We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Calne hotels

The Lansdowne Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Lansdowne Hotel to your Saves list
The Lansdowne Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
28%
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Calne
  • Overview
  • Reviews (82)
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (29)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    17
    15
    28
See reviews for
19
19
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

went here to stop over for a family wedding so was not in much The room was big enough to play table tennis in. All staff very friendly and helpful and what they didnt know about the history of the building and the town they soon found out. The bar areas were relaxing and the drinks were good (real ale)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a lovely review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. and I will pass this on to all the staff to see. we are shutting down our restaurant Monday to get that refurbished and then once that is done we will be doing the bar and reception, so we hope if... More

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed on a hot night in summer, no air con or fan provided, had to have window open. Very noisy with town clock next to bedroom going off all night and revelers in street below. Bathroom awful, smelly and bad plumbing. Water from sink backed up into bath and toilet sounded like a bomb going off when flushed. Had very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

We have no Air con in any of our rooms, and if a fan was asked for we would of provided one straight away. we cannot do anything about noise from the road or clock, and as mentioned on all agencies we are situated on the main A4 Road, when a problem is reported the maintenance man is called at... More

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from a two day stay at this hotel. I note a review dated 3 July this gentleman must have stayed in the same room as we did. It is obvious that complaints fall on deaf ears as the room was in the same state on the 11th July. On arriving the problem with the flies as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

I will make no response to this review other then to say that to state you will go to trip advisor if no refund was given to me does not deserve a response. I asked the agency to put these as basic rooms cheaper as they have not been decorated we did not put you in this room you booked... More

Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here before 3 years ago and had really good stay that time. Both of us remembered the breakfast being amazing and staff freindly. We booked in the saturday night and we had a newly refurbed room good size as we had a travel cot with us. On the Sunday we went to breakfast! Well it wasn't how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, we are in the middle of making breakfast at the weekend not a buffet style, the cook in the week is not the same as the weekend cook. We have newer staff here that are still being trained so I hope if you visit us again it will be the experience that you had... More

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First impressions count on walking into the reception I could tell the place was shabby. The receptionist was nice enough told me all I needed to know. My room was in the courtyard outside next to the smoking area. On entry to the room was greeted by a very dirty carpet with huge stains every where, the furniture was old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

You did not complain to the hotel and actually went to reception and said could you leave your key as you were going for a walk no complaint was made to the assistant manager we could have on the second day moved you into the main hotel. As for reading reviews on the restaurant they are one opinion so maybe... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Met with swarm of flies in front lobby, accepting it was a hot day in June, they were still there next morning when we came down for breakfast. After which we decided to book out, having stayed one night, originally booked four. No quality freshly prepared breakfast available, you would expect from a 3 star hotel. The breakfast staff (only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

The gentleman doing breakfast was in a black shirts and trousers, and said to you he is just replenishing every thing as we had a full hotel and you are the last to be down, you spoke to the assistant manager and if had a chance would of tried to move you rooms but all you did was demand a... More

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed at the Lansdowne this weekend gone. My son was taking part in the Calne Town Cryer competition over the road by the river (the hotel couldn't be better placed!) My parents were also staying. We spent the day in a nearby National Trust village called Lacock (home of photography) beautiful place to mooch about, we looked around the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, it is nice to see some good ones, we notice that even though people say how they enjoyed there stay they hardly ever put on here. Again thank you for the wonderful comments More

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

An inauspicious start to our 2-night stay -- hotel entrance from the car park was shabby, as were most of the public areas. The reception was unimpressive, and a smell of stale beer didn't help. Staff were friendly enough, but there were aspects of their service which needed better training. Our room, 213, was clean with a pleasant ensuite. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

We are trying to get our courtyard area into a big seating area and remove it as a car park. your breakfast on the first day was cooked and taken up stairs straight away so I am not sure how it was cold. the second day the lady brought it up early and apologised more than several times. As agreed... More

Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

As the title says really, room 211 is a single room which appears not to have been decorated since the 70's with wall paper falling off the walls. The carpet was dirty and had not been vacuumed for a while. The bar had no atmosphere and was playing music too loud. Breakfast was interesting, the glasses for fruit juice had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, the hotel is being refurbished at the moment and only have a few bedrooms left including 211. Although we have backtracked our records but can see you was in room 241, we again have not re decorated the attic rooms as of yet.If you had come and seen some one to make a complaint... More

Rye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Not enough staff but they did try so hard,overall a good experience A good location within the old town of Calne This précis says it all,why does this website want 200 characters when 100 should be enough?

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, it is difficult to see how many staff is needed on a day to day - we have now got three on at a time and we will also call someone in if extra is needed! we hope to see you again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Lansdowne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Address: The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calne
Calne Best Western
The Lansdowne Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
25

See which rooms travelers prefer