We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart

Certificate of Excellence
2-3 Church St, St Austell PL25 4AT, England
Hotel amenities
The White Hart
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
SueGrover Harlow, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    63
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
23
81
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (172)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The White Hart is a hotel in the middle of St. Austell with car parking opposite in its own car park, the room was large with a lovely shower room with 2 sinks and a walk in large shower, cleaned every day with fresh towels. The breakfast every morning was ok, the waiter that did breakfast was not very personable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stepped in our of the rain to have a cup of tea. The bar and lounge area was very welcoming and service was immediate and friendly. The drinks were very cheap and table service offered. Home made biscuits served with a large pot of tea for two provided more than enough tea to warm us up. Families and dogs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in June 2015 whilst on business. Room was massive and as luxurious as you'd get in any 5-star hotel in England, and the food was excellent. Outstanding fish and chips. Best of all, the staff were first class. We arrived late - they kept the kitchen open late for us and seemed happy to do so, and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I had a meal here last night before going to the cinema. The bar area was comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and attentive. There were plenty of choices for vegetarians and very good value for money. The food was outstanding and with live music thrown in. We will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is 10-15 minute walk from the St. Austell Rail Station. We arrived here in the pouring rain at midnight and was warmly greeted like it was mid-afternoon. Reception could not have been nicer. Our room was large enough and the step-down bathroom was very big. The shower drain (room 12) wasn't well, draining, so we were very cautious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can't write about the accommodation, as I didn't stay there. I went for a meal but was very disappointed. I had fillet steak but actually wondered if it was fillet. It was tough and full of gristle. I showed the waiter that I couldn't even cut it, he said that he would tell the chef. There was no further... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your comments on our hotel page and also our whites page , 2 reviews takes a lot of your time . I'm sorry you were not happy with your meal , all our staff are empowered to return a meal and offer a replacement without hesitation so I'm not sure why this was not... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to stay here as the reviews we had seen, gave a glowing recommendations. We arrived late Wednesday and planned to stay for 4 nights. We were shown to our room on the first floor and were constantly told we would not hear sounds from the bar, which sadly turned out to be false. This was brought home on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We stayed here for a night while touring Cornwall in May. The Hotel was very well situated in the middle of town and only a 10-15 minute walk from the Brewery. Having the car park across the main road and on a corner wasn't ideal. Getting to the room was a bit of a maze and the fact there are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Enjoyed a very pleasant evening meal here in peaceful surroundings after a day at Eden. Lamb shank was terrific as was the baked Cornish Brie. Very attentive but "leave you alone service" and would very much recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Anton am Arlberg, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

We visited the white heart early friday evening for a family meal for my birthday. The food was good, we both had starter, steak and a glass of wine each for 25 quid, check out the voucher at Groupon. Just wanted to say how friendly, professional and funny the waiter was, especially with our young children. Nice to eat in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay