We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Craiglands Hotel

Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Hotel amenities
The Craiglands Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012
Peter F Leeds, United Kingdom
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    173
    123
    118
    100
See reviews for
98
325
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (692)
  • Mar-May only
    (185)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (149)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (170)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (188)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Craiglands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Attended here recently for a formal dinner. This always used to be a prestigious hotel but hings have definitely slipped. Food and service was appalling representing very poor value for money. We were greeted by wide open freshly painted doors - not something you wish to meet when dressed in your best! The car parking is limited necessitating my husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
VAcil, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jaycross22, I must take exception to this review in light of the fact that your comments are being directed at the wrong party. On the evening of the function you attended, there was a clerical error made by the organiser of the event which resulted in a large number of guests arriving who had not been included in the... More 

Sheffield
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

"Disco, Casino, Wine & Dine, Race Night, Big Kids Party or All Inclusive Glitzy Package could just be what you are looking for." Quote from Website. If you want a to sleep, check that there are no party bookings. I joined a group of walkers for the weekend. The room on the second floor was reached by lift, then by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Fine old hotel.Car park 100 yards from reception which for me was a struggle with the cases.Should have unloaded at entrance,booked in and then parked the car.At breakfast shown to table and asked if i was having full breakfasr.My reply yes ,young man departed..10 to 15 minutes later with no progress other than a pot of tea my enquire found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VAcil, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter F, Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to let you know that we have only very recently employed a new operations manager within the hotel who will be concentrating initially on service training & looking at ways in which we can improve our overall performance across the hotel. I trust that you would like to return... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was good, although no continental option on the first morning. Convenient parking and walking distance into the centre of Ilkley. Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for the price of 1 and it was good value but not sure I would have felt the same had a paid full price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VAcil, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bam2008, Thank you so much for your kind words. It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I can assure you that I will share your comments with the team here. We regularly place special offers across the hotel so please keep an eye out for the next promotion. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

public toilets for the event were dirty, half the light bulbs were missing and toilet rolls were just thrown on the floor. i asked staff at reception 4 times to sort out the toilets and it was never done. sandwiches were very poor. cheap fillings, no salad. unsatisfactory. staff were very unhelpful, through no fault of their own, they seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VAcil, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SophieAlexi, Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate the time you have taken to leave your feedback. As a team we strive to continually improve and enhance our guest’s experience, constructive comments allow us to further advance our products and services however I feel the way in which you have relayed your feedback is somewhat embellished and in... More 

halifax
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

staff were helpful....room warm and cosy...but the sandwiches were poor quality. fillings poor. cakes were just awful....scones dry and tasteless. squirty cream too. fruit cake shop bought. if not chef should be ashamed. ....staff pleasant.. we had vouchers from Travel Zoo. for our friends birthday treat.....after a 1 hour travel we were very disappointed. .not the place to go for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manchester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night and found the room very spacous and clean, Dinner was delicious and well worth the money. All staff were friendly and polite.The building its self is beautiful with great surroundings. Will be re-visiting very soon

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bingley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the Craiglands this weekend, we had a lovely time. The room was ok, nothing to write home about but clean and comfortable. Just the right temperature - I generally struggle to sleep in hotels but had a very good nights sleep. The meal was gorgeous, really enjoyed it. The only downside was a lack of staff, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
stoke on trent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Food quite good when the staff worked out what time dinner was served. Room small although it was an Executive Room. Bed not properly made and stained sheet on arrival. Carpet not hoovered on arrival nor at any time during three day stay - is there a shortage of toilet paper in Yorkshire. Workman burst into room with ladder to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

From the first time we made contact with The Craiglands Hotel, enquiring about the possibility of booking our Wedding with them, the staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. After being shown around the Hotel, there was no doubt in our minds that The Craiglands was the perfect place for our Special Day. Communication was always open and Louise and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question