We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hare and Hounds Country Inn

Hotel website
Lane Ends | Wadsworth, Hebden Bridge HX7 8TN, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hare and Hounds Country Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hare and Hounds Country Inn
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
29
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Very friendly and food plentiful and freshly cooked. Although it,s winter/spring the outside terrace could do with a tidy up. Rooms were comfortable but very small. Lovely location. On the whole a pleasant weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed a couple of nights at the Hare & Hounds. Our first night was a Thursday which it turns out is quiz night so we joined in. We found the pub and the landlord & landlady were friendly and welcoming. Although it's clearly a popular local we felt welcome as visitors. We decided to eat on on our first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jojobongo, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi Folks Thank you so much for your great review, it makes all the hare work worth while. I will even give the pigs an extra pat on the head as a show of thanks. Hope to see you again soon Jeanette and David More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Stayed here with friends as we were booked to watch John Bramwell at The Trades Club, we chose this pub for the location, which did not disappoint, we were greeted warmly on arrival and shown straight to our rooms, both rooms were great, not massive but everything we needed, added extras in the en-suites of toothpaste, shower gel, toothbrushes, deodorant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
jojobongo, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your great review, Hope we get to see you next time your in this neck of the woods More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

We spent the weekend there recently, the food was exquisite with a wide range to offer, the service was fabulous with the landlord making us feel welcome as soon as we entered the premises. David and Jeanette were able to accommodate to our needs, the staff and the locals made us feel so comfortable during out stay. Our room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jojobongo, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review, hope we get to meet you again very soon. More 

England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I had read rave reviews about the food at this establishment so was looking forward to eating here. The starter was okay but the main course was horrible, the mashed potato tasted like it had been sat there for several days and the Yorkshire pudding was rock hard. I would call in for a drink again but there are far... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jojobongo, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn, responded to this review

I am really upset that you had such a bad experience with us, please let me know by email, Facebook or phone; when you ate with us. This will enable me to find out who was behind the bar, and who was in the kitchen. We can then try to find out what went wrong. I would ask that is... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Good, hearty, pub food. A warming fire in the hearth. Timothy Taylor ales - try a pint of Boltmaker, it is very good. The couple who run the pub were very entertaining, helpful and accommodating. Nice clean rooms with comfortable beds and good quality sheets. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Hare and Hounds when visiting Hebden Bridge.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

What a lovely, friendly place! We have 3 kids and their "family room" only had a double and single in it, but there was not only no problem putting an additional put-me-up bed in there, but when we unexpectedly had our oldest child with us at the last minute, they were completely happy with us bringing a camp bed for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

First and foremost, I have put a 1 on rooms because it wouldn't allow me to submit the review without rating. I did NOT stay the night and so cannot vouch for the rooms. That out of the way, let's talk about location. It's near the top of the valley in Wandsworth, quite hard to find without the use of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Stayed for one night and wished we could have stayed longer, perfect rural retreat. Warm welcome when we arrived, room cosy and clean and the view from the window was gorgeous. Lots of choice of beer and very friendly service. Evening meal of pie was all that we had been promised, one small point we would prefer gravy served in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful stay at The Hare and Hounds. Absolutely perfect, can not fault it. The landlords were such welcoming and friendly people, nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely meal from the fantastic menu, in the warm comfortable restaurant/bar, before retiring to our cosy, clean comfortable rooms. Would definitely recommend this bed & breakfast and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question