We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Twickenham B&Bs / inns

The Alexander Pope

3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Cross Deep, Twickenham TW1 4RB, England (Formerly Popes Grotto)
Hotel amenities
The Alexander Pope
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Alexander Pope to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 5 Twickenham B&B and Inns
A recent review
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    78
    30
    26
    4
See reviews for
28
66
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

This hotel would be great value outside London but in London its amazing , great service, super modern clean room and lovely food, im here for business but it would be super for a short london break, i cant recommend this hotel highly enough

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Extremely poor!! I will never return. There was nobody at the check-in desk, I had to flag a waiter down who appeared to be doing everything....The family room that we booked was dirty, old, worn-out and needed gutting. I was not going to allow my children to have a bath there as the tiles were cracked, missing and dirty. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexanderpope H, General Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment upon your recent stay with us. I was very saddened to learn of your experience and extremely sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I shall of course be looking into the areas you mentioned. The hotel is currently undertaking a re modelling of all of the bedrooms, including... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Not a bad place to stay, could do with a lick of paint and some maintenance around the bedrooms and hallways though. 20 mins walk to Twickenham so ideally situated if you want to go and watch some rugby, and plenty of pubs en route too. I personally would not eat there again, the staff were not over exciting when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a visit to the rugby at Twickenham and were really impressed. The staff were all very helpful and efficient - it was a really warm welcome (despite the fact that it was really busy with the Rugby crowd) The bar had loads of character and was modern but with plenty of charm. The rooms had everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I must have stayed at this hotel 6 times on business. I like older characterful hotels with grander rooms and this fits the bill form. Good size rooms, good shower, friendly service, parking can be a little tight as it is a busy hotel/restaurant. Breakfast is very nice. East walking distance along the Thames and into Twickenham centre so you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Having stayed here before over rugby weekends I decided to stay whilst working in the area. The hotel is comfortable and friendly, my room was big and generally well presented but it was ashame the carpet wasn't cleaned and had what looked like a large coffee stain across it. I had dinner in the restaurant with a colleague which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stayed here two years ago and because we enjoyed it booked again. What a mistake. We asked for a quiet room, the room we got backed onto the lift and was really dirty, so much so that I didn't want to touch the light switch. We called the receptionist who moved us to a front facing room. This was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bedwas, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Just come back from a weekend at this hotel easy to find, five min walk from centre of Twickenham 15 min walk from Stadium . Went up for the Ruby and to go into London to see Poppy's at the Tower of London. Staff very friendly actually let us leave our car there when we went into London for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

After a mess up with a booking in Esher and no where to stay due to a conference in the area, I came across The Alexander Pope. From the moment I arrived the stay was wonderful - great room, lovely bar/restaurant area. Great Fish & Chips ... and a really lovely breakfast in the morning. Can't recommend place enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

The rooms we had were large and comfortable. They were equipped with a large tele and wifi which is pretty much essential these days. We slept well. The breakfast could have been better. The toaster was slightly defective. The porridge was good though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexanderpope H, General Manager at The Alexander Pope, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us . I'm pleased that you enjoyed your visit and I will ensure that the Toaster is inspected for any defect! We hope to see you again soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Alexander Pope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander Pope

Address: Cross Deep, Twickenham TW1 4RB, England (Formerly Popes Grotto)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Twickenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Alexander Pope 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Alexander Pope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexander Pope Hotel Twickenham
The Alexander Pope Twickenham, United Kingdom

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay