We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Lostwithiel hotels

The Royal Oak

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Royal Oak to your Saves list
The Royal Oak
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
87%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Lostwithiel
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    29
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
47
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Royal Oak so that we could visit a friend close by, and the reviews looked to fit our needs perfectly. We were running late for arrival by about 4 hours, and so I called ahead to let them know. We eventually arrived at 8.45pm and were still able to find a parking spot in the car park.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

We appreciate your positive review and your minor niggles will be addressed. It is so helpful to know where we can do better and often it is the small things that can get overlooked. Please accept this reply as an explanation and not an excuse. We learn by feedback from our customers. Our breakfast tick list states toast but as... More

Dinas Powys, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here just for the one night recently. Chose this hotel because it had mostly good reviews and it was good value for money. The double room was small but clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. We ate in the restaurant in the evening. The food was pleasant, no complaints here. The breakfast was very nice,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review us so positively .Everything you liked about our little pub are the very things we try hard to get right. We are so pleased you felt you were in clean and comfortable surroundings and that the staff were so friendly and polite. We want guests to feel it is home from home... More

Bodmin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Looking for lunch on a cold and rainy Sunday we noticed The Royal Oak at Lostwithiel did a Sunday carvery so we dropped in on the off-chance they could fit us in. The car park is beside the rear entrance, which is handy for someone like myself who is a bit arthritic and cannot walk too far and when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review and we are delighted you enjoyed your Sunday lunch. We understand we " cant please all of the people all of the time" but you are the type of customer who really gets what we are all about. A simple pub with bedrooms that serves home cooked food. Please do come and... More

Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The last time I ate here - admittedly about three years ago - the pub appeared to be going for the top class, fine-food experience. Having now, after our meal, checked Tripadvisor, I think the pub has changed hands. The food is pretty bad. My party ended up here after not being able to get into other food establishments in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review albeit not one we liked to read. It is a reminder to us to not get too self congratulatory when we get so many pleasant ones. We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal but rest assured our fish comes from a local reputable supplier and we... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights in August and had a pleasant time. Food and staff were lovely! My only disappointment was the size of the rooms as I specifically asked for a large room! But it was very very small for the family (2 adults, a 3 yrs old and a baby). I can only imagine that there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

We appreciate how frustrating it must have been for you to be in a double room and not a family room. You are correct in assuming there was a mistake in room allocation--in fact we had you booked as just a couple. If we had not been fully booked we would have moved you at once. It was heartening to... More

Wirral
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, the staff were very friendly & helpful and there is free car parking at the front of this B&B. Good central location, easy walk to the little river and nice little town but watch out for a lone swan which approached us by the river and pecked my knee!. There is a good outdoor area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for spending the time to give us such a favourable review.Our staff have absorbed our passion for pleasing our customers and we are so proud of them. It is really helpful to get feedback on things we may do better. Certainly we will prepare any guests in room 5/6 to expect some fan noise and we will have... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Oak for 5 nights the first week of September 2013. We were a group of five. We found a lovely Inn run by a great team who provided excellent service. The breakfast was outstanding (I don't write that without experiencing breakfast world wide, it really was a great start to the day). We took four... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to review your stay with us. All the team are delighted that you appreciated the offer and their service.Your group was a pleasure to have stay. We are a traditional Cornish pub with bedrooms and it is wonderful to host guests who understand this.Congratulations on winning play your cards right and we... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Wished I could have stated more than one night! Beautiful and comfortable room. Lovely town to visit. Great accommodating and welcoming staff and fantastic breakfast. Very happy to stay there and would again if I was in that part if Cornwall. Train station is a lovely walk and not far from the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Comments like yours make our job worthwhile. All the staff wished you could have stayed longer so do hope you will come to our pub again. Thank you. More

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

great British pub feel. comfortable rooms.the staff are great.the breakfast is superb and evening meal great.highly recommend this place.if you go there just to eat try the haddock with dill glaze.rick stein eat your eat out

Was this review helpful? Yes
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

You have appreciated just what we aim to be --a real Cornish pub. Our chef Cristie will be so pleased you enjoyed her haddock dish--please come back soon and thank you for your review More

Montpellier, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A good place to stay. We went to Cornwall for just two nights and stayed at Royal Oak. The things that were important to us were good. Nice clean rooms well equipped and most of all the staff were brilliant. Just ask and you got a solution. Nice friendly approach and the town is well located for touring. Car parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vicky c, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Your overall comment is just what matters most. Our staff are genuine in their desire to help guests have the best of times in our pub and we thank you so much for taking the time to review us so positively. Please come back soon. More

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel Lostwithiel
Royal Oak Lostwithiel
The Royal Oak Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Address: Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lostwithiel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Lostwithiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th Century Inn with original features; Listed stained glass windows and also a tunnel link to nearby Restormel Castle. Lostwithiel has a fascinating history & is a bustling, popular town on the River Fowey. Near to Lanhydrock House & Garden, The Eden Project, Heligan Gardens etc and south coast; Fowey, Looe, Charlestown and Mevagissey. The Royal Oak has newly refurbished, comfortable & spacious rooms, all en suite, together with a great pub restaurant & bar, popular with local & visitors alike. The chefs offer some of Cornwall's best pub food using fresh local produce. During the summer, you can enjoy the extensive, patio area in the dappled shade of a lovely willow tree. For cooler weather, there are 2 cosy wood burners providing a great comforting atmosphere in the bar, snug lounge and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.