We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Lostwithiel hotels

The Royal Oak

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Royal Oak to your Saves list
The Royal Oak
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
88%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Margaret D Brixham, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (102)
  • Photos (13)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (29)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    35
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
54
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only booked this pub as the photographs gave the impression that there would be wonderful food available for our evening meals, so we were very disappointed to discover that the only food on offer was burgers or sandwiches!! As we arrived on a Sunday we discovered that there was only one restaurant open in the whole town during our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It seems not just here but in Lostwithiel itself - make sure you are not eating after 8.30!!! We liked this place so much, we went back another night but at 8.45, kitchen closed!! We then went to the other 3 open - again all closed!! Anyway, back to the food. Lovely lovely food - place very quiet. All quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

To be told we are providing lovely food is the best accolade you could give us and our chef Cristie and her kitchen team. We are sorry we closed early--as you say it was the same all over Lostwithiel and a particularly quiet night. It is something we rarely do and for this we apologise. Next time you visit everything... More

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The royal Oak was a really lovely place to stay. We booked last minute and they added an extra bed in the room for us which was no problem to them they said. The evening meal was wonderful, all freshly cooked and using local produce. Breakfast also was a wonderful selection to choose from and all cooked to individual requirements.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

We were delighted to read your review as it means we are pleasing our guests right up to the last minute. We are retiring and the Royal Oak will soon have new owners who we know love the pub just as much as we do so if you come back you will find everything to the standard you love. It... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped for one night at the Royal Oak on our way further south into Cornwall. Our room was spotlessly clean with wonderfully comfortable twin beds, although the bathroom was quite small. The evening meal was decent pub food but the highlight of our stay had to be breakfast. We were welcomed with a cheery smile from Lewis who seemed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reporting on what seems like an "home from home" breakfast. Lewis is our breakfast chef and we are delighted that his sole aim is to please our guests .It is typical that he would rush out to buy the marmalade he couldn`t find. We are delighted that you found your room spotless and the beds... More

Southampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for a couple of nights on the 18th and 19th of July so we could explore a little of Cornwall for the weekend. The location was perfect for visiting St Austell and the surrounding areas (Lostwithiel train station 5mins walk away if you don't want to drive everywhere). We stayed in room 1which was clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased we were able to offer you just what you wanted.We want guests to have a relaxing time with us and feel they could be at home--hence the breakfast order so you may have just what you want when you want it! A good tip about the vegetarian option so... More

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Made welcome lovely room even changed towels and bed throughout the week. Good food with exelant menus. Hotel full of character with beams and stone floor, everything very clean. Great staff made us welcome even the dog. TOP MARKS.

Was this review helpful? Yes
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

All the team at the Royal Oak said you were a joy to look after. We are so pleased you liked all our little pub has on offer and we really appreciate that you have taken the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you and your little dog will visit us... More

Perth Hills, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We are staying in room 4. Twin beds so very comfortable. We had an amazing meal. Was the best meal so far in the UK. Have already recommended to friends here and home. Staff are brilliant room spotless bed fantastic. Can't wait for breakfast and to visit the rest of Lostwithiel. We are so glad we stopped here. Two very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you lovely Australians. You are so well travelled it is indeed the highest accolade to get five stars from you. It was a pleasure having you stay and we hope you come and see us when next in Cornwall. Thank you for appreciating our food, .our wonderful chef/manager Cristie works hard to balance pub food to offer the perfect... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed at The Royal Oak overnight whilst attending a wedding nearby. Had my whole family with me, taking up four rooms. From start to finish, the staff were warm and friendly and couldn't help enough whilst not being over attending. The pub itself is full of history, with plenty of character. The rooms were spotless, all with en-suites, tea/coffee, etc.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review. The whole team at the Oak will be appreciative of your kind comments. Now you have found us hopefully you will return and we look forward to meeting any one of your family again. More

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

we had one nights stay here this time as my husband was cycling to John O'Groats. Nice friendly welcome with safe storage for his bike.Our room was large and comfortable, good size bathroom. Breakfast lovely, served by the chief with a sense of humor!! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Your review is a recognition of just what we aim to provide and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy cycling and we hope you visit us again one day. More

Neston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The staff were friendly and the food excellent. The only down side was the room (6). It was a small room with a bathroom that was barely adequate. It was so small we had to go into the bedroom to get dried after a shower. We were fortunate to have excellent weather. Unfortunately we opened the window to cool down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay overall. Delighted that you thought the food excellent and the service good. What a shame you did not tell us you were unhappy with your room ;.if at all possible we try and make our guests satisfied .Obviously with the building being so old the room sizes vary and we would have... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Lostwithiel
The Royal Oak Lostwithiel, Cornwall

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Lostwithiel with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
13th Century Inn with original features; Listed stained glass windows and also a tunnel link to nearby Restormel Castle. Lostwithiel has a fascinating history & is a bustling, popular town on the River Fowey. Near to Lanhydrock House & Garden, The Eden Project, Heligan Gardens etc and south coast; Fowey, Looe, Charlestown and Mevagissey. The Royal Oak has newly refurbished, comfortable & spacious rooms, all en suite, together with a great pub restaurant & bar, popular with local & visitors alike. The chefs offer some of Cornwall's best pub food using fresh local produce. During the summer, you can enjoy the extensive, patio area in the dappled shade of a lovely willow tree. For cooler weather, there are 2 cosy wood burners providing a great comforting atmosphere in the bar, snug lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer