We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle Haydock

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Penny Lane, Haydock WA11 9SG, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thistle Haydock
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thistle Haydock
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    128
    59
    22
    12
See reviews for
65
121
18
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (408)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (112)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here recently and was fairly unimpressed. The room hadn't been cleaned properly from the last occupants and had urine on the toilet seat. This still hadn't been cleaned on the second day of my stay and I had to ask for it to be cleaned. The service in the restaurant is slow and the food is pretty mediocre.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well what can I say....... My new husband and I had been looking forward to our big day for 12 months, our intial meeting with our wedding coordinator Kathy was just the beginning of a wonderful friendship! We went through our hopes and dreams for the day in fine detail, never expecting that this would be made into an absolute... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was immaculate and the staff very helpful. Breakfast matre de Val very good! Reception first class thumbs up Sarah! Restaurant absolutely fine, drinks quiet pricey. Definitely return soon!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our wedding at the hotel on 27th March and it was perfect! The wedding Co ordinator Kath was brilliant and sorted everything for me on the day. The master of ceremonies Lee also made sure we were happy with everything and never without a drink!! I can honestly say I would definitely recommend the venue and would do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Simply put very good hotel to stay, nice clean rooms with clean bathrooms. The shower was the best as it can get, relieves you of all the tiredness of the day. Not to mention the ambience of the place and the friendly reception with very secure parking..Only down side was that there weren't any options on the tele for kids..... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam C, Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review

Bhoodham, Thanks for your great review and feedback regarding channels on TV for kids. I completely agree with you and I will ensure that we make them available when we upgrade our TV systems in the next few weeks. Adam More 

Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly the good points are great parking, lovely breakfast and very helpful staff. Unfortunately there was a wedding at the hotel on Easter Sunday and as a consequence the music in the courtyard was that loud even our television could not drown out the noise. You might expect this on a Saturday but not on Easter Sunday and had we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam C, Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review

Dear Sperrin63, I'm so sorry that you didn't have a perfect experience when staying with us this Easter. I would like to personally apologise to you but I am struggling to fine you on our system. Please feel free to get in touch with me at the hotel if you wish to discuss your stay further. Kind Regards Adam Condron More 

Leigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked the hotel for our Daughters wedding. The staff were fabulous ,looked after us from start to finish. We had the Marquee , outside, as there was about 150 Guests. The food was served to everyone at the same time,everybody said how wonderfull the staff were,very helpfull in all respects. Great venue, book it , you will not be disappointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam C, Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review

It's always an honour to get a positive review from the father of the bride. I'm sure that you wanted everything to run perfectly for your daughters special day and I'm so proud that we didn't let you down. Not only that but we were able to impress you so much you took to the internet to recommend us. Thank... More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yet another hunt for a hotel in the north west and this time I wasn't disappointed. The reception is contemporary and pleasant. Very easy secure car parking. It looks like a good quality hotel from the outside. Your first impression is this looks good and it is. My room was large and comfortable, his and her sinks in the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam C, Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review

Gwizard, Its always nice to get a positive review from someone that uses Hotels quite a bit, Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and thanks for being understanding about the wait for your meal. Adam More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We currently got married here at this hotel on 7th March 2015. We had the most perfect day. I would totally highly recommend this Venue for weddings as the way we were looked after from when we first initially booked the wedding to even recently after the big day was outstanding. Kathy Kennedy who has looked after hundreds maybe even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam C, Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review

Aimee, Kathy gets so many compliments from Brides but it never goes to her head, She really does love looking after them and I am so pleased that she has helped to make your day special. Peter will love that he has got a mention too so thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked our wedding ceremony and wedding breakfast at the Thistle Hotel Haydock, Ceri (our co-ordinator) was absolutely fantastic, Ceri is a lovely lady which made the whole experience delightful, she was very accommodating and supportive to us on last minute changes due to family illness on my side. The whole experience was beautiful and ran very smoothly. The wedding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adam C, Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review

Hi Julie, I am so pleased that you had such a lovely wedding day. I'm sure that Ceri will be so proud to hear such lovely compliments and Max has got his first mention on Trip advisor he'll be so chuffed. Thank You Adam More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question