We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Barnsley

Stairfoot Roundabout, Doncaster Rd, Barnsley S70 3PT, England
Travelodge Barnsley
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    14
    21
    14
    10
See reviews for
21
22
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Travelodge Barsnley Stayed overnight last week (end of June) Clean and basic, no problems with anything. Bath/shower/towels all good Kettle with coffee and tea making facilities. Lovely helpful staff. Replenished my tea and coffee We took our own fan as we knew there wouldn't be any air con. 2 singles and a large bed. We travelled as a family, 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's not the best of Travelodge's, but the staff were polite and welcoming. The room was a good size, just a shame it got way too warm late evening and overnight. The windows don't open much due to safety and security, so it just got very warm in the room. Wasn't much of a problem because we just kicked off... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow all the reviews I read before booking this lodge was below average and off putting but once again most of the reviews proved pathetic the rooms were absolutely great for the price you pay, the beds were comfy the staff were friendly and more than helpful the rooms were very clean and for the price you pay what more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was clean & tidy, really comfortable bed, asked for extra pillows they were brought to our room within 10 mins.topped up coffee etc. everyday.. very friendly staff couldn't do enough for us. many thanks to Alison you were brilliant & very patient, your a credit to travel lodge,the other staff we met were great too. would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ipswich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

The travel lodge in Barnsley ... Never again would I stay there very very basic dec so old and tied no extra teas coffee etc available not toiletries in bathroom broken tiles dirty shower head, plastic chair to sit on with a chip out off it. Builders tea mugs it smelt funny in the hotel like stale cigarettes dirty towels... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Barnsley, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are truly sorry to learn you did not enjoy your stay. We are currently undergoing a full refurbishment program and we can confirm that this hotel is due a fresh new look in future. We would like to be able to help solve the issues you had, please can you use the ‘contact us’... More 

Travelers are raving about these Barnsley hotels

Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

lovely quite location with friendly staff and superfast WI FI.excellent value for money. ideal location for moving around the area,the location was so quite you could think you were in the country, parking was excelent

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Where to start!!! First room, smelt awful of damp, second room, smelt awful of damp, third time lucky, room didn't smell of damp. Room was very run down, filthy walls, skirting boards falling off walls, shower was temperamental, cold tap spat everywhere, tiles falling off wall, mould around edge of bath. Noise from other guests, 1st night, guests next door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Barnsley, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We know the importance of offering a clean and comfortable room and we are sorry that on this occasion we did not deliver our usual high standards. We’re also really sorry to learn you were disturbed by other customers during your stay. We ask customers to be courteous to other guests during their stay... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We stayed one night ,we found the Hotel very easy ,It was clean but now showing signs of wear and tear and would be better with air conditioning although it was April and still chilly we were hot in our room so it would be very hot in the hot weather .

Was this review helpful? Yes
sutton coldfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

I expected this hotel to be awkward to find, but as soon as I turned off the main road it was right in front of me. Some days there was plenty of parking, other days I used the Franky & Benny's spacious car park right opposite. All reception and other staff were very friendly and helpful. I could not get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

This travel lodge was not one of the new refurbished hotels but it was clean and very well presented the staff were friendly and I will be using this travel lodge on my next visit. It is convenient for M1

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities