We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Bray on Thames hotels

Monkey Island Hotel

Bray on Thames SL6 2EE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Monkey Island Hotel to your Saves list
Monkey Island Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
65%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Bray on Thames
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Klake4
  • Overview
  • Reviews (290)
  • Photos (82)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (61)
  • More
true
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    97
    52
    32
    21
See reviews for
53
118
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for one night to see if would be nice as a wedding venue. We were lucky to see a wedding happening during our stay. The room we had was spacious, clean and stylish. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The free roaming peacocks were the best part, they are so beautiful. We ate dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved this hotel. Wonderful hotel on an island, surrounded by the Thames. Had a good room overlooking the garden and the river. Had a meal in the restaurant which was very good. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly. We did not have breakfast as we were out to lunch later. It is about 1 mile from the centre of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just returned from a one night stay at this hotel. We booked this hotel because we had booked a meal at a nearby restaurant. We payed £94 for one night and based purely on the accommodation this would seem a little expensive...however the location is beautiful which makes up for the poor bedrooms. We stayed in room 9 which had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our great customer service began before we even arrived. Friendly and helpful service, we received a warm welcome and out bags were looked after for us (as we arrived way before check in). The room was also much better than I had expected from reading reviews here. It was perfectly romantic. The balcony was lovely to sit and watch the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic place, beautiful grounds, exceptional wedding service and food. Completely lost sight of the room quality. Dirty, grubby and run down. Carpets need cleaning, damp and poor window fittings including carpets and blinds. Wardrobe knob came off in our hands!. New mattresses also required.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We attended a wedding here and stayed overnight. Our room was on the ground floor, with no window dressing other than roller blinds. Therefore, you had to pull these down to get changed and the lighting in the room was not good. The bedroom was fine, but the bathroom was small and a bit grubby. The toilet seat fittings were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David M, General Manager at Monkey Island Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wings 712 Thank you for your recent comments following your stay at Monkey Island. I am sorry you found your bedroom to be below standard particularly with regards to some of the cleanliness and maintenance issues. Specifically, we are looking to change the blinds in the bedrooms this Winter to prevent the problem you had and carry out some... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is much that is good about Monkey Island. Great location (though pity about the M4 close by), helpful staff and great value (£145 for dinner, bed and breakfast for two). But it needs some more investment and better taste, both inside and in the gardens. We had quite a nice room with a balcony overlooking the river, but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David M, General Manager at Monkey Island Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seymour F Thank you for your recent comments following your visit to Monkey Island. With regards to the condition of your bedroom, we will be undergoing some refurbishment works this Winter to put right some of the issues you highlighted. The large tree that came down last week has also now been removed from the area. On a more... More

Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked for special offer of a nights stay, evening meal and breakfast and was pleased with all aspects. The room was comfortable, nicely furnished, and with a balcony overlooking the Thames. Some areas of the hotel complex are showing signs of age and wear but do not detract from the overall ambiance of the building and grounds. We enjoyed our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 1 night as we were dining at The Fat Duck locally for my husbands Birthday .For a deluxe room it was poor. Damp in the bathroom, toilet brush all rusty, no water, glasses or cups , no magazines, no flannels, no conditioner, small room, horrible mattress which gave me a frozen neck and I had to go and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service and hospitality shown and actioned by the staff at Monkey Island Hotel was absolutely outstanding. When I advised them that we were vegetarian, they were very prompt in providing a meal to suit our dietary requirements. There was no hesitation on their part in providing the absolute best service and wonderful food. Nothing was too much trouble at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David M, General Manager at Monkey Island Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WalvinderS Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit to Monkey island whilst attending a friend's wedding. I am delighted we catered for your requirements so professionally and will ensure your comments are passed onto the relevant staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to Monkey Island in the future Regards DAVID M More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Monkey Island Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Monkey Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Island Hotel

Address: Bray on Thames SL6 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Bray on Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Monkey Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Island Maidenhead
Monkey Island Hotel Bray On Thames, England, UK

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Near Monkey Island Hotel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Number of rooms
26

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Monkey Island Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer