We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Calne hotels

The Lansdowne Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Lansdowne Hotel to your Saves list
The Lansdowne Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
28%
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Calne
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    15
    14
    25
See reviews for
15
17
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As the title says really, room 211 is a single room which appears not to have been decorated since the 70's with wall paper falling off the walls. The carpet was dirty and had not been vacuumed for a while. The bar had no atmosphere and was playing music too loud. Breakfast was interesting, the glasses for fruit juice had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, the hotel is being refurbished at the moment and only have a few bedrooms left including 211. Although we have backtracked our records but can see you was in room 241, we again have not re decorated the attic rooms as of yet.If you had come and seen some one to make a complaint... More

Rye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Not enough staff but they did try so hard,overall a good experience A good location within the old town of Calne This précis says it all,why does this website want 200 characters when 100 should be enough?

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Too many niggles to justify anything other than a poor rating. Incorrect booking details; light bulbs not working; my window unable to close; no temperature control on the shower meant it was freezing; a sealed biscuit packet already open; dirty carpets; shaving strip light inoperative. My room was warm, however, and the bed comfortable. The quality of the food in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. Regards to the booking i do apologies as we have changed over the way booking.com sends through the details and we had not received your booking. If you had came and spoke to myself or a member of staff we would of been willing to move you. There are rooms that have been re... More

Hertfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I don't normally write negative reviews but as I was not asked on check out how my stay was I am using this forum. Check in - had to find someone at bar, no notice on reception to indicate this. However he was a very friendly helpful young man who showed us to our rooms and delivered an iron on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you had problems at the hotel but at no time was i asked to speak to a customer, In the evening as is normally quiet reception will have their break but there is always someone about and having spoke to the receptionist who was on when you checked out she said you made no complaints. I have... More

Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Took a late booking at this Hotel for Saturday night. Admittedly the town was busy, as it was Christmas lights festival, however there was no one on reception when we arrived. After a 5 minute wait we had to go and find a member of staff to check us in. The check in was perfunctory to say the least. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel was very busy on Saturday and I am afraid the receptionist was behind the bar helping them. We do have a sign on reception when the receptionist is helping on the bar saying to ask at the bar for help. The hotel has been going through refurbishments but have not got to doing downstairs just yet. I apologies... More

Northwich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Hotel is very old and in parts it shows, on arriving there was confusion as the barman was doing the job of receptionist and there were three people of the same name staying over the next two days. We were initially given the wrong room, it was in fact our daughters room. Our room was adequate and catered for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, I apologies with the confusion about the rooms. More

Sutton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here last weekend. Was a bit worried when I looked at reviews after I booked. As most reviews are really bad. Our room was clean and we were pleasantly surprised to find a jacuzzi bath in our bathroom that was our own for the night. (We have stayed in hotels with shared bathroom) The restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were booked into this hotel on a Ramblers' holiday. When I looked up the reviews on Trip Adviser I was worried that the hotel would be terrible. However We arrived and managed to park without difficulty. We walked into the reception area and as previously noted there was a notice saying that the barman doubled up as receptionist. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lansdownehotelcalne, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I can only assume that this hotel has different grades and types of rooms, hence some people claim they had a decent stay whilst others say they had anything but that. I fall into the latter category. I have stayed in hotels all over the world, ranging from truly splendid which I would rate 9-10 out of 10, to grim... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

On the week that you stayed in the hotel, we only had one complaint of which we offered to move this person and they said no it would be ok. I have checked all the rooms and there are no insects dead insects any where. The rooms are made up every day either a strip or a make and on... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Best thing ... large room in a quiet part of the hotel. Mine was a twin room. Everything was dowdy and shabby looking and it smelt musty. The cord on the blind was broken so it was down which didn't help because of the lack of light. It doesn't take much to use cleaning products with a nice smell. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
lansdownehotelcalne, Receptionist at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, we had no complaints made of which if we had we would of made every effort to have moved you rooms. the noise I believe you hear is the hot water pumps, i am sorry about this. the car parking is a nightmare but as a listed building we can... More

Been to The Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Calne
Calne Best Western
The Lansdowne Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK
Address: The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lansdowne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.