We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Castle Hotel

3.0 of 5 New Park Street, Devizes SN10 1DS, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Castle Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Castle Hotel
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    38
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
32
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Sheffield
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here B&B for just one night. When we arrived the staff were getting ready for a party being hosted in the hotel that night. We had to wait for a while before someone arrived to check us inn. We asked about eating there and were told it was OK but we'd have to eat quite early or face... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Castle Hotel, I'm glad you had a largely pleasant experience. I'm sorry that the large parties that we were catering for caused you some inconveniences, this is unacceptable to me, so please accept my apologies. I'm glad that our General Manager communicated to you that it may be advisable to... More

Fleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No real complaints about this hotel. Very comfortable bed and all the facilities functioning well. Apparently it has had a major refurbishment recently, this isn't immediately evident - but maybe it has been refurbished with that intent. We stayed over a weekend - the Sunday breakfast was very slow as there was also a large group staying. The poor staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sasparilla Thanks for staying with us and taking time to leave a review. I'm glad that you had a pleasant stay. We have recognised that some areas of the hotel need brightening up and as such have begun a rolling program of redecoration. I'm sorry that breakfast was a little hectic on this occasion. We were adequately staffed for... More

Wadhurst, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I usually stay in The Bear by the Market Place on trips to Devizes but on this occasion it was full and they recommend the Castle. Very similar style & feel - 17thC coaching inn. So don't expect A/C, lifts or other 'Travel Lodge' type features. If you are not happy staying in a Grade 2 listed building then pls... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you for staying at the Castle Hotel and for taking time to leave such a positive review. I'm really pleased that the staff treated you so well and made your stay a comfortable one. I'm glad you like the tradition of our 18th century Coaching Inn and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Gary... More

Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really lovely old coaching inn in the centre of a lovely town,which in turn is a great base for seeing Stonehenge and Avebury etc.Room was fine, breakfast ok (see below) but hotel let itself down by not concentrating on something it says it prides itself on, attention to detail. At breakfast my wife noticed that the yoghurts we had just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard Thank you for staying at the Castle Hotel and for describing it as a lovely hotel, I'm glad that you liked it. Let me express my sincere apologies for the 2 issues that you encountered around out of date yoghurt and rubbish in your draws. There is no excuse for either of these occurrences, I'm sorry. I'm even... More

london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We were cycling from Reading to Bristol, and this was our overnight stop. Very welcoming reception, and had a secure place for bikes. Rooms are OK, food OK, Real Ale OK. Not a hugely charming but nothing bad. Nice open fires, and breakfast better than expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tim Thank you for staying at The Castle Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and were warmly welcomed by our team. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Booked for a team gathering. i arrived with colleague to set the event up a day early. Staff were friendly and helpfull. reception tried to arrange taxi for us but with the school run there wasn't one to be had before 9:30. the manager stepped in and found an lternative. towards the end of our stey we were able to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham Thank you so much for your very kind words regarding our hotel. I'm so pleased that you had such a lovely stay. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More

Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

The hotel is next to the church, the room I had was next to the cemetery. The room was spacious and had the usual items in the room. The rooms aren't climate controlled so might be an issue during summer. I found my room to be cold and had to request a free standing heater, the staff were very helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nomadic Thanks for staying at the Castle Hotel and taking the time to post a review. I'm delighted that the service was so good and that the staff looked after you during your stay. I'm sorry that the room was not at the correct temperature for you, I have no explanation for this, as all the rooms are centrally... More

cambridge
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We stayed here on the night of 28th Sept 2014 while visiting Stonehenge, Devizes and Lacock. On check in we were shown to our room by the receptionist who was very helpful with a great sense of humour. This is an OLD hotel (listed building) and as such has no lift, although at just two storeys, this is hardly a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chippie I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the age and character of the Castle Hotel and shared our love for the history of the building. Thank you so much for your very kind words. I'm delighted that the staff were so impressive, they do us proud on a regular basis and I'm so happy that they looked after you... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Group of 12 cycling Bath Devises and back one night stop found the staff friendly and welcoming Helped to store bikes obviosly used to cyclists. Room very clean with everything expected also bath and shower fine Evening meal excellent good selection well presented and service excellent especially with offer of 25%discount on wine Young waiter/waitress very accomadating nothing to much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear basajames Thanks for choosing the Castle Hotel on your recent bike trip. I'm delighted that you were so well looked after by our team. I'll pass your very kind words onto the whole team, who will be just as pleased to receive such praise. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Gary Morse Owner More

English Riviera, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Went here for lunch with my Mother and daughter (2 yrs old). Staff were very accommodating and considerate. They have a children's menu as well as smaller portions option. Tenants have just taken it over but can see it going from strength to strength. Well worth a visit, we'll definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel and particularly your very kind words about the staff. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary Morse Owner More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: New Park Street, Devizes SN10 1DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Devizes
The Castle Hotel Devizes, Wiltshire

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay