We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Calne hotels

Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Hotel amenities
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
StevenCBale Newbury, United Kingdom
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    108
    44
    17
    10
See reviews for
61
220
3
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (434)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (146)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have just had Christmas Lunch at the Shelburne Restaurant. The restaurant was decorated beautifully. We were greeted and let to our table for champagne and canapés. We ordered our meal and from there on it was totally downhill. The starter was average. For the main meal, I had turkey. On my plate were two slices of turkey which were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I recently visited for an overnight stay and found the Hotel and Spa to be a fantastic place. The setting was stunning. The staff were all friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was very large with a superb bathroom. The downsides.. I specifically requested a proper double bed after reading a previous review but was also given 2 singles pushed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely big room with spacious bathroom, beautiful surroundings and the library room was a delight to be at for my company's party. Really enjoyed the golf too! The real downside though was the mediocre food at the restaurant and a typical boring menu. Burgers on the second day were like bought from the supermarket.. Beside that it was a fantastic... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night wish it could have been longer. The room was well appointed very comfortable beds and a very impressive bathroom real touch of luxury.The standard of cleanness was very good.I have to mention the negative which is poor sound proofing so long as you don.t have anyone next door it is just about perfect.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Place is nice and the staff were great, I did however find the Restaurant somewhat overpriced, and the breakfast was nothing to write home about, if the food was better priced and you improved on the breakfast, which to be honest was pretty poor I would be more inclined to push to at least 4 Stars possible even 5

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited on a Sunday night Spa break with inclusive evening meal. The spa facilities are excellent, the hotel and the room were lovely, as was the breakfast. Let down a little by the uninviting inclusive evening meal in the rather chilly golf club brasserie, particularly as the log fire in the main hotel lounge looked so inviting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear ajw3, We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your spa break and the facilities and we hope you left feeling relaxed. We hope we can welcome you back to enjoy dinner in our Shelburne restaurant, or even the hotel lounge if you prefer. More 

Swindon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were delighted overall with our short stay. The minor points that follow are only included due to the cost of our visit. The "double" bed was two singles fixed together, you can always feel the gap. Sliced bread was used for the toast at breakfast. The pool felt a little cool and the chlorine level affected my eyes more... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear martinkT622FH, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and we’re glad to hear that you were delighted with it overall, however will take your ‘niggles’ on board. We hope to welcome you back in the future. More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took my daughter as a birthday treat for her, and we had a really great, relaxing day. We arrived at 9 and had the run of the facilities - gym, sauna, swimming pool, steam room, jacuzzi and very comfortable pool loungers. We also had a neck, shoulders and back massage, and later a facial. I thought it was all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lucy B It sounds like you had a lovely day and we hope you left feeling refreshed and relaxed. Thanks for taking the time to review it and we’re happy to hear that you found it good value for money and that we made you feel spoilt. See you soon! More 

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My visit here was unplanned with my baby and friend. Having checked that there was a bar rather than just restaurant, we were accommodated in the lounge near the log fire. The lounge was decorated lovely, several christmas trees and fireplace surround. The waitress was very efficient and nothing was too much trouble, baby food was kindly heated up and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Efjf48, Thanks for taking the time to review your day with us. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the festive atmosphere and your afternoon tea. We will take your comments regarding the baby changing facilities on board and hope to see you again soon. More 

Marlow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can't compliment this hotel enough. I have stayed twice in the the last 8 weeks and both stays were fantastic. I have been accompanied by the fussiest of guests on both trips (mother trip1, husband trip 2) and they were so impressed. The food is great, the service impeccable and room sizes blow you away. It really represents great... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear 680rebeccaj, Thank you for leaving us a review and what fabulous feedback. We’re so glad we could meet your high standards and that you have enjoy your stays so much. We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Calne
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Calne, Wiltshire, UK

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
5:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay