We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Castle Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
New Park Street, Devizes SN10 1DS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Castle Hotel
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    42
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
35
2
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Attractive exterior. Friendly staff. Free wifi which works. Small but adequate bedroom. Rather undistinguished breakfast - but again friendly staff. Pay and disply car park across road (free overnight 6pm-8am).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed overnight tonight break our journey. The back room we stayed in was quiet and comfortable but nothing out of the ordinary. But everything else about this hotel was. The reception was friendly, the staff were friendly and the restaurant was very good.. We searched the town for somewhere special to eat and decided we might as well eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Les Thank you for your fabulous review of the Castle Hotel. I'm so pleased that you found our team to be so friendly, they'll be delighted to get such great feedback. We certainly hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More 

Weymouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have had several really excellent meals here over the past few weeks. The food is cooked to perfection and the ingredients good quality. The staff are friendly and attentive. My only small comment is that the bar is quite cold and door to kitchen very noisy. however, we will definitely be back again as the food definitely compensates.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Larkel Thank you for your by kind words regarding the Castle Hotel. I'm delighted that you have enjoyed a number of visits to our restaurant. Regarding the squeaky door, it has been fixed as of my last visit! Apologies that it hadn't been done sooner, it was indeed quite annoying! Thanks again for your continued custom and for your... More 

Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night on business. Traditional style coaching inn, with bar and restaurant in the centre of Devizes. Lucky to get a car space at the hotel otherwise local NCP nearby. Had meals in the bar which were good standard pub style menu meals. All tasty and hot and good friendly service. The room was a little dark and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bernie Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Hotel, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Please accept my apologies for the initial temperature in the room. Following your feedback, we checked the settings on our boiler and have made some adjustments throughout the hotel. Thanks again for your kind words. Gary Morse Owner More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We stayed here for one night so we could have a wander round devizes and then visit stonehenge on the Sunday. We had a lovely room which was nicely decorated. There was plenty of hot water. Room was quiet. Had a lovely drink in front of the fire after a meal in devizes. Staff were very good. We had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Abbey Thank you for staying with us at Castle Hotel and for leaving such a lovely review. I'm delighted that you had such a pleasant stay and enjoyed Devizes. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

I stayed here for 1 night when I went to Devizes for a friends birthday. Good location in the center of town close to the shops and other conveniences. It hotel was clean, basic and just what you need. This is a useful base - it is not a 5* hotel, but perfect for a night in town. Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Naths Thank you for staying at the Castle Hotel and for taking the time to leave such a positive review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More 

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Wonderful hotel in centre of Devizes, clean tidy, good bedrooms, food excellent. Staff very kind and friendly. Whole weekend was enjoyable.Very pleasant hotel situated in a pleasant town. All I expected and more, nothing to complain babout. A useful base for visiting the beautiful county of Wiltshire.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John Thanks for your lovely comments about our hotel and the staff. I'm pleased that you had such a wonderful stay in Wiltshire. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here once before and my experience was better than the second, avoid room 5, the hotel is on a busy busy main road so noise can be an issue if your a light sleeper, rooms are held decorated but bathroom could do with modernising the shower leaked into the kitchen ?? So told to out towels down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Superem Thanks for staying at The Castle Hotel again, I'm sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as your first visit. Please accept my apologies for any frustrations that you encountered. It's genuinely upsetting when we have not impressed our customers and with this in mind I've asked our General Manager, Steve Coombes to contact you personally. Hopefully... More 

Sheffield
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We stayed here B&B for just one night. When we arrived the staff were getting ready for a party being hosted in the hotel that night. We had to wait for a while before someone arrived to check us inn. We asked about eating there and were told it was OK but we'd have to eat quite early or face... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Hotel, I'm glad you had a largely pleasant experience. I'm sorry that the large parties that we were catering for caused you some inconveniences, this is unacceptable to me, so please accept my apologies. I'm glad that our General Manager communicated to you that it may be advisable to... More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

No real complaints about this hotel. Very comfortable bed and all the facilities functioning well. Apparently it has had a major refurbishment recently, this isn't immediately evident - but maybe it has been refurbished with that intent. We stayed over a weekend - the Sunday breakfast was very slow as there was also a large group staying. The poor staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sasparilla Thanks for staying with us and taking time to leave a review. I'm glad that you had a pleasant stay. We have recognised that some areas of the hotel need brightening up and as such have begun a rolling program of redecoration. I'm sorry that breakfast was a little hectic on this occasion. We were adequately staffed for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question