We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort

2.5 of 5 Empalme de El Valle, 991.5 m al Este | Follow the Surf Ranch Signs, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua (Formerly Surf Ranch Action Sports Resort)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    33
    16
    16
    16
See reviews for
15
41
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (157)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Cartago, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great place The place for a family with kids with all the things they have to offer rock climbing ,skateboard paintball jungle ,shuttle bus could be more time to town, Food good, rooms perfect. Able to use the pool anytime .The bar people were nice and waited on me . Nice to come back from dancing and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. I am honored to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our service and amenities. Next time, we will get you a mini fridge in your room if you wish, to keep your beers cool :) Thank you. Lucas Boychuk Director of Operations More 

Jackson Hole, Wyoming
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in November. The staff is all super friendly and helpful. My luggage never made it onto the plane from Atlanta, and when it arrived later that week the airport shuttle driver was nice enough to pick it up for me and deliver it to the surf ranch. They have a free... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. I am honored to hear that our staff went out of their way to the airport to gather your lost baggage that was left at the airport. It was great to meet you and your girlfriend and I hope to see the both of you... More 

Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay at Surf Ranch in November 2014 was great. Accommodations were just right, in that we had a very comfortable bed, plenty of room, personal bathroom and we upgraded to a room with A/C and hot water. The staff at Surf Ranch is amazing and very available to offer advice on what to do, where to go and what... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and upgrade to our deluxe condos with A/C and hot water. It is also great to hear that the staff made your experience top notch. Please let me know the next time you come back and we will get you set up again. Thank you. Lucas Boychuk Director... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

When my friend asked me if my husband and I wanted to join them on a trip to Nicaragua, at first we were a little hesitant, but then we looked into the Surf Ranch and were sold on it instantly. An adorable resort with a million activities and transportation to the beaches each day to surf? We booked it the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all of the resorts amenities and free shuttles. Next time you come back, we will get you zip lining and rock climbing. Looking forward to seeing the both of you again. Lucas Boychuk Director of Operations More 

Popoyo, Nicaragua
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

My buddy Parker owns a condo at the ranch and I finally got down there this August. I read all about it and was expecting it to be pretty cool and was extremely impressed once i checked in. I was only meant to stay for a few days until I finalized my place up north in Popoyo, but a few... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest It was great to meet you and that you enjoyed your stay at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. We will see you again shortly. Thank you. Lucas Boychuk Director of Operations More 

San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I've never stayed at the hotel but I've brought a few teams to eat at the restaurant and have a party at the resort. It's a super fun place to chill and hangout especially for active types. There's a sand volleyball court, a climbing wall, a skatepark and a great pool with a swim up bar. It's not right on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for visiting the Surf Ranch and bringing your girls volleyball teams to eat at the restaurant, hangout and enjoy the pool and resort. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the resort and we will see you back here again soon. Thank you, Lucas Boychuk Director of Operations More 

West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

this is a hotel that may have been nice when new. but now it looks very runned down. No water in the DELUXE. like they name it. WIFI does not work in the room and barely worked by the pool. By the way the pool was soooo dirty that the water was green. of course, the water issue that everybody... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. We usually get a few bad reviews a couple weeks after we host a large party or event. This event brought in around 600 + people, and all of the rooms were occupied. Our water system is not set up right now to provide water... More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Awesome place to stay with great food! We were only supposed to stay in the surf ranch for one night.. Ended up staying our whole time in Nicaragua. Everyone was welcoming and treated us nicely. The food was great, the teriyaki tacos amazing! Definitely going to head back soon! The free shuttle to and from town travels every couple hours,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. It was great to meet you guys, and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, free shuttles and activities. I hope to see the both of you soon, the next time you return to Nicaragua. Thank you. Stay in touch. Lucas Boychuk... More 

new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Planned on staying here for a few nights. Left without staying one night. The room was advertised as having wifi, hot water, and ac. Unfortunately the room had no hot water, very little water pressure, the ac did not work properly, and the wifi had no signal in the room. We complained, and left a polite note to management explaining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is unfortunate that you did not get the chance to stay at the Surf Ranch and enjoy the experience that our guests have come to love. It is also unfortunate that Trip Advisor let you write 2 negative reviews under 2 different accounts. The situation here on this review is that we charge 100% in advance for... More 

Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I spent a month travelling around Nicaragua and luckily stumbled upon the surf ranch resort. My girlfriend and I stayed a few days in their amazing rooms and enjoyed the pool, skatepark, airbag and free shuttle service. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay incredible, we experienced service like nowhere else on our trip! You can surf, skate,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us, and it was great to meet you and your girlfriend. I am honored to hear that you had an amazing time, enjoyed the room, service, free shuttle service and activities that we offer. It was great that we managed to get you in the boxing ring last minute, for the 2nd fight... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort

Address: Empalme de El Valle, 991.5 m al Este | Follow the Surf Ranch Signs, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua (Formerly Surf Ranch Action Sports Resort)
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (127)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (39)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay