We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 99 St Austell B&Bs / inns

The Chapel Guest House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   The Old Chapel | Carthew, St Austell PL26 8XG , England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (87)
  • Photos (9)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
The Chapel Guest House
Ranked #41 of 99 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    13
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only spent one night here but were made to feel very welcome, with a tray of coffee and biscuits on our arrival.Quaint room, comfy bed but small shower. Superb breakfast in morning. We wish we had stayed here for our four nights in Cornwall rather than the one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked this b&b on late rooms.com. The room advertised looked beautiful. Unfortunately we had been shoved in the downstairs back bedroom. Throughly disappointed with the b&b! I could hardly sleep due to the creepy flooring the room above had, quite obviously their toilet was above my bed as I could hear Everything, not only that, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This B and B is well presented, spotlessly clean and characterful. The owners are pleasant and cater to your needs and the rooms are beautiful. Sadly due to no windows in the bathrooms all the ensuites have extractor fans which are loud! We were woken up at 630am on a Sunday. The breakfast is locally sourced but sadly it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
longmems, Owner at The Chapel Guest House, responded to this review

Dear traveller, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we thank you for the positive things you have said. We are sorry things were not entirely to your satisfaction. We are surprised you were awoken so early and can sympathize, but extractor fans are required by building regulations. With regard to your breakfast, we do not... More

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The Chapel Guest House is a lovely, charming and quiet place. Rooms are very clean, spacious and full of character. Wendy and Chris are happy to chat and recommend nice places to eat and visit. Delicious breakfast, made all from local products. Full Cornish breakfast and local jams were the highlights. Long drive from London paid off. Great place to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We thought the Chapel was a delightful conversion with tastefully decorated rooms. We stayed for 2 nights. We were in room 2 and weren't bothered by the noise of the road, yes we heard the odd car, but it wasn't too loud. The room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was served between 8 and 9 and was delicious an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We picked this place at short notice off Late Rooms because it looked like an interesting building. It was the best place we stayed on our whole trip. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The breakfasts were all local produce and they happily supplied gluten-free bread and sausages (I asked for the bread at booking). The hosts were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Chris and Wendy have found the perfect balance in offering a fantastic service without imposing. A smashing selection for breakfast including a full Cornish. Set in a handy location for the Eden Project but also close to Charlestown for a good piece of Cornwall's history. My only gripe was it could do with double glazing as close to a busy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Me and my wife have just came back and it is a wonderful place to stay,chris and wendy are wonderful to. They told me it is a 4* but i would think it is more like a 5* all the fittings are of a top quailty,everything that you could want is either in your room (most things are) or on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I visited this hotel with my partner a few weeks ago and had an amazing time, really nice hotel and nice little towns around the area. Will be going back. I would advice anyone to stay there as the service was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Have got to say it was one of the best places we have ever stayed in. Chris and Wendy where very welcoming. The bed was lovely and room was very clean. We will definitely be coming back :) . P.s the breakfast was great too was worth getting up for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Chapel Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Chapel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapel Guest House

Address: The Old Chapel | Carthew, St Austell PL26 8XG , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chapel Guest House 4*
Also Known As:
The Chapel Guest House Hotel St Austell
The Chapel Guest House St Austell, Cornwall

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added The Chapel Guest House to your Saves list