We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Calne hotels

The Lansdowne Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Hotel amenities
The Lansdowne Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Lansdowne Hotel to your Saves list
31%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    18
    16
    29
See reviews for
21
19
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Wiltshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Popped in for drinks and food. Not been here for a while and the local paper said it had new managers. We got our drinks and went into the Strand room - as it now has a pool table and television showing a fottball match. They need to get the cleaners in ! The large fan vent was filthy beyond... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

We are surviving quite well thank you with our guests and people who enjoy coming in with friend's to watch TV, play pool or just chat I can see no reason for your rude comment about a B&B when you didn't stay. It must have been a very old copy of a newspaper you read, as present manger has been... More

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One night stay here upgraded to room 201... Beautiful!!' Staff couldn't b more helpful even lending me a phone charger!!! Food was excellent.... Hot, tasty, well presented, big portions, good price £23 for two incl a wine each! Reception and downstairs lounges very tatty BUT THEY KNOW THIS AND ARE REFURBISHING ROOM BY ROOM! Definitely return!!!! Great value.... Some road... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a lovely review. we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again. We have started downstairs and aim to finish hallways and reception by Christmas. As reception is the main area people see first we want to make this look amazing. we believe first opinions count and seeing the... More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel a couple of weeks ago. The room was adequate. The building is an old creaky building and needs redecorating.The wifi didn't work. Although the stay was cheap it really wasn't worth it because kept up all night by the sound of a boiler (or something) as well as noisy guests from the pub. Didn't stay for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

To here the boiler you would of had to be in a room the opposite side of the bar so I am not sure how you heard the people from the bar. and we had no complaint from the room above the bar area. Wifi is a free option and can vary as we are in a old building with... More

Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have eaten at the Lansdowne Strand on and off for many years. We have found it will be great for a few years and then the chef would change and the food would go downhill. We haven't been for around 2 years for this reason and thought we would try again. I had curry which was very spicy, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a great review. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Myself and a friend were just wandering around looking for somewhere to eat dinner and just decided to try the Lansdowne. Brilliant choice. Staff were attentive but not pushy. The food was cooked brilliantly. I had steak, it was cooked as requested and so tender. Chunky real chips, salad. I thoroughly enjoyed my meal and would recommend to anyone. My... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again. More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Having read some of the reviews below, I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Granted, the bathroom was old and tired but it was clean. The bedroom was newly decorated, new carpet and well made curtains with matching headboard. Parts of the rest of the hotel were ‘tired’ but obviously undergoing an update, without closing down – which is understandable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews on this place I prepared myself to stay in a dirty hotel, when we arrived at half 10 on Thursday the 21st we were all pleasantly surprised! The staff who greeted us were very helpful and showed us where we could park! My partner and I stayed in room 215 and it was beautiful! My MIL&... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lansdownehotelcalne, Front Office Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, I know that reading most they are bad but we always say one persons opinion is different to another's I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you have wrote a lovely review, We always try to make changes where people have said was bad and all the staff try there hardest... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here for a friend's wedding and were pleasently suprised by the classic look of the hotel. The room was big and had a gorgeuos new bathroom. Genuinely impressed. The reception staff were helpful and pleasant, the only downside to the hotel was the bar staff's handling of lunch and the breakfast buffet, The Bar staff struggled to even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, I am shocked to here that the bar staff were rude - when taking a food order we have all worked here a long time and would never want people to think of any one here as rude - for this I apologies that you felt that way. On breakfast we use breakfast glasses... More

Lampeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

went here to stop over for a family wedding so was not in much The room was big enough to play table tennis in. All staff very friendly and helpful and what they didnt know about the history of the building and the town they soon found out. The bar areas were relaxing and the drinks were good (real ale)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a lovely review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. and I will pass this on to all the staff to see. we are shutting down our restaurant Monday to get that refurbished and then once that is done we will be doing the bar and reception, so we hope if... More

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed on a hot night in summer, no air con or fan provided, had to have window open. Very noisy with town clock next to bedroom going off all night and revelers in street below. Bathroom awful, smelly and bad plumbing. Water from sink backed up into bath and toilet sounded like a bomb going off when flushed. Had very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

We have no Air con in any of our rooms, and if a fan was asked for we would of provided one straight away. we cannot do anything about noise from the road or clock, and as mentioned on all agencies we are situated on the main A4 Road, when a problem is reported the maintenance man is called at... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Address: The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calne
Calne Best Western
The Lansdowne Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay