We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Mawgan Porth hotels

The Scarlet Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Scarlet Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Scarlet Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
mike c Totnes, United Kingdom
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    153
    48
    14
    8
See reviews for
37
747
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (944)
  • Mar-May only
    (235)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (293)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (280)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (136)
All months
Totnes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel in a great location with truly great staff...we booked a few nights away in Cornwall staying at some top hotels and this was the BEST!....the design of the hotel is very clever and it just nestles above a beautiful beach...The spa is superb and my only tip would be to book any treatments early as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our 5th visit and it didn't disappoint. We loved it. Everything was perfect from the spa, to the massage to the wonderful food, we really couldn't fault it. We will be back, this is a special place for us but I'd recommend it to anyone. A place to relax and unwind, the world won't bother you there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad that you had yet another memorable stay with us, and that we continue to be a special place for you both! Thank you for your review, and I hope that we'll be welcoming you back for visit six very soon! Kind regards Erica House Manager More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Real top rating as for location - directly on the coast with magnificent views; for architecture and decor - modern, light, lots of beautiful details; for atmosphere - relaxed, yet kind and serviceminded and really like feeling at home when away. Perfect for grown ups looking for the best adult experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

I'm pleased to read that you felt at home here - that's really what we are aiming for. I agree that the views here are something else - we're very lucky to be set on such a dramatic piece of coastline! Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope you'll stay with us again in the... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Regrettably my wife and I could only stay one night, how we rued that decision! This hotel is sensational, truly relaxing with staff so accommodating, nothing is too much trouble. The location is magnificent as is the pool and the various areas in which to escape life's stresses. Our room had doors leading to the garden which led to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Such a shame that you could only stay the one night, and also didn't have time to take advantage of our hot tubs, as they really are famous as being an integral part of the Scarlet experience... however, it's the perfect excuse to come back and stay for longer! Thank you for taking the time to review your time with... More

Long buckby
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thought I'd do an updated review as its a few years since my last, and you know how it is, things change .... Well not Scarlett's. They still put as much effort into everything they do.. No resting on their laurels for this crew!!! It's like visiting your favourite grandmas... Eager anticipation when you know you are going and then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Ah, thank you for this - lovely to read (although I do hope that you weren't likening me personally to a grandma!). On a serious note, we are so glad that you still feel the same magic when you come and visit. The team do, as you said, still do really put so much effort into what they do, so... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff work tirelessly for the guests ... nothing is too much but the are never "in the way"... just there when you need them. The food seems to have just better (if that was possible). I dont like giving 5 stars because (and dont very often) because is leaves no room to get better but Scarlet is exceptional and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

It's always such a pleasure to read out reviews like this to the team, and it's wonderful for us all to hear that you still enjoy your stays with us so much. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm sure we will see you again soon! Kind regards Erica House Manager More

exeter
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Often very skeptical about hotels promising home from home etc etc as have been disappointed in the past with efficient but unfriendly service. Having paid less for supposedly four and five stars hotels I was (if I am honest) expecting to be disappointed and feel that I had not had my monies worth. Also when staying in four and five... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

What a fantastic review thank you for taking the time to write this and post it on trip advisor. As ever feedback is so important to us and delivering this sort of feedback always puts our team on a massive high, this is what we aspire to achieve! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Scarlet journey, there is... More

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent my big birthday here - stunning sea view from our first floor Just Right room - we could hear the roar of the waves and felt almost in touching distance of the beach. We both had spa treatments, my wife was over the moon with hers, Kate did all that was included and more - one of the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry that you felt disappointed with the food offering in the restaurant. Tom would very much like to discuss this with you further. If you could send him an e mail with a convenient telephone number and time he could contact you on that would be fantastic. We... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the first hotels I've been in where the rooms etc. are actually as good if not better than they look in the pictures. I've never come across such an accomodating hotel the service was fantastic. Our lunch was forgotten once but one phone call and it was brought to us by the manager with extreme apologies and given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we will of course share your feedback with our team. It sounds like you had a wonderful break and we hope your four legged friends enjoyed their holiday too! We hope that you will come back and visit us in 2015 Kindest Regards Erica Lappin House manager More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited The Scarlet for one night as a birthday treat and wished we' booked longer! We had an amazing stay and loved everything about the hotel. On arrival, we were given a quick tour and shown to our spacious room which was simply breathtaking, my jaw dropped open as I walked in and saw the breathtaking views and lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MHudd, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review

Many happy returns, it sounds like you celebrated in style for your birthday. I will certainly pass on the lovely feedback to our teams. With regard to your heating, this was something that had been a little bit of a challenge over the past 6 weeks, the weather had been so up and down and warmer than usual that it... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Mawgan Porth, Cornwall

529 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (425)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (86)
Viewed
Room/suite (76)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from room (47)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (124)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (92)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Hot Tub (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (3)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay