We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Castle Hotel

3.0 of 5 New Park Street, Devizes SN10 1DS, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Castle Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Castle Hotel
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    40
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
34
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for 1 night when I went to Devizes for a friends birthday. Good location in the center of town close to the shops and other conveniences. It hotel was clean, basic and just what you need. This is a useful base - it is not a 5* hotel, but perfect for a night in town. Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Naths Thank you for staying at the Castle Hotel and for taking the time to leave such a positive review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More 

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Wonderful hotel in centre of Devizes, clean tidy, good bedrooms, food excellent. Staff very kind and friendly. Whole weekend was enjoyable.Very pleasant hotel situated in a pleasant town. All I expected and more, nothing to complain babout. A useful base for visiting the beautiful county of Wiltshire.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John Thanks for your lovely comments about our hotel and the staff. I'm pleased that you had such a wonderful stay in Wiltshire. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here once before and my experience was better than the second, avoid room 5, the hotel is on a busy busy main road so noise can be an issue if your a light sleeper, rooms are held decorated but bathroom could do with modernising the shower leaked into the kitchen ?? So told to out towels down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Superem Thanks for staying at The Castle Hotel again, I'm sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as your first visit. Please accept my apologies for any frustrations that you encountered. It's genuinely upsetting when we have not impressed our customers and with this in mind I've asked our General Manager, Steve Coombes to contact you personally. Hopefully... More 

Sheffield
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We stayed here B&B for just one night. When we arrived the staff were getting ready for a party being hosted in the hotel that night. We had to wait for a while before someone arrived to check us inn. We asked about eating there and were told it was OK but we'd have to eat quite early or face... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Hotel, I'm glad you had a largely pleasant experience. I'm sorry that the large parties that we were catering for caused you some inconveniences, this is unacceptable to me, so please accept my apologies. I'm glad that our General Manager communicated to you that it may be advisable to... More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

No real complaints about this hotel. Very comfortable bed and all the facilities functioning well. Apparently it has had a major refurbishment recently, this isn't immediately evident - but maybe it has been refurbished with that intent. We stayed over a weekend - the Sunday breakfast was very slow as there was also a large group staying. The poor staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sasparilla Thanks for staying with us and taking time to leave a review. I'm glad that you had a pleasant stay. We have recognised that some areas of the hotel need brightening up and as such have begun a rolling program of redecoration. I'm sorry that breakfast was a little hectic on this occasion. We were adequately staffed for... More 

Wadhurst, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I usually stay in The Bear by the Market Place on trips to Devizes but on this occasion it was full and they recommend the Castle. Very similar style & feel - 17thC coaching inn. So don't expect A/C, lifts or other 'Travel Lodge' type features. If you are not happy staying in a Grade 2 listed building then pls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you for staying at the Castle Hotel and for taking time to leave such a positive review. I'm really pleased that the staff treated you so well and made your stay a comfortable one. I'm glad you like the tradition of our 18th century Coaching Inn and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Gary... More 

Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Really lovely old coaching inn in the centre of a lovely town,which in turn is a great base for seeing Stonehenge and Avebury etc.Room was fine, breakfast ok (see below) but hotel let itself down by not concentrating on something it says it prides itself on, attention to detail. At breakfast my wife noticed that the yoghurts we had just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard Thank you for staying at the Castle Hotel and for describing it as a lovely hotel, I'm glad that you liked it. Let me express my sincere apologies for the 2 issues that you encountered around out of date yoghurt and rubbish in your draws. There is no excuse for either of these occurrences, I'm sorry. I'm even... More 

london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We were cycling from Reading to Bristol, and this was our overnight stop. Very welcoming reception, and had a secure place for bikes. Rooms are OK, food OK, Real Ale OK. Not a hugely charming but nothing bad. Nice open fires, and breakfast better than expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tim Thank you for staying at The Castle Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and were warmly welcomed by our team. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Booked for a team gathering. i arrived with colleague to set the event up a day early. Staff were friendly and helpfull. reception tried to arrange taxi for us but with the school run there wasn't one to be had before 9:30. the manager stepped in and found an lternative. towards the end of our stey we were able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham Thank you so much for your very kind words regarding our hotel. I'm so pleased that you had such a lovely stay. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More 

Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

The hotel is next to the church, the room I had was next to the cemetery. The room was spacious and had the usual items in the room. The rooms aren't climate controlled so might be an issue during summer. I found my room to be cold and had to request a free standing heater, the staff were very helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nomadic Thanks for staying at the Castle Hotel and taking the time to post a review. I'm delighted that the service was so good and that the staff looked after you during your stay. I'm sorry that the room was not at the correct temperature for you, I have no explanation for this, as all the rooms are centrally... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: New Park Street, Devizes SN10 1DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Devizes
The Castle Hotel Devizes, Wiltshire

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay