We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 St Austell hotels

The Pier House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harbour Front | Charlestown, Cornwall, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special Offers
The Pier House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Pier House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Austell
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Dave C Torpoint, United Kingdom
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    78
    32
    6
    10
See reviews for
27
121
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (222)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Torpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unless I missed another way in, the front door step needed to be climbed up and abseiled down, this combined with a stiff sprung front door with a sharp weather strip fitted to the threshold makes for a very interesting introduction to the Pier House. If you are going there with old folks take care of them or they could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowgie, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry your Nan experienced some problems here at the Pier House. Charlestown is a World Heritage Site and the hotel is a listed building and therefore we are restricted in making any changes to the access. Many thanks for your comments in regard to the rest of your stay and hope we will see you back here... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We met up with friends who live in Rudruth for dinner here last weekend. Its a family favourite of theirs for high days & holidays & it really didnt disappoint! The hotel is lovely, warm, cosy & inviting & the restaurant was really well set out & looks lovely. The waitresses were friendly, happy & helpful & the produce was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bowgie, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the trouble to comment on your visit to the Pier house Hotel and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal. We very much hope we will see you back here some time in the future. Peter Cocks General Manager More

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Pier House Hotel for 3 nights (out of 4) and were delighted with the rooms, the service and with both the restaurant and bar menus. The hotel has an outdoor seating area that is right at the harbour and the whole town is quite unspoilt (as yet) by excessive tourism. Charlestown is quite close to The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bowgie, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and very pleasing to hear that we provided a high standard of service. We hope to see you back here some time in the future. Peter Cocks General Manager More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

My partner & i have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Pier House Hotel, Charlestown, Cornwall. We discovered the hotel as it is used in the film " The Eagle has landed " ( it's where Donald Sutherland is thrown through the window ) We cannot fault this hotel in any way, the room we had was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bowgie, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the food and service was to a high standard. We hope to see you back here sometime in the future. Peter Cocks General Manager More

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Very comfortable bed with loads of room. Separate single bed and the bathroom were on a separate floor accessed by stairs in the room. Not a problem for us. Room was recently refurbished to a very good quality and extremely quiet which made for several good nights sleep. Super restaurant and lovely cooked breatfast. The pub bar was very good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bowgie, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back here sometime in the future. Peter Cocks General Manager More

Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

For our anniversary we could only spare one night away, and we chose this gem of a hotel. Blessed with bright autumn sunshine and a clear, still sea, the peace of an out of season midweek visit made a perfect occasion. Our high quality refurbished room, 11, faced the sea and overlooked the adjacent harbour. Restaurant food was fresh, generously... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bowgie, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your comments are much appreciated. We hope to see you back here sometime in the future. Peter Cocks General Manager More

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Great Place to stay with the family. Very helpful staff and great location. The staff couldn't have done more to help us, food was served in the room and quite quickly. My only complaint is the bread rolls were a little stale.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bowgie, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry About the rolls but many thanks for your comments. We hope to see you back here sometime in the future. Peter Cocks General Manager More

Devon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Wonderful location. Staff were very friendly and welcoming on reception. I stayed in room 5 which was at the back and positioned directly over the vent from the kitchen, there was a sign saying don't open the two very small windows because of the smell from the kitchen. I didn't open the window but the noise kept me awake late... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bowgie, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments and we are very sorry about the noise from the kitchen, we have installed air conditioning so the windows can remained closed. If you should choose to return please ask for one of our front facing rooms and once again we are sorry for your poor nights sleep. Peter Cocks General Manager More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

After an initial mix up with Bookings.com we were allocated a recently refurbished sea facing room at the front of the hotel. Well, what an absolute treat this was! The views across the harbour and the sea beyond were amazing. This is a lovely hotel, staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. We ate in the Bistro during our stay and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bowgie, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future Peter Cocks General Manager More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Location fine, hotel itself not that bad for a 3 star, however we were put in room 5 on the first floor. Taped to the window was a sign telling us not to open the window because of kitchen smells. Not what you want on a hot sunny day, despite the room air-con. Right outside these windows was a flat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
bowgie, General Manager at The Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Very sorry for you disappointing stay. Peter Cocks General Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Pier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier House Hotel

Address: Harbour Front | Charlestown, Cornwall, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Pier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel St Austell
The Pier Hotel
The Pier House Hotel St Austell, Cornwall

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay