We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Calne hotels

The Lansdowne Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Lansdowne Hotel to your Saves list
The Lansdowne Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
30%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    18
    15
    28
See reviews for
19
19
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and a friend were just wandering around looking for somewhere to eat dinner and just decided to try the Lansdowne. Brilliant choice. Staff were attentive but not pushy. The food was cooked brilliantly. I had steak, it was cooked as requested and so tender. Chunky real chips, salad. I thoroughly enjoyed my meal and would recommend to anyone. My... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having read some of the reviews below, I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Granted, the bathroom was old and tired but it was clean. The bedroom was newly decorated, new carpet and well made curtains with matching headboard. Parts of the rest of the hotel were ‘tired’ but obviously undergoing an update, without closing down – which is understandable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After reading the reviews on this place I prepared myself to stay in a dirty hotel, when we arrived at half 10 on Thursday the 21st we were all pleasantly surprised! The staff who greeted us were very helpful and showed us where we could park! My partner and I stayed in room 215 and it was beautiful! My MIL&... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Front Office Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, I know that reading most they are bad but we always say one persons opinion is different to another's I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you have wrote a lovely review, We always try to make changes where people have said was bad and all the staff try there hardest... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here for a friend's wedding and were pleasently suprised by the classic look of the hotel. The room was big and had a gorgeuos new bathroom. Genuinely impressed. The reception staff were helpful and pleasant, the only downside to the hotel was the bar staff's handling of lunch and the breakfast buffet, The Bar staff struggled to even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, I am shocked to here that the bar staff were rude - when taking a food order we have all worked here a long time and would never want people to think of any one here as rude - for this I apologies that you felt that way. On breakfast we use breakfast glasses... More

Lampeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

went here to stop over for a family wedding so was not in much The room was big enough to play table tennis in. All staff very friendly and helpful and what they didnt know about the history of the building and the town they soon found out. The bar areas were relaxing and the drinks were good (real ale)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a lovely review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. and I will pass this on to all the staff to see. we are shutting down our restaurant Monday to get that refurbished and then once that is done we will be doing the bar and reception, so we hope if... More

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed on a hot night in summer, no air con or fan provided, had to have window open. Very noisy with town clock next to bedroom going off all night and revelers in street below. Bathroom awful, smelly and bad plumbing. Water from sink backed up into bath and toilet sounded like a bomb going off when flushed. Had very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

We have no Air con in any of our rooms, and if a fan was asked for we would of provided one straight away. we cannot do anything about noise from the road or clock, and as mentioned on all agencies we are situated on the main A4 Road, when a problem is reported the maintenance man is called at... More

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a two day stay at this hotel. I note a review dated 3 July this gentleman must have stayed in the same room as we did. It is obvious that complaints fall on deaf ears as the room was in the same state on the 11th July. On arriving the problem with the flies as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

I will make no response to this review other then to say that to state you will go to trip advisor if no refund was given to me does not deserve a response. I asked the agency to put these as basic rooms cheaper as they have not been decorated we did not put you in this room you booked... More

Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have stayed here before 3 years ago and had really good stay that time. Both of us remembered the breakfast being amazing and staff freindly. We booked in the saturday night and we had a newly refurbed room good size as we had a travel cot with us. On the Sunday we went to breakfast! Well it wasn't how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, we are in the middle of making breakfast at the weekend not a buffet style, the cook in the week is not the same as the weekend cook. We have newer staff here that are still being trained so I hope if you visit us again it will be the experience that you had... More

Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

First impressions count on walking into the reception I could tell the place was shabby. The receptionist was nice enough told me all I needed to know. My room was in the courtyard outside next to the smoking area. On entry to the room was greeted by a very dirty carpet with huge stains every where, the furniture was old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

You did not complain to the hotel and actually went to reception and said could you leave your key as you were going for a walk no complaint was made to the assistant manager we could have on the second day moved you into the main hotel. As for reading reviews on the restaurant they are one opinion so maybe... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Met with swarm of flies in front lobby, accepting it was a hot day in June, they were still there next morning when we came down for breakfast. After which we decided to book out, having stayed one night, originally booked four. No quality freshly prepared breakfast available, you would expect from a 3 star hotel. The breakfast staff (only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

The gentleman doing breakfast was in a black shirts and trousers, and said to you he is just replenishing every thing as we had a full hotel and you are the last to be down, you spoke to the assistant manager and if had a chance would of tried to move you rooms but all you did was demand a... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Lansdowne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Address: The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calne
Calne Best Western
The Lansdowne Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Calne with
any amenities