We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Georges Country Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
St Georges Hill, Perranporth TR6 0ED , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
St Georges Country Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    129
    31
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
41
82
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (176)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner posted an honest review of our stay with you at the beginning on August. We are certainly not hard to please, just a family enjoying our holiday. We stay in many hotels as a family and although many of your reviews claim to have been welcomed, unfortunately a letter sellotaped to the door doesn't count as "welcoming". Then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic hotel in great location for the beaches and seeing Cornwall. Wonderful hosts in Sharon and Sue who made my children and I feel part of the family. Lovely accommodation, bedrooms clean and modern, large communal lounge and even a small bar selling local ales. Breakfast is in a large room at the rear over looking the gardens and what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St Georges Country Hotel, responded to this review

It was a real pleasure to meet you and your family last week and we are very happy that you enjoyed you time with us. What an action packed holiday you gave your lucky children! More 

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were very pleased with our accommodation. Our room was beautifully bright, with a lovely view of the garden. The room was clean & well furnished, the bed was very comfortable & we had a very good nights sleep. The bathroom was clean fresh & modern, we were delighted. The breakfast was made from local produce & was cooked perfectly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St Georges Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are very pleased that you enjoyed your little break with us. It is interesting to note that you stayed in the same room as the previous reviewer and had such a different take on it. As they say "You can't please all of the people all of the... More 

Olney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently booked a 2 night stay here in one of the family rooms. Nobody there to greet us on arrival - just a load of notes stuck to the door with our name on along with the other guests. No food was being served in the evening on our first night! The second we went out to get our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St Georges Country Hotel, responded to this review

Over the last ten years we have learned to spot very quickly someone who is never going to be happy in our place however hard we try. We make it very clear to our guests that we would like them to tell us in the morning whether they will be eating in that evening. It is impossible to be here... More 

Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

I both liked the St Georges and was disappointed too. The rooms were OK but the toilet could have been a little bit cleaner and there was lipstick on the glass. The bed wasn't that comfortable and a bit lumpy. Wi-fi was free but as slow as dial up, so I gave up. Didn't have dinner as there was limited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

A superb overnight stay and very welcome after a long day's walk. Enjoyed an excellent dinner and Sue and Sharon were excellent hosts. Made a nice change from having to go out for a meal. The grounds are idyllic and just the place to relax if bathed in sunshine. Sheila/Martin

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

This hotel is a little way out of town (Perranporth) - but worth it. Room was clean and comfortable. Very generous amounts of tea (clipper) and coffee supplied. Shower room was very nicely styled with lovely (M&S) quality towels and a very decent size too. Shower gel and hand wash was also supplied. Breakfast was delicious and looked to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Onati, Gipuzkoa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

As all the other reviewers say, Sue and Sharon run a very friendly guest house, comfortable rooms, though the bathrooms can be very small, the beds are very big. Great breakfast and nice dinners if you don't feel like going out. They are also very helpful with tips about places you want to visit. Sadly for us, they are giving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

Stayed while walking the SWCP. Sharon and Sue run a great place and really make you feel welcome. It is a nice big place, with lounges and garden for guests to use. Honest self service bar if you fancy pouring some drinks. The dinner was really excellent, featuring pork cooked in the Aga. Breakfast had home made muesli, bread and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

We stayed in "The Cottage" and had a wonderful two nights. The breakfast was fantastic with homemade bread and preserves. The full English was very good indeed. Sharon and Sue made us all feel most welcome throughout the stay. Would return again for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perranporth
0.6 mi away
Ponsmere Hotel
Ponsmere Hotel
#1 of 2 in Perranporth
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
6.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel - Newquay
2.7 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay