We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull Inn

Hotel website
High Street, Sonning on Thames RG4 6UP, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Bull Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    71
    65
    31
    18
    12
See reviews for
30
80
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Beautiful Character Hotel and Restaurant in picturesque village. Plenty of outside eating in courtyard and large garden. Lovely relaxed atmosphere Delicious food and friendly staff. Would strongly recommend and book if possible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location and picturesque pub, all low ceilings and black beams, however my room, the Oxford room, or something was disappointing in size and location. It was small and overlooking the car park outside seating for pub, so lots of noise and also next to the fire exit door that stays open all the time for 24 hour access to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeteBullInn01, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for the feedback, we are sorry you were disappointed with your room. Unfortunately as we are a listed building we are unable to change the size of the room, however we are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience so I will pass your comments on to the team. We're glad you enjoyed most of... More 

Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When cruising up Thames always go to the Bull because food and service are good, but not tonight. Ordered beef chili nachos and meat sizzler. After 40 mins asked when my starter was coming, waiter did not return. After ten minutes another waiter turned up with my sizzler, took it but pointed out starter had never arrived. original waiter came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeteBullInn01, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hi Simon, Thank you for your review, firstly we are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit, unfortunately we had an unusually busy evening and due to unforeseeable circumstances it got the better of us. We are always trying to work on improving staff/management training and techniques of dealing with complaints, so your feedback will be taken on board... More 

Woburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I liked the Bull. The staff are really lovely, the food was excellent, the atmosphere was great and Sonning is a nice place to wander around. However, the room, though full of character does suffer from very small items of furniture meaning that everything was balanced on the edge and the bathroom is certainly made for dwarves. The shower was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeteBullInn01, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and we're glad you enjoyed most of your stay with us! We're sorry you were disturbed by the guests next door but unfortunately there isn't a whole lot we can do about the building, the door frames or the bathrooms, as we are a listed building. It may be a possibility to soften the closing of... More 

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very difficult to find, given the road system in operation. Limited parking would be an understatement. Basic rooms, even though we went for a “superior” it was certainly NOT as we expected. Best entry to first floor rooms is via the fire escape, as you have to be fairly fit and agile to negotiate the very steep internal stairs between... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeteBullInn01, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback and we're happy you enjoyed most of yor stay with us! We're sorry you were disappointed with your room, the steep and admittedly slightly wonkey stairs unfornunately come along with the building being 630 years old and listed, which is why we allow use of the fire escape. We're glad you enjoyed your meals though so... More 

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We dropped in one midweek evening for a drink and then decided to stay for dinner. Luckily for us, there was a table in the back bar, which allows dogs, so we grabbed the last table and settled in. The wine - a nice, well-priced Shiraz - arrived swiftly, but there was a long wait for the food. When it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PeteBullInn01, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your meal with us! The Lamb is one of our favourites too! We are sorry about the delay in the food however as you said we we were exceptionally busy that evening. Hopefully we will see you again soon! More 

Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Stopped here with my girlfriend one summers evening for a pint and bite to eat. Amazing location - secluded/tucked away. I had a couple of ales and the Chilli Con Carne - very tasty! The staff were very friendly and assisted with meal and drinks choices. We returned again a week later and sat outside for a drink and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PeteBullInn01, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

We're glad you had a good time and thanks for the review! More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

No matter how I tell myself the food was good the room/stay is just a nightmare. We had a standard room which was right above the bar and you hear everything and I mean everything. However at 1:20am I had enough and went down to find the noise was coming from 3 members of staff, told them to shut up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PeteBullInn01, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we're sorry you we're disappointed by your stay! We're sorry about the noise from the bar however it was a bank holliday weekend so unfortunately guests did remain in the bar longer than usual which also meant the staff had to work later to close down, however we have passed your comments on to... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 via mobile

We have visited the Bull many times usually for drinks but sometimes a meal. We visited on Friday evening for dinner and I think it's the last time we will have a meal there. I had called in the morning and reserved a table, as I hadn't received a confirmation email when I booked on their website. However when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PeteBullInn01, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

First of all thank you for the feedback and I'm sorry about the mix up with the table! We rarely lose reservations but unfortunately sometimes it does happen. It was a very busy night so we did our best to find you a table but I'm sorry it wasn't to your satisfaction. We are currently in the process of finalising... More 

London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

Our party of 7 had an excellent lunch. Food was of very good quality, and the staff were efficient and attentive. The meals all arrived in good time, which is important on a walk, when a long delay over lunch is really frustrating. I initially gulped at £16 for a steak pie, but what arrived was well worth the price,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeteBullInn01, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback! Hopefully if you're ever walking past again you can stop in for another pie! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay