We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fun 'n' Sun Motel

471 River Street (formally Lot 3 Pacific Hwy) | West Ballina, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Hotel amenities
Fun 'n' Sun Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Ballina
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
BordoNsw NSW
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    13
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
8
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
NSW
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for four nights on a work trip and found this motel very good. I got the four nights for 300 dollars. Wifi is excellent and the room clean and tidy. Whenever I am in the area again I will have no problems staying here. Motel is close to service stations and a nice tavern to eat at across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael B, Manager at Fun 'n' Sun Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, and honest words. It is always nice when our guests appreciate that we are a decent budget motel and rate us accordingly, as opposed to guests who hunt around for the cheapest price possible and then go on to complain that its not up to 5 star standards. Thanks again......The management. More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent hotel for budget price. It's an older property which is kept clean and tidy for use. The owners are friendly, down to earth people who are wonderfully welcoming and will more than accommodate of your needs. There is a parking space out the front of your room which is very convenient and adequate. I have actually stayed here more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael B, Manager at Fun 'n' Sun Motel, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your kind words and positive review, its always appreciated :) More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having spent the past ten days in b&b accommodation (for $100/night), I had no other option in Ballina/Byron due to the long weekend influx. I parted with my $85 for a queen room and was relieved to find my room was as far away from the highway as possible. It may be unfair to compare a b&b with a motel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

My family & I stayed at the hotel over the Christmas & I have to say I will never stay there again. The owners were lovely but the cleanliness of the room was horrendous. We stayed in Room 8 which is a 2 bedroom apartment & I was mortified at how filthy the room was. The sign in the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
michael b, Manager at Fun 'n' Sun Motel, responded to this review

Hi Sharon and thanks for your feedback, we have looked at the photos you took and we do agree...... We did not remove the cutlery tray to clean the draws and the dusting was not as thorougher as it should of been. The Christmas and new year periods are an extremely busy time for us and we often do not... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Great location, very friendly staff, kid friendly, clean & tidy. We stayed for 4 night with small children lots of room for kids to play, fish & chip shop across road was great, tavern down the road kids eat free on Tuesdays the food was amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
michael b, Manager at Fun 'n' Sun Motel, responded to this review

HI Kel and thanks for your great review and kind words. More 

cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We stayed here for one night[two rooms] The hosts , a lovely couple ex U.K. The rooms were brightly painted brick, a little paint works wonders. Good size bedrooms with good shower. Had to ask the host for plates and knives, they should be in the rooms. After dark there were swarms of beelike bugs flying around .In the bedroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
michael b, Manager at Fun 'n' Sun Motel, responded to this review

Hi Pat and thanks for your review. More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We stayed two nights over the Prawn Festival and found it had everything we needed at a very good price. Owner friendly and helpful and gave advice about local markets and directions. In a regular motel room, we had all the usual inclusions but also some extras such as a microwave and iron and ironing board. Some things were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
michael b, Manager at Fun 'n' Sun Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to review our motel , it is appreciated, and thanks for your kind words, the management. More 

Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We booked on line and wasn't sure what to expect, but once we arrived and met the owners and saw the room and facility, and we booked another night! The owners were extremely nice and accommodating . The room was very clean and comfortable. It had everything we needed and more, small refrigerator , toaster, microwave and hotpot. We loved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michael B, Owner at Fun 'n' Sun Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review and kind words, its always nice when we tick all of your boxes, thanks again. More 

Great Western, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed for one night at this motel, it was all that you could expect for the price. Clean, aircond good shower and no road noise. What else do you want? It had a pool and a nice grass area but I didn't get a chance to have a look. I would stay here again no problem. The owners were nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael B, Owner at Fun 'n' Sun Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review and comments. More 

Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Not a 5 star Motel, but we did not pay the price of one, the room was clean,well decked out, the only fault we found was the sofa was too low and I found it hard to get out of, but all in all good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael B, Manager at Fun 'n' Sun Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, its always appreciated. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay