We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 St Austell hotels

The Carlyon Bay

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Save Saved
You added The Carlyon Bay to your Saves list
The Carlyon Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
86%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
NCRC84 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    166
    62
    16
    15
See reviews for
112
344
15
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (667)
  • Mar-May only
    (206)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (230)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (153)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Following tough medical treatment, my husband decided to treat me to a luxury break in Cornwall especially as I wanted to visit the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. He asked me to book a luxury hotel with a luxurious room.The hotel website described their rooms as "fitted with luxury furnishings and stylish decor" and having sumptuous ambience".... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Second time of visit stayed four nights in sept 2013 wonderful stayed four nights sept 8th to sept 12th 2014 could not believe the difference in restaurant very poor service food not so good breakfast tea cold milk served in coffee cup not milk jug main course served before starter had been served I could go on and on first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I was very disappointed to read of your experience in our dining room. I apologise that we failed to meet your expectations. I can assure you that we set very high standards throughout the hotel and I will be investigating your comments further. I was pleased that you did enjoy... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a one night stay with my husband on Sunday 14th September. We had dinner, bed and breakfast. Once again made to feel very special without being OTT Nothing was too much trouble, lovely room and food excellent. We will be back for a longer stay. Well done Carlyon Bay to everyong

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic review. I was very happy to hear that you were made to feel very special during your stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back. More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I treated ourselves to a luxury week's holiday at this lovely hotel in a perfect setting. I cannot find fault with this hotel. Everything about it was wonderful and what impressed me the most was the staff who were so friendly and courteous. The food was exceptional and the atmosphere within the hotel was very warm and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your fantastic review, rewarding us with a 5 out of 5 star rating. I was particularly pleased to see that you felt everything about the hotel was wonderful and I was also very happy that you felt the staff were very friendly and courteous. Your comments regarding our exceptional food and also how warm and... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I read with some amusement the last review. We originally booked for six nights but having experienced one evening meal in the restaurant decided to walk with our feet right of the hotel and home. We had to send our meal back twice. The second time because the fish had not been gutted. The meals were a disaster and restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. I am very sorry that during our conversation on your departure I was unable to persuade you to stay, despite my reassurance that we would do everything possible to ensure your expectations would be met, but as you said you had made... More

milton keynes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a 4 Night stay at this Hotel and before writing my report I was reading a few of the other most recent reviews and part of me wonders if we were at the same hotel,This is a family owned Hotel but you have to bear in mind that they have Ten other large hotels, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I was very disappointed to read of your experience with us, as you can see from the large majority of our reviews this is not consistent with our usual high standards of service. The Brend Hotel group is very much a family run business, each hotel has a member of... More

Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This delightful hotel exudes an old charm so unusual these days. It is spotlessly clean. The staff could not be more helpful. The views from the south rooms are superb. There is some entertainment most evenings but the noise hardly permeates the rooms; the Hotel is quiet from 11pm. The rowdy wedding guests are sent off to the golf club... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your beautiful description of the hotel “exudes an old charm”. Your review was a delight to read and I am very pleased that you have had such a wonderful experience with us. The views are superb I couldn’t agree more, we are extremely lucky to be part of such a beautiful county. I do hope that we... More

Brighton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved this hotel, all the amenities were really good. They also were very different to the usual high class hotel as they had a lovely community feel to it. They put on a wide variety of activities for whoever wanted to participate, they were not embarrassing, just really friendly. Great views over the sea, lovely private beach and also golf... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and i was delighted that you enjoyed our entertainment and activities that we had available. It’s always pleasing to hear when guests have been able to experience such a variety of our facilities, the buggy ride... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at this hotel by accident and was able to book in en-route to it. Whilst it's not a cheap hotel by any means, it's a classic case of you get what you pay for. We had a sea view room and being south facing on an exceptionally hot week it got hot. My only criticism and it's the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review of the Carlyon Bay Hotel, your review is very encouraging and I was very pleased that you felt the hotel was exceptional. We have had a fantastic Summer this year and with this the temperatures have been high, this is perfect when guests wish to sunbath by the outdoor pool or enjoy a refreshing... More

cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Didn't stay here, went for a wedding. The staff were brilliant, venue was great and the food was amazing. What more can you say great day. Congratulations to Mike and Hannah hope you guys had a great day too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 out of 5 star rating! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed celebrating Mike and Hannah’s wedding here with us, we wish them both many happy returns for the future. We hope to have the opportunity welcome you back again soon. More

Do you own or manage The Carlyon Bay?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, T4B, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay St Austell, Cornwall

184 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (147)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (2)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Carlyon Bay