We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Barnsley

Stairfoot Roundabout, Doncaster Rd, Barnsley S70 3PT, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Barnsley
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    14
    22
    15
    10
See reviews for
23
24
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

had another visit to this hotel and was looked after extremely well by the staff the room was fresh and clean with very comfy beds, In a very quiiet location and was ideal for visiting my family who live close by,

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You have to pay for wi fi. But.... if travelling with family. Only two devices can be used. Once registered that's it only those can be used.Also ask for hairdryer before you shower. Not provided in room!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Karen from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Barnsley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the Wifi charge.Unlike some of our competitors, we charge a small Wifi fee instead of adding this onto our room rates. This gives our customers the choice on whether they would like to pay extra for this service. Your feedback is invaluable and we do... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on another holiday in Yorkshire. We then went on to visit a relative and we had a 2 night stay in the travelodge. We had a family room which had a double bed and 2 single beds. Was plenty of room. Our room was clean and plenty of towels. Hotel does need a bit upgrading but was perfect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Travelodge Barnsley, never in a million years will I stay at this place again. Weather was hot , but could not open window wider than about an inch. Double bed was small, uncomfortable and pillows were like lumpy concret. Thank god i only booked 1 night, do not think i could have stayed any longer !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Barnsley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that the room temperature spoiled your stay with us. We strive to make our customers as comfortable as possible and we would like to apologise if on this occasion we were not able to offer you a comfortable night’s sleep. Feedback is invaluable and we thank you for taking... More 

Travelers are raving about these Barnsley hotels

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Travelodge Barsnley Stayed overnight last week (end of June) Clean and basic, no problems with anything. Bath/shower/towels all good Kettle with coffee and tea making facilities. Lovely helpful staff. Replenished my tea and coffee We took our own fan as we knew there wouldn't be any air con. 2 singles and a large bed. We travelled as a family, 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

It's not the best of Travelodge's, but the staff were polite and welcoming. The room was a good size, just a shame it got way too warm late evening and overnight. The windows don't open much due to safety and security, so it just got very warm in the room. Wasn't much of a problem because we just kicked off... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Wow all the reviews I read before booking this lodge was below average and off putting but once again most of the reviews proved pathetic the rooms were absolutely great for the price you pay, the beds were comfy the staff were friendly and more than helpful the rooms were very clean and for the price you pay what more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Room was clean & tidy, really comfortable bed, asked for extra pillows they were brought to our room within 10 mins.topped up coffee etc. everyday.. very friendly staff couldn't do enough for us. many thanks to Alison you were brilliant & very patient, your a credit to travel lodge,the other staff we met were great too. would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ipswich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

The travel lodge in Barnsley ... Never again would I stay there very very basic dec so old and tied no extra teas coffee etc available not toiletries in bathroom broken tiles dirty shower head, plastic chair to sit on with a chip out off it. Builders tea mugs it smelt funny in the hotel like stale cigarettes dirty towels... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Barnsley, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are truly sorry to learn you did not enjoy your stay. We are currently undergoing a full refurbishment program and we can confirm that this hotel is due a fresh new look in future. We would like to be able to help solve the issues you had, please can you use the ‘contact us’... More 

Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

lovely quite location with friendly staff and superfast WI FI.excellent value for money. ideal location for moving around the area,the location was so quite you could think you were in the country, parking was excelent

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
3.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Barnsley
Ramada Encore Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#1 of 3 in Dodworth
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley (Dearne Valley) Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
6.9 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#1 of 58 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay