We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Ilkley B&Bs / inns

The Wheatley Arms

Wheatley Lane | Ben Rhydding, Ilkley LS29 8PP, England
Hotel amenities
The Wheatley Arms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Wheatley Arms to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 11 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Lozrodge Hedon, United Kingdom
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    38
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
10
117
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (181)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Hedon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Wheatley Arms Ilkley on 13th November for a short stopover. From start to finish we found the service excellent. Booking in was smooth and very welcoming. We had a beautiful lunch of beer battered fish and chips, delicious. It was so good my husband ordered it again for his supper! Room 4 which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I enjoyed our second stay on 1st November 2014. We had previously stayed for our 30th Wedding Anniversary last year. The experience was equally special. the staff are so attentive and friendly. The rooms are beautiful - super-king beds, immaculately clean bedding and room.The food is superb - plenty of choice and presented well.We can't wait to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at the Wheatley Arms It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit as much as on your anniversary, and that you are looking forward to your next stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back then Kind Regards Steve & team More

Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately my family and I contacted the Wheatley to ask if we could hire a room for Friday 31/10 for a few close family and friends to hold a small goodbye for my dad who died a few days ago. Due to issues surrounding the availability of the church etc Friday was the only day we could get. Also, it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review

Firstly let me say that I am sorry to hear about your loss. I have spoken to the management team who deal with any function enquiries and nobody has any recollection of this, are you sure you have the right place? On Friday 31st we did have 2 parties in our private dining areas at the back, and would not... More

Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our 5th time here and it was great. You need to know the best bedrooms to stay in, avoid room 11, and its very comfortable. Beds are great. No problems with dinner or breakfast but wouldn't want it to be to busy as service was slow second night. They are young boys and girls learning the business and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review

Hi Tim Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent visit to the Wheatley Arms. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us again. All our regular guests have favourite rooms as each one is so different, although I must disagree with you- Room 11 is one of my favourites!! The comfiest bed in... More

Diss, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here over night and were extremely pleased with our choice. The welcome at reception was warm and typically Yorkshire, as was the ambiance of the bars etc - roaring fires and very comfy chairs. Our room was an executive room and was comfortable and relatively spacious. the bathroom was large and modern, and all was clean and sparkling.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit, we always aim to give a warm welcome to all our guests. I apologise if the service at dinner was not quite up to scratch, we do have a young team and are constantly training our staff to try to improve.... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We went to the Wheatley Arms 14th/15th October 2014. I booked this hotel on the standard of comments on Trip Advisor which all seemed excellent.Our room at £80 for the night including breakfast was spotless, a HUGE bed and lovely white, and clean bedding. The small fridge in the room with bottled water was a very nice touch. As we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review

Hi Daphne Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us. It was lovely to hear that we were able to provide you with a relaxing break! I have the same feelings about our 'Rain Showers', it's very hard to get out of them you want to stay in all day! We look forward... More

Ilkley West
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Have visited the Wheatley many times over the years and on the whole have been more than satisfied with both the food and service ! I visited this week with my elderly mother, elderly aunt and cousin at lunchtime as a special treat as they had both been hospitalised for a long time ! The waitress we found to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review

Hi Susan Thank you for taking the time to post your review, let me apologise that you did not enjoy your family luncheon at the Wheatley. I'm pleased to see that you regularly visit our sister pubs, and hopefully next time we will be able to make ourselves your favourite Individual Inn. Whilst the Lamb Burger you mentioned was a... More

UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We went for a family meal on Sunday evening expecting a warm family outing given the location and reviews, sadly we were wrong. The service was slow, we had to ask for our wine twice, a few items from the Specials and the 'Day to day' menu had finished for the day, it was only early evening. When the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, firstly let me apologise that you did not enjoy your meal with us at the Wheatley. Sundays can be a very busy day for us as we serve food all day from 12pm-7.30pm, so unfortunately it was not as you believed the beginning of our evening service but the end of our full day service.... More

Lincolnshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Wheatley Arms. Located on the outskirts of Ilkley, within walking distance of the station and town centre, it was only a short (uphill) walk to the moor making it a good centre for walkers. Not a hotel but a large, lively pub, it was busy when we arrived, with a Sunday afternoon jazz... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your stay at the Wheatley Arms We regularly have a Jazz Band in the Bar area on a Sunday afternoon and it is very popular, and thus gets extremely busy. The staff all worked their socks off that day, and it was great to hear that you were made... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

We booked 3 rooms for 2 nights for a family wedding locally. The rooms were very comfortable and well decorated. We had a meal the first evening, we would certainly recommend the restraunt. There was a great selection for breakfast. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We will certainly stop here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we contributed to the happy occasion! I have passed your comments on to all involved and hopefully we will see you again soon! Kind Regards Steve & All the Team More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Wheatley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatley Arms

Address: Wheatley Lane | Ben Rhydding, Ilkley LS29 8PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wheatley Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatley Arms Hotel Ilkley
The Wheatley Arms Ilkley, Yorkshire

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay