We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Surfing Donkey

One block south of Central Park and church, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hostel Surfing Donkey
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    17
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
8
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The good - good location - good crowd of people - rooftop area - big kitchen - good drinks - helpful reception - good sized rooms The bad - pool got pretty gross because of Sunday funday - top 40 music was playing when we were there - just fans in the rooms Overall was a pretty good hostel for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bremen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We think the Surfing Donkey is not a recommended hostel. We have been there for one night and we stayed for 10$ in the 14 (!) dorm. That's not that bad but when you have to make your own bed because they just give you the bedsheets it is a lot. Furthermore the roof was leaky so we got really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Hi Anna, Thanks for your feedback! We're sorry that you felt our hostel wasn't the right atmosphere for you. The Surfing Donkey focuses on providing a great social atmosphere and fun experience for our guests, not so much on being the cheapest budget option to sleep. Between our pool, bar, activities, and full kitchen, we provide many amenities the smaller... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hostel is a little out from the "main area," by like 2 blocks.. ha ha. SJDS is a tiny town so everything is within walking distance and it was no problem at all. What makes this place the best hostel in town is the staff! Paul and Jeff are great and do everything they can to answer all of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The place has a very good vibe. A nice pool, chill out bar and kitchen to prepare your own meals. The service was fantastic. My boyfriend got foodpoisened in the middle of the night and the manager did everything he could to help us. For the rest this place has plans to open their own kitchen, so I would definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently had two stays at the Surfing Donkey as I passed through San Juan Del sur. The hostel was great. I stayed in the semi private 4 person room as well as the 12 bed dorm room. both clean facilities, great atmosphere, and amazing staff. Highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in this hostel for 3 nights in May in one of the dorm rooms. Fair to say that this hostel has potential but still a lot to be done. The positives are the music (also one of the negatives) which starts at 10 am everyday until 10pm. This is pretty much a strict rule which is good if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on our hostel! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the vibe / music and had a good time here. In May the hostel was definitely undergoing many changes. That was only 2 months after redoing the entire place, so we're sure you can understand why the owner may have been a... More 

County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As this was our first stop in Nicaragua and indeed as part of our whole trip, we were all fresh and excited. We loved the look of the Surfing Donkey and the pool was amazing. Most of the staff were very friendly, one girl (short and tanned) was quite rude to us but that did not take away from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback! We're sorry you found the heat and insects to be an issue here. Nicaragua has tons of bugs here and it's impossible to get rid of them, even with regular fumigation. We clean the kitchen twice daily, but if the guests don't clean up after themselves regularly it tends to attract insects, as with most shared... More 

San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for a 5-day period in July. I've stayed in quite a few hostels before, but never have I enjoyed such a fun environment like The Surfing Donkey. The staff here is very professional and considerate, ensuring that guests and visitors are certain to have a great stay in San Juan del Sur. First off, if I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Hey Michael, Thanks for the great, thorough review and positive feedback! We're always glad to hear about our guests having a good time here and taking advantage of all the activities we try to offer. Many of them such as the yoga, hiking, and surf trips are still fairly new, but hopefully in the future we'll have a huge list... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

One of the perks of booking a private room is not having to lock away your belongings. Unfortunately in this hostel this was not the case. I got a significant amount of money stole from my room while I was at the beach. The staff didn't/couldn't really do much to help me. I would advice them to keep spare keys... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Hi Hugh, We're sorry to hear you believe you were robbed, although we're not sure we can agree with that statement. You reported that someone stole $82 out of your wallet, out of a total of $300 you had in there. That would be quite a considerate thief! No keys were taken from our reception during that time, the locks... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here in a private room with bathroom. We booked 2 nights and ended up staying 10. San Juan del sur is an amazing town and the surfing donkey is a real gem. Located on a quiet street so you can get a good sleep but very close to the Main Street of town. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Hi Kylie, We're glad you stayed with us for so long, it was a pleasure hosting you and your boyfriend! Our staff here are truly working hard to provide a good experience for all our guests, they'll appreciate the positive feedback. We hope to see you again in San Juan someday soon! Best, Mike Manager, Surfing Donkey Hostel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.2 mi away
Chale's House
Chale's House
#20 of 59 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yajure Surf Hostel
Yajure Surf Hostel
#22 of 59 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Los March
Hostel Los March
#40 of 59 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Ariki
Casa Ariki
#10 of 49 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
47.1 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#29 of 59 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Del Soul
Casa Del Soul
#4 of 59 in San Juan del Sur
5.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay