We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hare and Hounds Country Inn

Hotel website
Lane Ends | Wadsworth, Hebden Bridge HX7 8TN, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hare and Hounds Country Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hare and Hounds Country Inn
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    16
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
31
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

after reading the reviews we are looking forward to our stay we are going for 2 nights on saturday 18th april this weekend looking forward to staying in the nice room and ebjoying the views although we are at a christening we are looking forward to relaxing at the hare and hounds

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Hebden Bridge from Bristol and found this pub after a lovely walk from the centre of town. It is perched higher up the valley with amazing views across the Calder Valley. Worth the visit alone. We were going to order Scampi and Lamb, but had a look at the separate curry menu. Wow! The curries were delicious. Apparently... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jojobongo, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn, responded to this review

Really pleased you enjoyed your trip to the Tops. Jane is very happy with her food review, she just keeps asking to go back to India to learn more... Hope to see you again soon. with thanks Jeanette, David and the team. More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We regularly visit here after a walk for a few quiet drinks. The views are amazing. The service is brilliant and we have eaten here a couple of times too; would recommend the food. Lovely pub and staff. An area to sit outside too in summer. At the back of the pub there are a few pigs and hens.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeanette H, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn, responded to this review

Really nice to hear you enjoy your visits to sunny Old Town. We will try to keep all your visits just as good in the future. With thanks David, Jeanette and all the team at The Hare and Hounds More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly and food plentiful and freshly cooked. Although it,s winter/spring the outside terrace could do with a tidy up. Rooms were comfortable but very small. Lovely location. On the whole a pleasant weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeanette H, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we have taken the hint and started our spring clean of the patio area. Should look great for summer With thanks David and Jeanette More 

Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We stayed a couple of nights at the Hare & Hounds. Our first night was a Thursday which it turns out is quiz night so we joined in. We found the pub and the landlord & landlady were friendly and welcoming. Although it's clearly a popular local we felt welcome as visitors. We decided to eat on on our first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
jojobongo, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi Folks Thank you so much for your great review, it makes all the hare work worth while. I will even give the pigs an extra pat on the head as a show of thanks. Hope to see you again soon Jeanette and David More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Stayed here with friends as we were booked to watch John Bramwell at The Trades Club, we chose this pub for the location, which did not disappoint, we were greeted warmly on arrival and shown straight to our rooms, both rooms were great, not massive but everything we needed, added extras in the en-suites of toothpaste, shower gel, toothbrushes, deodorant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
jojobongo, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your great review, Hope we get to see you next time your in this neck of the woods More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

We spent the weekend there recently, the food was exquisite with a wide range to offer, the service was fabulous with the landlord making us feel welcome as soon as we entered the premises. David and Jeanette were able to accommodate to our needs, the staff and the locals made us feel so comfortable during out stay. Our room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jojobongo, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review, hope we get to meet you again very soon. More 

England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I had read rave reviews about the food at this establishment so was looking forward to eating here. The starter was okay but the main course was horrible, the mashed potato tasted like it had been sat there for several days and the Yorkshire pudding was rock hard. I would call in for a drink again but there are far... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jojobongo, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn, responded to this review

I am really upset that you had such a bad experience with us, please let me know by email, Facebook or phone; when you ate with us. This will enable me to find out who was behind the bar, and who was in the kitchen. We can then try to find out what went wrong. I would ask that is... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Good, hearty, pub food. A warming fire in the hearth. Timothy Taylor ales - try a pint of Boltmaker, it is very good. The couple who run the pub were very entertaining, helpful and accommodating. Nice clean rooms with comfortable beds and good quality sheets. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Hare and Hounds when visiting Hebden Bridge.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

What a lovely, friendly place! We have 3 kids and their "family room" only had a double and single in it, but there was not only no problem putting an additional put-me-up bed in there, but when we unexpectedly had our oldest child with us at the last minute, they were completely happy with us bringing a camp bed for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question