We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Chapel B&B

West Taphouse, Lostwithiel PL22 0RP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with The Old Chapel B&B to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Chapel B&B
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Old Chapel B&B
Add Photo

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    41
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Beedelup
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent 3 nights here and Kimberly and Greg couldn't have been any better hosts. Totally passionate and professional. Local tour guide offered at cheaper prices than entry cost alone to some local attractions. Rooms are stunning and spacious. Breakfast was wonderful. Local delicacies or homemade goodies on offer. This is definitely a place we will keep as a return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very enjoyable stay due in no small part to the hospitality and professionalism of our hosts Greg and Kimberley. The property was of a high standard with very comfy beds, good breakfast and it was meticulously clean. If you are after bed and breakfast accomodation in this part of Cornwall you would struggle to find better.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

Hello helenv699, We are glad you found the bed comfy, a large number of our guests have commented on what a great nights sleep they get when staying with us. Cleanliness is our obsession, together with providing the best breakfast we can of course. Thanks again for staying with us and the kind words. Regards Greg & Kimberley Spence More 

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I spent 2 nights here and what a fantastic place it was! The room absolutely beautiful, and our hosts couldn't do enough for us! Lovely cooked breakfast with a lot of attention to detail. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

Hi mullencp, It was a pleasure having you to stay with us. We like to do as much for the guests as possible while they are staying with us to make the experience as memorable as Cornwall is. Make sure to pop in and say hello next time you are in the area. All the best Greg & Kimberley Spence More 

east grinstead
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We stayed three nights with Kimberley and Greg at The Old Chapel and couldn't fault it. They were really welcoming and went out of their way to be helpful.The accommodation was of the highest standard, there was a good range of breakfast options to suit everyone, including Full English, cooked to perfection. The B&B is ideally situated to visit The... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

Hello Jenny, It was a pleasure hosting you at our B&B and I am glad you found it a great experience. Our location is ideal for the attractions you mentioned, together with many other National Trust gardens and we are only a short distance from both the North and South coasts of Cornwall. Hopefully we will see you again the... More 

Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

We stayed 2 nights In the Old Chapel B&B in the Cotehele room. (As our room was named after Cotehele garden we visited this beautiful garden on our way home.) However this room didn't have an en-suit bathroom, it did not cause any inconvenience. The B&B has a really friendly, welcoming atmosphere and it is furnished stylishly, and equipped with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

Hello vanbandi, As you know we have given all of our rooms names, mainly after the National Trust Gardens which are close by. I am glad we inspired you to visit Cotehele they are beautiful gardens and house. The room you stayed in is our smallest room and has a private bathroom rather than ensuite, all of our other rooms... More 

Caldicot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

Stayed here for a night and other members of the party stayed other nights. What a fantastic B and B. Owners can't do enough for you. Breakfast excellent. Rooms are spotless, beds really comfortable. Nice little touches in the rooms, even homemade shortbread !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

Hello Vickyw516, Thanks for your feedback. Kimberley is always busy making shortbread as it is very popular with our guests. The most important things our guests need when they stay with us is a clean room, a good night's sleep and a great breakfast to set them up for the day. I am happy we delivered on all of those... More 

Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
69 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Greg and Kimberley have worked very hard to make this a spotless green haven. The rooms were immaculate with sparkling clean linen and thick carpet. Evefything was very new. I found my room a little crowded though, with nowhere to sit with a computer, and there was nowhere to put toiletries in the bathroom. The breakfast was very good. Unfortunately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback which we always take seriously. Cleanliness and attention to detail is what we obsess over, we have stayed in too many hotels and B&B's that did not pay such attention and we are determined not to be like them! You booked our smallest room which is why you probably found it restrictive, however we have moved... More 

Dorset England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

We had a lovely 3 days in Cornwall at the Very Best Accommodation.and great breakfast. Lovely furnished very comfortable, Clean , and friendly home. the owners greeted us with a tray of tea and a selection of home made cakes. a lovely touch after a long drive. I highly recommend the Old Chapel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

We always offer tea and cakes when our guests arrive, it helps them to wind down after their journey and is a great way to settle in. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we certainly enjoyed looking after you. Hopefully we will see you again next time you are in Cornwall. Regards Kimberley & Greg Spence More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Booked a package here for 3 nts B&B and the Eden Project tour. It's difficult to find anything to criticise! The setting is lovely, the rooms beautifully decorated and absolutely spotless, the breakfasts to die for, and the welcome warm and friendly. Kimberley and Greg have been in the hospitality business for some time, and it really shows. They took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive feedback. Our personal Eden Tour is proving popular amongst guests as it is cheaper than buying a ticket direct, and you get 4 hours of personalised information about the Eden Project from an expert guide as you discovered. We use our experience of hospitality to provide the best possible service we can. I am... More 

Shropshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We recently stayed in this wonderful accommodation in West Taphouse. We had travelled down for a family funeral and were not impressed by the local hostelries available so decided on The Old Chapel-what a gem! We regularly stay in this type of lodgings and this is by far the best. Kimberley and Geoff could not do enough to help-including offering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theoldchapel, Owner at The Old Chapel B&B, responded to this review

Terryp, Thanks so much for your feedback. We like to provide the best service we can, hence the reason for making the offer to drive you to a local restaurant. We want our guests to enjoy their stay to the fullest. We are glad you found the beds to be comfortable, a good nights sleep and high quality breakfast are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay