We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Castle Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
New Park Street, Devizes SN10 1DS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Castle Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a great, well run hotel with delicious food and drink, great staff and it provides a good base for exploring the local area. The rooms are comfortable, very clean and spacious. I am very much looking forward to my next stay at the Castle!

Helpful?
Thank jamesrm81
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Castle Hotel is conveniently located a short walk from the centre of the town. Car parking is not available, but there is a car park almost opposite the hotel with pay and display costs during the day. Internally, the dining areas are quite expansive and generally relaxing. The staff are helpful and friendly and, throughout your meal inquire to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice G
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maurice Thank you for your recent stay at the Castle Hotel and for your kind words about our hotel and particularly about the staff. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More 

Andover
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

Always wanted to book their special Christmas break and this year I did with 5 other members of my family. What a treat! After a few false starts with initial booking, a special mention to Helen Durrant for her patience and understanding! Booked in Christmas Eve, breakfast in bed Christmas Day morning, followed by a wonderful family Christmas lunch, staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank genee914
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear genee Thank you so much for your very kind words regarding the Castle Hotel. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we greatly appreciate your very kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

we had one night at The Castle hotel, booked only the day of our visit. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were able to park undercover though they have very limited parking. Lots of stairs to the room which was at the back overlooking the church and graveyard. It was a large room, quiet and comfortable.We had a delicious dinner,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank N_NSydney
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear N N Thanks for visiting the Castle Hotel and for taking time to leave a review. Your kind words give everybody at the hotel a great boost, thank you! I'm delighted that you had a nice stay and were so well looked after by the team. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

This is an 18th century coaching inn situated in the centre of Devizes, it's quite easy to find. I guess most visitors will be arriving by car - the railway closed in 1966 - so car parking is important. Not surprisingly, The Castle can't provide that, unless you have a disabled badge. There is a small triangle of off the... More 

Helpful?
Thank A M
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear A M Thank you so much for your very kind words about your stay at the Castle Hotel. I'm delighted that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay. I will pass your compliments onto the team, it's always a terrific boost to receive such positive feedback, so thank you. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary... More 

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

Had a good lunch here. Very friendly and efficient staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Could not fault the food. Would definitely visit again. The only downside was small toilets and a roller towel to dry hands which I don't think is very hygienic.

Helpful?
Thank JRachel_12
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JRachel Thank you for your very kind words about your visit to the Castle Hotel. We're pleased that you had a great meal and thank you for sharing your experience. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015 via mobile

New chef Craig's passion for food really shines through here. amazing quality food. Fine dining at pub prices. An absolute MUST try! This is a good stay for a 'homely' feel. Warm friendly staff. Free wifi & really comfy beds. Cosy! Had to have 3 courses every night as the menu was irresistible. Although the description of the food does... More 

Helpful?
Thank maria c
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maria Thank you for visiting the Castle Hotel and for leaving such fanatic feedback. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your vist and was so impressed with our new menu. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

Staff were absolutely lovely and welcoming. Bedroom was clean outdated and the bed barely acceptable. Bathroom clean but shower mat discoloured and tiny bar of soap supplied was not pleasant. Why were there ear plugs on top of the toilet? We found out in the middle of the night. It seemed there was machinery running and the roadways constantly noisy.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susiestarbyfar
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear susiestarbyfar Thank you for staying at the Castle Hotel and for your kind words about our team. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with elements of your stay and disturbed by noise from the roadworks. Please be assured that all of the points that you have highlighted have been discussed with the management team, in order that we can... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

Best thing about this hotel is the lovely receptionist/waitress/manager (Jackie I think??) so friendly and chatty and welcoming. Really made you feel at home from the minute you arrive. Hotel is an old coaching inn and has lots of lovely charm and quirky nooks and crannies. If you are looking for a plain, standard, modern hotel you will not enjoy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KaronBeach
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Karon Thank you so much for your very kind words about your stay at the Castle Hotel. The whole team, particularly Helen our GM, really appreciate hearing such positive feedback. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

After a long days driving, my wife and I arrived late and very tired. We hadn't booked in advance but were welcomed by the very friendly hostess. Yes, they had a room and yes, we could still get dinner. Even though the kitchen was closing the chef came up with two excellent dinners. The room was comfortable with a nice... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank allan m
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allan Thank you for your very kind review after your night at the Castle Hotel. I'm so pleased that you found us and that you had adequate, comfortable shelter from the storm! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
0.1 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#4 of 4 in Devizes
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
6.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#5 of 21 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay