We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Merrymoor Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Mawgan Porth, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BA, England
The Merrymoor Inn
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    40
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
36
76
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (166)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Merrymoor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

There is a large choice of inn accommodation available in cornwall , The reason my wife and myself chose The merrymoor inn was the location and views , located nearly on the beach it looked perfect ! . We were delighted on our arrival with the warmest of welcomes, we soon realised we had made a good choice , During... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are all so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again Lynne More 

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights the first being the "big storm" our room (6) had fbulous views of the beach and most of Mawgan Porth, it was spotless with a large en-suite really verry nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful nd the fact that it's been in family hands for four generations came through. The food was really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again Lynne More 

Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at this pub approximately 30 years ago and loved the location. We stayed again on Friday 25 October 2013 while in transit to a wedding in Newquay. The view is still breathtaking; the room was clean, comfortable with a stunning view over the beach; the food was excellent and the owners/staff were warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again for a longer stay next time! Lynne More 

West Midlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Merrymoor is perfectly located opposite the beach and we were lucky enough to have a room at the front overlooking it. The room was really clean and comfortable with fantastic views and the staff very welcoming and friendly. Although we didn't eat in the pub during the evening, the breakfast was great and much needed before a big surfing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again when you are down surfing! Lynne More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
782 reviews 782 reviews
121 hotel reviews
628 helpful votes 628 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first stopping point after walking around 18 miles along the SWCP from Padstow, on our way to St. Ives. The place unfortunately lost out rather in comparison to where we had stayed and eaten the previous night in Padstow. We did have a good sea-view room, but the bed was not overly comfortable and the bathroom rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stranded at Newquay airport by fog we were found a room here by a very helpful man at a pub opposite the airport. A very friendly place and we were very impressed by our room - bathroom with Jacuzzi and a fantastic view over the bay. We ate here and the food was very good. It was the service and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay and hope to see you again, Lynne More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. Staff were very friendly and showed us to our room. The room was lovely and clean, I loved the bathroom!!! I would give the merrymoor inn 5 stars but sadly I couldn't sleep very well as the walls were very thin and I could hear the people in the next room. I would recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again Lynne More 

Dartford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Merrymoor in a room with views over the beach. It was definitely worth paying the extra for that view. The room was very clean and nicely furnished and the bathroom had both a spacious shower cubicle and a bath. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and the meals in the evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review

We are all delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather not being so great. Look forward to welcoming you back next year! Lynne More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We visited here yesterday and enjoyed a fantastic 2 course meal. The ribs were delicious and melted in the mouth. The quantity of sides with this dish were great, if anything too much. The homemade lamb burger was tasty. The desserts were amazing and the view from here is beautiful. Will definitely be returning here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again Lynne More 

West midlands
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
98 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have stayed in many "seaside" accommodations in the past and did not know what to expect with the Merrymoor Inn. but we found the Inn and accommodation first class, with a great welcome, and the view from Room 5 was just great, the weather started to turn but watching everyone enjoying themselves on the beach with their dogs was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again next time you are in Cornwall Lynne More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities