we are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this Motel and were glad to leave. The attitude of the owner was the worsted I have come across. He came into the room when we left the room and turned of the AC. And kept knocking no the door to tell us to shut the bathroom window even though there was no exhaust fan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

All in all better than surrounding accommodation which I managed to glanced at. The main point I have to make: it was quite regardless it being Christmas Day. Hotel manager definitely cares about their reputation, he made sure our room was next to a family like us. It was comfy quiet and clean, that's all we wanted from a one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballina Centrepoint Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.