We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairlawn House

Certificate of Excellence
42 High Street, Amesbury SP4 7DL, England
Hotel amenities
Fairlawn House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 4 Amesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jeffrey R Queensland, Australia
Add Photo

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    162
    68
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
109
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (244)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I think that Fairlawn House is a victim of reviews that suggest a much more upmarket establishment than it really is. On reading a fair selection of the reviews, I have to identify with a number of the "average" reviewers. I was attracted to Fairlawn House because of the reviews and must admit to feeling a little disappointed. On a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tracey D, Owner at Fairlawn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your final comments identifying us as the honest to goodness B&B that we are proud to be and work hard to maintain. We are sorry that you felt we didn’t live up to expectations but we do not pretend to be anything we are not. We are surprised that you thought you were booking an upmarket private... More 

London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

hotel was clean and tidy with lot of character. Fairly small room with tv on wall a desk and wardrobe. Ensuite with a shower. View out of window was into an alley. Breakfast was served downstairs in a cellar which was very nice

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel in the village of Amesbury is about 10 miles from the Thruxton race track. It is a very old building all the attendant charm. Parking is limited to the main street. Reception area is very nice, cozy, and the staff are friendly. The rooms are quite small (obviously constrained by being in an old building), bathroom is small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well decorated old property, lovely lounge and bar area. Cooked breakfast average was expecting something more, would have liked good quality sausage not a patty, the black pudding was of a strange taste not witnessed by me before and lacking in flavour. The bed mattress was of soft and unsupportive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed at Fairlawn House for three nights and had a thoroughly decent stay there. The welcome was friendly and efficient, and we were pointed towards the private car park which is just around the corner and although it is a part of the medical centre, and which we were allowed to use free of charge overnight. Our room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Spacious, clean room. Modern bath. Walking distance to Amesbury restaurants. Nice breakfast and very close to both Avebury and Stonehenge. I would say that the bed was not the most comfortable I've ever slept in, and the decor and finishes show a lot of wear, but it was a good value and I would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elkins, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

An amazing stay. First, the owners are incredibly nice. Genuine, attentive, responsive, and friendly. They were delightful all the way from our late arrival to our departure. Second, the place is delightful. Every area was superbly appointed and maintained. The furnishings were fresh, the bedding was super comfortable, and EVERYTHING was immaculately clean and well maintained. Breakfast was amazing. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Clean and comfortable. Tea/coffee making in rooms which were replenished. Friendly owners and very good breakfast with lots of choice. Small lounge bar closes at 10pm, Very little communal area especially when lounge bar closes at 10pm, but lovely place and stay. Rooms are on the small side but compact.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

This was a comfortable stop on our driving tour from White Horse Hill to Stonehenge. Our room was clean and the breakfast was filling. Nice staff and easy parking too. Convenient location, we were able to walk to a pub for dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bromsgrove
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

I stayed two nights here, and found a warm welcome, a clean and warm ground floor room, and two excellent breakfasts. It is very central , on the High Street, and there is free parking very close by. The room was quiet, and I slept well on a comfortable bed. The complimentary toiletries added to the sense of a warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay