We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Lizard hotels

Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Housel Cove, Lizard TR12 7PG, England
Hotel amenities
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lizard
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012
AHGPortsmouth Portsmouth
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    48
    16
    16
    6
See reviews for
21
94
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
There are newer reviews for Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Didn't stay here but had dinner. Amazing view-make sure you book in advance for a table in the conservatory. The menu is limited which is a good thing. I don't rate places who try to do too many kinds of food. The food was good and the atmosphere relaxed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This hotel cannot fail it has a prime location on the lizard coastline pick the right room to stay in and you truly have found a piece of heaven. Everything here is faultless food location and amazing service the staff really care, they have geat knowledge of the local area everyone should visit here once.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel is in the most fantastic, remote location and cannot be recommended highly enough ... seeing is believing. The owners are warm and friendly and there is a wonderful charm which has been lost in many other establishments across the UK. Give it a go!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

incredible couple of nights in an incredible Hotel with views to die for, food was outstanding, compliments to the chef! We cannot wait to return to Housel Bay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

great situation - cliff walks from the door, beautiful view

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here four four nights with my wife and eleven year-old son in April 2012. We booked the hotel for its location and were not disappointed, especially after reading some of the previous mixed reviews. We didn't get one of the premier rooms at the front of the hotel but instead booked a family room at the back. This was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Arrived was impressed location was as everyone said stunning BUT.... walked in reception which was a mess covered in paperwork looked like they were doing their books, the computer was not working and they unaware we were due to arrive we finial booked in but had wonderful view of car park, although the hotel was not busy the room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Alfred M, Manager at Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am deeply sorry to hear your stay with us was not satisfactory. We appreciate your feedback and will ensure it is utilised sufficiently. However, we do not serve pub grub, our restaurant serves rosette standard, highly acclaimed cuisine, and I'm afraid if you are not willing to pay fair prices for good food, your... More

Surrey, U.K.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

The Housel Bay Hotel is in an absolutely stunning location overlooking the cliffs and sea and right on the SW Coast Path. We stayed at the hotel a couple of years ago and had a lovely few days so when we were planning a quick tour of West Cornwall we had no hesitation in choosing the Housel Bay hotel again.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Alfred M, Manager at Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant. I sincerely apologise to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. We strive to keep the same Victorian theme running through the Hotel, that has remained for the past 118 years. With it's original Victorian character... More

ipswich
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
158 hotel reviews
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We booked this hotel as part of a 2 week walk along the SW path, each leg carefully planned so that we had hotel accomodation to stay in. We were able to book this hotel on booking.com, received a confirmed notification and then had a phone call from the hotel itself to say they would not accept the booking for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Alfred M, Manager at Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I would firstly like to thank you for your review. I am sorry for the inconvenience that this may have caused, but frankly I think it's absurd that you think (bearing in mind we have a 3-night minimum stay policy at this time of the season) that any small Hotel business, would give up a premier room for a one-night... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We decided to have a day break on our working tour of the South-West of England. We decided we wanted to see both Land's End and Lizard Point and decided on staying at The Housel Bay Hotel, close to Lizard Point. On arrival we were upgraded to a bigger room free of charge. A nice touch and something we'd not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Housel Cove, Lizard TR12 7PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Housel Bay Hotel And Restaurant
Housel Bay The Lizard
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant Lizard, Cornwall

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
0:48
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay