We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Hotel Stockport

67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Hotel amenities
Britannia Hotel Stockport
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Stockport
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    125
    192
    130
    430
See reviews for
150
278
63
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (901)
  • Mar-May only
    (202)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (242)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (250)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (207)
All months
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here with my wife on a National Holiday 3 night stay from 16 April. After reading the reviews on this site we were very apprehensive about our stay. However we were pleasantly surprised at the hotel overall. Yes the hotel is basic and probably needs an update but we found the bedroom clean tidy and comfortable. Nice clean white... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for a business trip. The reviews seemed awful but my double room cost just £39 plus £7 for breakfast. Cheap and affordable and it was clean. The shower worked really well with a strong jet of water. The bed was fine - I've had worse in far more expensive hotels. The breakfast was more than adequate. Actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Stockport Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be good value. I look... More 

Duque de Caxias, RJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is old but not even close to be pretty or something like this. The carpet was dirty, the towels were stained, and the sheets with dust. They were really kind at the reception but it is a really poor hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Stockport Hotel. I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with cleanliness of your room. The Linen for our hotel is supplied by an industry leader and is normally of a very high standard but i am sorry to hear that the linen you were... More 

Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night as an overnight airport stay, was more like a refugee site rather than hotel, our room was filthy, like it was never cleaned, stains on the sheet, holes in the carpet, floor coming up in the bathroom The food we had at tea was just frozen/warmed up. Got woke up at 2:30am from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David H, Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Stockport Hotel. I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with cleanliness of your room, and I have passed your comments on to my Head Housekeeper to ensure that this does not happen again. I do wish that you had returned to our reception to... More 

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed as. Base for wedding , the reception was ok, the Happy Hour, a pleasant surprise , the Breakfast was better than expected! The staff we dealt with were polite ,not as rude as some comments ! That is the positives from our 2day stay!! The room (an upgrade to family room) we are pretty easy going , theTV... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lagos, Nigeria
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Old hotel with disgruntled staff and little concept of service. With the exception of price there weren't too many positives. The hotel was a bit old and showed a bit of wear and tear. The decor wasn't anything to write home about and the ancient TVs in the room kind of set the tone. Want able to have breakfast because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel as a stop to our visit to Peak District being budget friendly and we didn't intended to stay long there. However, it wasn't very close to our destination. The rooms were very small. The double bed cannot accomodate two. There was a single lift which belongs to 18th century i suppose. The Wifi was pathetic. Didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Currently staying here for 2 nights to see my son nearby and what can I say, I was here a year ago and it was ok for a cheap room but it seems they haven't cleaned anything since then, the place is falling apart and the staff do not care, its filthy and the rooms are noisy, the beer also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David H, Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Stockport Hotel. I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with cleanliness of your room, and I have passed your comments on to my Head Housekeeper to ensure that this does not happen again. I do wish that you had returned to our reception to... More 

Leeds (Kent), United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checked in and given keys on a massive bit of plastic and navigated a rabbit warren to my room (no directions from receptionist) Arrived at room 139 to find the bathroom floor wet, after flushing the toilet I found out why. Return to reception to inform and when I asked for another room it was like asking for a Ferrari.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
David H, Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Stockport Hotel. I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with cleanliness of your room, and I have passed your comments on to my Head Housekeeper to ensure that this does not happen again. I do wish that you had returned to our reception to... More 

Wallsend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for four days as part of a National Holidays Tour. Was expecting it to be a dump judging from previous reviews on this site. Was pleasantly surprised to find a friendly welcoming hotel which was spotlessly clean and tidy. Room had obviously recently been redecorated and was immaculate but for some strange reason the totally threadbare carpet had not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David H, Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Stockport Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for bringing to our attention the worn... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

187 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (68)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question