We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 St Austell B&Bs / inns

The Chapel Guest House

Save Saved
You added The Chapel Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   The Old Chapel | Carthew, St Austell PL26 8XG , England
Hotel amenities
The Chapel Guest House
Ranked #46 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    14
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
19
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Diano Marina, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice place located in an old chapel, Close to a beautiful little fishermen village called Mevagissey. The owner Chris is extremely kind and gentle, and prepares huge and delicious breakfast, only drawback room not particularly big

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very welcoming place to stay. Lovely clean rooms and the owners go to a lot of trouble to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We would recommend it as great location for a short break in Cornwall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights in August 2014. From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. Our hosts were first class, the family room was excellent (spacious, modern, tastefully decorated and a great bathroom) and the food at breakfast was perfect. The guest house is in a quiet, rural location and is very relaxing.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Chapel Guesthouse for 3 nights. On our arrival we were pleasantly surprised to be greeted with a warm welcome from Wendy. We were personally taken to our room and offered a tray of tea or coffee with biscuits which we greatly appreciated after a long drive. Wendy went downstairs to make the tea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

In fact the customer service was awful, we arrived 30mins before check in at 3.30 and rang the bell to see if we could check in early, the reception we got was similar to the response we got shocked us as we have done this many many times before in many other hotels and b&bs with no problems. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
longmems, Owner at The Chapel Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unhappy with our service, but this all seems to centre around the fact that you seem to feel that arriving thirty minutes early is normal practice (a right, even?) and if any problem exists the fault is entirely with the owners. Our check in time reflects the time it takes to prepare the “immaculate” rooms... More

Ashford
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Myself, my wife and my sister in law , stayed here for 5 nights. Our room was very neat, tidy and extremely clean. Our breakfast we chose each day from a very wide variety of breakfast fayre, made with locally sourced products(which as chefs and owners of our own cafe bistro, that show cases local produce) we found very appealing!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Both hosts were very welcoming and have the most adorable cat, the man seemed a little awkward but was generally good natured throughout the stay. Both hosts had great local knowledge. Breakfast was pretty good, a lot of variety and came out quickly with great presentation. The omelette was a definite favourite. Breakfast is served from 8-9 but I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We only spent one night here but were made to feel very welcome, with a tray of coffee and biscuits on our arrival.Quaint room, comfy bed but small shower. Superb breakfast in morning. We wish we had stayed here for our four nights in Cornwall rather than the one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked this b&b on late rooms.com. The room advertised looked beautiful. Unfortunately we had been shoved in the downstairs back bedroom. Throughly disappointed with the b&b! I could hardly sleep due to the creepy flooring the room above had, quite obviously their toilet was above my bed as I could hear Everything, not only that, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This B and B is well presented, spotlessly clean and characterful. The owners are pleasant and cater to your needs and the rooms are beautiful. Sadly due to no windows in the bathrooms all the ensuites have extractor fans which are loud! We were woken up at 630am on a Sunday. The breakfast is locally sourced but sadly it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
longmems, Owner at The Chapel Guest House, responded to this review

Dear traveller, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we thank you for the positive things you have said. We are sorry things were not entirely to your satisfaction. We are surprised you were awoken so early and can sympathize, but extractor fans are required by building regulations. With regard to your breakfast, we do not... More

Do you own or manage The Chapel Guest House?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Chapel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapel Guest House

Address: The Old Chapel | Carthew, St Austell PL26 8XG , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chapel Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Chapel Guest House Hotel St Austell
The Chapel Guest House St Austell, Cornwall

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay