We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Barnsley

Stairfoot Roundabout, Doncaster Rd, Barnsley S70 3PT, England
Travelodge Barnsley
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    21
    14
    9
See reviews for
17
20
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where to start!!! First room, smelt awful of damp, second room, smelt awful of damp, third time lucky, room didn't smell of damp. Room was very run down, filthy walls, skirting boards falling off walls, shower was temperamental, cold tap spat everywhere, tiles falling off wall, mould around edge of bath. Noise from other guests, 1st night, guests next door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Barnsley, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We know the importance of offering a clean and comfortable room and we are sorry that on this occasion we did not deliver our usual high standards. We’re also really sorry to learn you were disturbed by other customers during your stay. We ask customers to be courteous to other guests during their stay... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night ,we found the Hotel very easy ,It was clean but now showing signs of wear and tear and would be better with air conditioning although it was April and still chilly we were hot in our room so it would be very hot in the hot weather .

Was this review helpful? Yes
sutton coldfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I expected this hotel to be awkward to find, but as soon as I turned off the main road it was right in front of me. Some days there was plenty of parking, other days I used the Franky & Benny's spacious car park right opposite. All reception and other staff were very friendly and helpful. I could not get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This travel lodge was not one of the new refurbished hotels but it was clean and very well presented the staff were friendly and I will be using this travel lodge on my next visit. It is convenient for M1

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

stayed at this travelodge January last year and found it excellent for using as a base for touring that particular part of Yorkshire i.e. Sheffield, Wakefield and Barnsley itself a good shopping centre also cheap car park during the week and free at weekends and bank holidays, It is based on the outskirts in South East Barnsley and is so... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 via mobile

its warm...clean.....and bed was more than ok for 2 Nights....bathroom and sleeping room tidy.......Parking just in Front of lodge.....Access to Bus to go to Center is 150 m......calm at Night.....just across the Street is a diner thats worth visiting too.......

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

This is one of the older smaller Travelodges, and can be difficult to find if you don't know the Barnsley area. However it is worth the effort. Although the Travelodge Website states the hotel hasn't been modernised - my room had. The new beds are terrific, firm yet comfortable. Bathroom fittings replaced, and everything clean. The excellent receptionist let me... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We booked the family room,1 double bed and 2 single beds in our party consisted of 3 adult females and an 8 year old boy, plenty of room for our cases and clothes the room was spotless and the towels were soft and clean the beds were probably the best I have slept in away from home. There are shops... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Friendly staff, that explained all the extra's such as late check in and wifi. The room was large, clean and the beds were comfy. Coffee and tea provided and a large kettle ( not one of those small kettles that you can boil one cup at a time) no biscuits were provided, so bring your own if you want to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

The smell of dirty laundry is the welcome from Travellodge Barnsley, the soiled laundry is stored at the base of the main staircase and allowed to perculate through the lodge. At 6.30am on a Sunday morning the laundry is wheeled across the carpark and loaded onto a lorry, morning!! The shower is either scalding hot or freezing cold. If you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question