We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull Inn

4.0 of 5 High Street, Sonning on Thames RG4 6UP, England
Hotel website
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Bull Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Bull Inn
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    55
    28
    15
    12
See reviews for
29
67
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (176)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
England
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
80 hotel reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful quintessential english pub full of character food good but expensive , lunch menu good with pulled pork roll very tasty but at £8.95 should be especially as pub does not serve chips ! Service bit up and down but always with a smile

Was this review helpful? Yes
Porto-Vecchio, Corse, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had lunch a few days ago and overall our party was disappointed. One of the meals was overcooked and very bland, the others were average. Having been to the Bull many times over the last 40 years or so we were really looking forward to our lunch. Whilst I can understand that anyone can get it wrong at times, it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeteBullInn01, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience at the Bull. Since reading your review, we have had a painter in to repaint and touch up the areas that needed it. Regarding the food I apologies that it wasn’t up to the standard you were looking for, I would like to discuss the matter further with you... More 

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

After hearing fantastic things from friends, I was excited to be taken out for dinner at The Bull Inn. While the pub is very quirky and has a nice atmosphere, i feel like it is totally overrated. The food is completely over priced - the menu appears to be above 'pub-food' standard but when it arrived the portions were small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Sonning is a picture postcard village a stones throw from Reading. The Bull is a very charming historical pub/restaurant hotel and excellent value for money compared to the town centre hotels. The hotel rooms are up steep stairs and mind your head everywhere if you are over 6 feet tall. Being so close to Reading it can get busy with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeteBullInn01, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Bull and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

The Bull used to be a favourite of my wife and I but after a certain well known celebrity moved into the area the venue has now become an attraction for star seekers which quite frankly has ruined any charm it once had. Although takings are obviously up the pub now merely consists of one long queue to be served... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PeteBullInn01, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

It is true that we have had a very busy period over Christmas and new year, but this has been growing for the last 18 years, each year. Hopefully this shows that we are doing something right, not just because a certain person has moved into the village. I hope you will return and visit us and some stage, maybe... More 

Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015 via mobile

Menu was good and staff very polite. Downsides - three of us squashed onto a table for two, tables so tightly packed together couldn't move. We were also subjected to the drunken ramblings of an ex employee who managed to get himself and his friends sat inside the dining room even though they were clearly not eating. It wasn't pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Went to the Bull for Christmas Day Lunch, excellent! The staff were very friendly, the food was super, no modern cuisine here, a typically English meal and plenty of it. Many thanks we will be back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I popped here today for an impromptu lunch... Food, service, ambience, character, gorgeous all of it... My new regular haunt! Definitely will return and sorry that this place has not been on my radar during my workplace move to lovely Sonning. Thank you x

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Slough
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

My partner and I came across this pub yesterday, so gorgeous with all the Christmas decorations. We were very lucky to get a table as it was packed . A light lunch is what we wanted and decided to go different and choose the cheese board & crackers from the pudding menu. A delicious board of cheeses, crackers & fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This pub is a proper characterful pub and very nice for a drink. We stayed overnight and it was fine for a night but I personally think I wouldn't stay for a longer break. The room was perfectly clean but it was fairly small with very little storage space and lacked things such as a hairdryer. The bed was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: High Street, Sonning on Thames RG4 6UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning on Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Sonning On Thames
The Bull Inn Sonning On Thames, Berkshire

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay