We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballina Colonial Motel

9 Bangalow Road, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ballina Colonial Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ballina Colonial Motel
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (18)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely place,everything clean and bright it was the best place we stayed in Australia if anyone finds themselves near here do find it you will not be disappointed wish we could have stayed longer

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballina C, Owner at Ballina Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Kathy for your comments. We hope that your are continuing to enjoy your holiday in Australia before returning to Dorset. More 

melbourne
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
92 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

This is an average country style motel. It has everything you need but is basic. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The hot water takes a long time to heat up but don't despair it will come. A bit of a walk to restaurants and shops but okay if the weather is fine. The free wi-fi worked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Colonial Motel. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The pool was a good size and the rooms were clean. Nice and close to the shopping centre, a good quiet location. Extra cutlery and crockery were provided on request. The mattress was a bit hard (this comes down to personal preference) and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We stay here every year for the Ballina Car Show and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The motel is close to all the major shopping centres which makes it very handy. The rooms are very comfortable as are the beds and always spotlessly clean. The airconditioners are really cool which I love as I don't like the heat..lol. There is undercover... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ballina C, Owner at Ballina Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Jamie; love your sense of humour and look forward to seeing you again next January. More 

Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Pros: Comfortable queen bed Reasonable price for busy time of year, stayed 1 night on way home from Qld to NSW Mostly quiet at night Air conditioner worked well and not too noisy, which is important to us Very friendly reception staff Cons: Did not have a hand towel in the bathroom and only supplied 1 face cloth Did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

I did not get a chance to let the owner know that the air conditioner, which is a bit dated, just did not work. As I am on medication which gives me hot flushes, it was impossible to sleep, even with the fan. So please check the air con in room No. 7 . The motel was clean and in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ballina C, Owner at Ballina Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Oh dear what a shame that you saw fit to use social media to advise us of a routine maintenance problem, rather than calling us or leaving a note. Will Room 7 be wrongly condemned forever? We were not even aware of the issue, as nobody else had complained until another customer a week later told us about this online... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have stayed at the Colonial Motel at Ballina on our way to and from Queensland for many years. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The rooms have been refurbished and have 2 lounge chairs, which are most welcome after a long drive. The beds are very comfortable, and the room has a good size fridge. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballina C, Owner at Ballina Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and individual scores for Sleep Quality, Cleanliness and Service and I am sure that you were well intentioned. However your 'overall' score of 'average' is not reflective of this. In fact this, together with your similar review in June 2011, represents the 2nd and 3rd worst review I have ever had! Far from boosting... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

What a lovely hotel, immaculately clean, recently refurbished, friendly owners, only 5 minutes drive into town centre however nice and quiet. As a lone female traveller on a work trip, I felt very safe & comfortable here. Has everything you need - lounge chairs, great bed, desk, good size fridge, good size bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities, toaster ...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ballina C, Owner at Ballina Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Suzanne, thank you for your kind review. We work hard at providing our guests with a quiet, comfortable and friendly service. Hopefully you will stay with us again on your next RMS visit. More 

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Colonial on the 14th Feb for one night. The room is quiet, very clean, nice linen, great bed, and anything else you want is there. There are no stairs and parking is right at your door. Can definitely recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
somerset
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We are frequent travellers/hotel guests, but extremely lazy reviewers. However sometimes you just have to make the effort, if only to reflect the effort so clearly made by the hosts. One such example is the Ballina Colonial Motel on the Bangalow Road to Ballena. We give it a straight 10! Scrupulously clean, modern, spacious, well-appointed, the best shower that we've... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities