We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
High Street, Sonning on Thames RG4 6UP, England
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Bull Inn
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    57
    29
    16
    12
See reviews for
29
72
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

On our arrival we were greeted by a charming young man who made us feel very welcome and had exactly the right approach. We discovered over dinner that it was only his third day at the pub! We were showed to our room which was extremely disappointing the room was tired and not clean with a filthy rug at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeteBullInn01, Ed - Assitant Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your time taken to write a detailed report of your stay with us. As you noted in your review I am very new to the team and am still trying to get a hand on how we operate here and how to move forward. I am very sorry that your starters took longer than usual... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
57 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Celebrated friend's birthday here recently. I wasn't 100% so found nothing much on the menu that I really fancied - too many sauces/ mushroom/cream based for me. That said we enjoyed the Greek mezze starter- pleasant selection. My friend did well with the olive doggy bag! For mains we had calves liver (be very hungry) and the teriyaki salmon. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeteBullInn01, Ed - Assistant Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your second review of our restaurant! I personally hope you are back to feeling 100% again and that on your next visit we can find something new for you to try. I would love to discuss your visit and our menu with you personally when you are free. Please email me at Bullinn@fullers.co.uk and mark... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited The Bull for much with my girlfriend today after walking the Thames path with the dog. We decided to share scallops,potted duck and mussels with clams. Perfect scallops, and tasty duck but the highlight for me were the mussels. Cooked with cream and white wine and accompanied with tender shredded ham hock and sweetcorn, just divine as Sarah said!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeteBullInn01, Ed - Assistant Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to review of our restaurant and bar. I'm so glad you enjoyed your lunch with us, the muscles are a favourite of mine too! Next time you are in I'd recommend trying our new Teriyaki Salmon. I hope to see you both in the near future More 

Enfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After canoeing for two days we stopped of at sonning lock parked up the canoe . And walked up the road it is and amazing pub . Food and good beer . Nestled away from the river if you are canoeing it one of the easy places to get to. We went there on a Sunday afternoon it was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeteBullInn01, Ed - Assistant Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your continued support of our collection of pub! I am personally very glad you enjoyed your visit and I hope the trip went well the rest of the way down stream. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with my fiancé. We stayed in the St Andrews room - a really good room. Good size, quiet and well equipped. Very good walk in shower as well. Helpful, welcoming staff. Very good breakfast. Located very close to the river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeteBullInn01, Ed - Assistant Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of us. I'm so very pleased that you decided to return to our hotel and stay with us for a second time. We all hope to see you over the summer for Pimms and Real Ales in our garden. More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Bull in last weekend. We didnt realise at the time that there was a Tom Jones tribute act that evening, (but the manageress did phone me as soon as I had booked to let us know in case we wanted to amend the date). We arrived in the afternoon and Millie was very helpful showed us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeteBullInn01, Ed - Assistant Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to write a detailed review on your visit, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I do look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love it! I have stayed here on and off over the years and it is truly the quintessential English Pub. The food is fabulous and the menu is prefect. The free breakfast is fabulous. The rooms are a bit tired but OK. The wifi is decent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeteBullInn01, Ed - Assistant Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your continued support of our Hotel, Bar & Restaurant. I have personally taken on board your comments and be rest assured I am doing everything possible to keep our rooms up to date. I do hope to see you soon and please do introduce yourself to me personally on your next visit. More 

England
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
80 hotel reviews
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Beautiful quintessential english pub full of character food good but expensive , lunch menu good with pulled pork roll very tasty but at £8.95 should be especially as pub does not serve chips ! Service bit up and down but always with a smile

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PeteBullInn01, Ed - Assistant Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review of our restaurant. We have recently reviewed our menu and have made many changes. I look forward to seeing you in the near future. More 

Porto-Vecchio, Corse, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Had lunch a few days ago and overall our party was disappointed. One of the meals was overcooked and very bland, the others were average. Having been to the Bull many times over the last 40 years or so we were really looking forward to our lunch. Whilst I can understand that anyone can get it wrong at times, it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PeteBullInn01, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience at the Bull. Since reading your review, we have had a painter in to repaint and touch up the areas that needed it. Regarding the food I apologies that it wasn’t up to the standard you were looking for, I would like to discuss the matter further with you... More 

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

After hearing fantastic things from friends, I was excited to be taken out for dinner at The Bull Inn. While the pub is very quirky and has a nice atmosphere, i feel like it is totally overrated. The food is completely over priced - the menu appears to be above 'pub-food' standard but when it arrived the portions were small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question