We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Alexander Pope

Cross Deep, Twickenham TW1 4RB, England (Formerly Popes Grotto)
Hotel amenities
The Alexander Pope
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 5 Twickenham B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
Darren P
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    79
    31
    26
    4
See reviews for
28
68
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (188)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

little bit of a reluctant review as I use this hotel all the time and really don't want to struggle to find availability, however want to be fair to staff and owners for so many pleasant nights away After recent refurb the large rooms are very well appointed, particularly the ones on the third floor which border on suites Dining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

stayed here to be near the university. Clean comfy rooms, friendly reception, and good dining experience. Would stay again. Bed was very comfy, tea/coffee bad biscuits in room and range of toiletries. Breakfast service very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night following the England v France tryfest - great location just off the centre of town. We got there at noon so not surprised room was not ready, a warm up pint in the bar or two later and they had made the effort so that was great as we could dump bags and freshen up.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were fortunate to be entertained here once again this time en route to the England vs France finale of the six nations. We had a late lunch which considering how busy they were was exceptional. The fish was better than I had in Padstow two days previous at Mr Steins cafe. Hats off to all the staff and owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mörfelden-Walldorf, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for three nights in September 2013 (not in 2014, I know I'm very late for my review). The hotel as such is beautifully located and has the bus-stops just in front of the house. The breakfast buffet offers not much variety and if you're just a little late, you'll find most of the plates empty. Sometimes there's a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel would be great value outside London but in London its amazing , great service, super modern clean room and lovely food, im here for business but it would be super for a short london break, i cant recommend this hotel highly enough

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Extremely poor!! I will never return. There was nobody at the check-in desk, I had to flag a waiter down who appeared to be doing everything....The family room that we booked was dirty, old, worn-out and needed gutting. I was not going to allow my children to have a bath there as the tiles were cracked, missing and dirty. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexanderpope H, General Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment upon your recent stay with us. I was very saddened to learn of your experience and extremely sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I shall of course be looking into the areas you mentioned. The hotel is currently undertaking a re modelling of all of the bedrooms, including... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Not a bad place to stay, could do with a lick of paint and some maintenance around the bedrooms and hallways though. 20 mins walk to Twickenham so ideally situated if you want to go and watch some rugby, and plenty of pubs en route too. I personally would not eat there again, the staff were not over exciting when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a visit to the rugby at Twickenham and were really impressed. The staff were all very helpful and efficient - it was a really warm welcome (despite the fact that it was really busy with the Rugby crowd) The bar had loads of character and was modern but with plenty of charm. The rooms had everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I must have stayed at this hotel 6 times on business. I like older characterful hotels with grander rooms and this fits the bill form. Good size rooms, good shower, friendly service, parking can be a little tight as it is a busy hotel/restaurant. Breakfast is very nice. East walking distance along the Thames and into Twickenham centre so you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question