We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wellington Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
The Harbour, Boscastle PL35 0AQ , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
Add Photo

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    158
    94
    22
    5
    8
See reviews for
41
169
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (287)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, room was spacious and clean and well equipped. But there was an extractor fan from the kitchen that blew a food smell along the corridor we were on which wasn't nice. Thankfully it didn't make it into the room. At breakfast we ordered haddock and had to send it back as it smelt bad.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Wellington is a fine old hotel with an excellent pub and restaurant. The rooms are full of character (and maybe the odd ghost) but everything is up to par, comfort wise. What really distinguishes the Wellie, though, is its staff. I travel a good deal and I have never encountered such pleasant and accommodating people. They are so generous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for only one night whilst working locally. Nice to find a place with friendly, happy, attentive staff. Food was excellent and the room comfortable. Will stay again when working in Cornwall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I had an impromptu honeymoon here and it was perfect for what we wanted. Relaxed, friendly staff, very comfortable surroundings and fabulous food. We ate in the bar in the evenings and the food was impeccable. We would happily go back just for the desserts! Rooms were clean and spacious, the bed was so comfortable they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We arrived at the end of a long drive, early evening from The Cotswolds last Wednesday. First impressions, the building looked great, the lady on reception was very pleasant as was the the young man who took us to our room. The Thomas Hardy Room was clean, spacious and the flowers I'd ordered together with a card for my wife... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jonathan S, Owner at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry about the wait time for your dinner in the Restaurant. The Head Chef and myself have spoken about what happened this particular evening to see if this can be avoided in the future. Unfortunately, it will happen occassionally when we are very busy as we cook all dishes to order from fresh ingredients. It would be great... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

We called here during a stay in Boscastle, just for a drink initially but came back to eat the following day. Good choice on the menu in the bar, the food was very good and generous portions. Particularly friendly staff made us feel very welcome. If you want good food at a reasonable price you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

A very charming English hotel which made me proud. It can be done, it is here. I've stayed in many hotels around the world many more expensive than this but this one ranks pound for pound up there. The restaurant deserves it's two A A rosettes too. So friendly and helpful . We went with friends who have been here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JSWellington, Owner at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

I guess that it is a natural tendency to pay more attention to less positive reviews so that we can rectify the issue and continue to improve. However, every now and then we read a positive review and it is lovely just to sit back and enjoy the moment. This is one such review. It may be a short simple... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

My wife and I decided to take a short break away in February and as we had not been to Boscastle before we thought of trying a established hotel. We booked one of the Turrett rooms that offer plenty of space. We were not disappointed, it was a very nice room just a few minor touches would have made it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

we stopped here for lunch last week and had a nice good value lunch, not outstanding but certainly worth a visit. Menu did have some interesting modern dishes on although i went for the classic fish and chips my wife had a chicken and chorizo dish, she did complain that there wasn't much chicken though!.. all in all a pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

We spend one night at the Wellington Hotel in Boscastle, an attractive hotel in a charming village. Our room was lovely with a big comfy bed and good quality bedding. Tea-making facilities were good (plenty of choice with nice biscuits) and there were lots of toiletries in the bathroom. The bar-tender was very pleasant and the Guinness was good. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JSWellington, Owner at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As for the smoking, what can I say.......! You can hopefully see from many previous reviews that our staff work really hard and take great pride in making our customers' stay as enjoyable as possible. When we discussed your review and the obvious poor impression created by... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay