We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull Inn

Hotel website
High Street, Sonning on Thames RG4 6UP, England
Special Offer
TripAdvisor 10% Off
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Bull Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    73
    71
    33
    21
    13
See reviews for
36
85
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (211)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I ate here a few times with both family and friends and couldn't recommend it more! Situated on a popular Thames path, this pub is welcoming, homely and beautifully decorated. As an avid bread lover, I have never ever ever had a bread board as amazing as this one!!!! If you've got the weather, sit outside and enjoy your food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was my favourite restaurant but won't be going back any time soon! 10 of us went for my birthday. We booked a table for 12.30 & left at 3.30 due to the long wait for our meals. The service was dreadful, the meals came out in dribs and drabs and you could tell some of the food had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked the Bull for one nights accommodation as we were visiting friends close by. Didn't realise it was classed as George Clooneys local till I got there. Come on how many times has he been there - once? How many times will he go there - twice? He is building a leisure complex and pool at his own place. Anyway,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just passing and fancied lunch. Hadn't been for years, and had unhappy memories of a jerk chicken dish that was too hot even for my taste But it's changed - and the lunch and main menus provide pretty much something for everyone. We were five, so chicken nachos for the kids, chilli con carne for me, and my wife's favourite,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Booked a table for 8pm for dinner-arrived at 7.55 to get sat down straight away, great! ....but with no menus. 15 minutes later still no menus and no one had even acknowledge us or asked us for a drink so I had to find someone myself and request menus. Starters took 30 minutes to come out and just as long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited a few months ago and whilst the food is really good the service is very slow. I went again yesterday and the food was still good, if a bit overpriced. We sat outside yesterday and quite frankly it's disgusting out there. Piles and piles of leaves, dirty tables and filthy chairs. It desperately needs sweeping and some major... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
essex,uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Family of 6 of us had a late lunch of main meals and deserts. Good choice on menu and excellent choice of wine and alcohol brands. Service was excellent and the pub itself is a beautiful place to be, a medieval but comfy feel to it. Food was just ok, its fresh, but over priced and for the money you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

11 of us attended the Bull last night, out of the 11 we had three fish courses which were like rubber, 3 Chicken dish's which were incredibly salted. We arrived at 7.45pm and finally received our main course at 9.50pm. A young manager who has no idea how to work with the public. After I complaint, I was asked what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a charming hotel with a nice pub attached. The food is good with a good choice of beer. In summer, the garden and terrace are very nice, the staff is friendly. The rooms are pretty small but comfortable. I will certainly come back as it is very close to our Reading office.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBullInnManagement, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to seeing you return to our pub. Regards, The Bull Inn, Management Team. More 

London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Bull after a family funeral, so not the fun weekend most of you are planning. But the Bull was a good place to recuperate. We had 3 rooms, all in the original old pub. They were all stylishly but not blandly decorated with iron bed-heads and interesting fabrics. One, George, was very tiny - fine for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBullManager001, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully next time our incredible menus can grab your fancy. Regards, The Bull Inn, Management Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning on Thames
0.2 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#2 of 2 in Sonning on Thames
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sonning on Thames
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
3.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Forbury Hotel
The Forbury Hotel
#1 of 33 in Reading
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay