We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 St Austell hotels

The White Hart

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-3 Church St, St Austell PL25 4AT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The White Hart to your Saves list
The White Hart
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
76%
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in St Austell
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (132)
  • Photos (43)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (30)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    49
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
58
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A really warm welcome waited for us at the White Hart where we stayed for 7 nights. Really helpful and friendly staff looked after us well. The room was well apportioned and kept nice and clean, as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was good and the food in the restaraunt was of a high standard. The bar was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in St Austell. The staff at the hotel went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The room was quirky; not huge but more than adequate, clean and well presented. The big drawback for me was the noise, especially as it was a very hot week and the windows had to be open.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 4 nights to use as a base for visiting the Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The food was really good in both the restaurant and the bar. This an old building not purpose built as a hotel and therefore doesn't have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived late (10pm) after a long drive from London, very pleased to find the hotel had a car park. Staff friendly and efficient, one was even popping to the shop for a customer, how great is that. Large room and huge bathroom with the biggest bath I have seen! Bed very comfy and even though right next to the church... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a lovely time here this morning (Wednesday) with my son for breakfast. We both came away full and happy. Service was great and breakfast lovely would recommend it. All presented very well and unlimited toast and tea a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. we look forward to welcoming you again in the future kind regards Management More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I found it slightly odd to have to walk through the bar to get to the slightly chaotic reception area, and had quite a wait for someone to book me in. However, the staff are friendly and I was led up to a small, but nicely furnished room with two windows, so it was nice and bright. The view wasn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are looking into replacing these shower rails in the Autumn We have had a very busy season and now will be putting our efforts into sorting out these little problems. we look forward to welcoming you in the future kind regards Management white hart hotel More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very disappointing stay.When we checked in they didn't have keys for the room (lost). We had to ask 3 times for a spare key for the front door for late entry and finally one was sourced for us. No effort was made to source this for us without asking. The room itself was large and clean but the lights didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and we have investigated the matters you spoke of. we apologise for the missing keys, unbeknown too us at that time the previous guests had took the keys home with them and being fully booked our staff hadn't actually realised they were missing until your check in, of course we... More

plymouth
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night for a concert . Very welcoming staff, very large room, Great linen and towels , very good breakfast although I think continental people may struggle with the choice Free Wi Fi Beware can be noisy Fridays and Saturday nights as a lot of pubs around this area . This is explained and ear plugs are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments We appreciate the positive feedback, it makes our job more worthwhile when we read such lovely comments and we will pass this on to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Management More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A friend and I spent a few nights recently at the White Hart. The rooms were comfortable, there was a excellent choice of really good meals and on top of that the young staff were attentive and full of fun. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we go to that part of Cornwall again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, our staff really appreciate the feedback we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future Kind regards Management More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Outstanding value . Used as a base for a visit to the Eden project £214 bought a room for 2 nights , dinner on the first night, 2 breakfasts and 2 tickets to the Eden project. The best bit about this hotel is the staff They are all young ( everyone seems young to me these days), smile a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynnbeard129, Manager at The White Hart, responded to this review

We thank you for your kind comments we will pass this on to our staff We look forward to welcoming you again in the future kind regards White Hart More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The White Hart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: 2-3 Church St, St Austell PL25 4AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel St Austell
White Hart St Austell
The White Hart St Austell, Cornwall

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in St Austell with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style
#3 Business Hotel in St Austell #5 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome awaits you at the White Hart Hotel and Whites Restaurant.A grade 2 listed hotel in the centre of town within minutes of railway and bus links. Eden project and the coast only few minutes away.17 ensuite bed roomsBar and Lounge areawhites reatuarant serving local and fresh produce. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
17

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of The White Hart and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The White Hart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer