We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Surfing Donkey

One block south of Central Park and church, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Hotel amenities
Hostel Surfing Donkey
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Kylie M
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    14
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
7
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the perks of booking a private room is not having to lock away your belongings. Unfortunately in this hostel this was not the case. I got a significant amount of money stole from my room while I was at the beach. The staff didn't/couldn't really do much to help me. I would advice them to keep spare keys... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Hi Hugh, We're sorry to hear you believe you were robbed, although we're not sure we can agree with that statement. You reported that someone stole $82 out of your wallet, out of a total of $300 you had in there. That would be quite a considerate thief! No keys were taken from our reception during that time, the locks... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here in a private room with bathroom. We booked 2 nights and ended up staying 10. San Juan del sur is an amazing town and the surfing donkey is a real gem. Located on a quiet street so you can get a good sleep but very close to the Main Street of town. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Hi Kylie, We're glad you stayed with us for so long, it was a pleasure hosting you and your boyfriend! Our staff here are truly working hard to provide a good experience for all our guests, they'll appreciate the positive feedback. We hope to see you again in San Juan someday soon! Best, Mike Manager, Surfing Donkey Hostel More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Really nice staff! Gave us a 4-bed-dorm as a private room as long as they could if no other guests showed up! It was not a party hostel, but cool to hang out with other people. They have a big kitchen, that is cleaned all the time. Safety at night with a guard. Everything was perfect there. When we left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Hi Linda, Glad to hear you had a great stay with us! We have definitely been working on reconstruction over the last few months, just finishing most of it recently. The hostel is a bit busier now with the new social areas finished, but still hast quiet strictly enforced at night and frequent cleanings to keep it a comfortable spot.... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

I just stayed at the surfing donkey right before semana Santa and it seemed like a relatively quiet time. I prefer a hostel that actually let's me sleep( they did play music a little late one of the nights, but the 1st night it was quiet by 10). So there are a lot of flaws with this hostel, but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Hi Bo, Thanks for the write up. You literally just missed the new mattresses! They all arrived on the 27th at night. We listened to feedback from our guests and from what we hear they are among the nicest beds you'll find in a San Juan hostel. As for the music, I can't speak to specific nights, but generally we're... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

The rooms are dorms so you have to share with a lot of people so you have to take care of your stuff, but you only pay 6 dollars per bed. The manager is very nice and they help in any way they can to take care of your every need. It's well located in San Juan so you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Manuel, we're glad you had a great time here! The hostel's gone through a lot of changes since your stay - all new mattresses, working bar, new design and furniture, and more! We hope you stop by again next time you're in town to see the new Surfing Donkey! Mike Surfing Donkey Hostel More 

Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Nice and cozy hostel, good for group tripping and with pretty acceptable accommodations.It has a clean pool, which is good for refreshing in this delicious beach weather. Prices are quit cheap and hosting is superb! Good thing is you have most restaurants and clubs nearby, just a 5-10 min walk!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback Luis, we're glad you had a great time here! The hostel's gone through a lot of changes since your stay - all new mattresses, working bar, new design and furniture, and more! We hope next time you're in town you decide to stay here again and check out the new Surfing Donkey hostel! Mike Surfing Donkey... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

I think the mattresses need to exchanged. Fun place with a young party crowd. There is a pool which some people use. They play music in the patio during early morning until late night. Its certainly not quiet there. No safe lockers for backpacks. Watch your valueables. It's been reported that even during sleeping in your room things magically "disappear".... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Hi Mat, thanks for your review! We have listened to your feedback and the hostel has undergone a lot of changes since your stay here. To address your issues, we now have: - All new mattresses - New lockers, reinforced with an electric outlet inside each one - Security cameras on the dorm lockers and in the public area -... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. Charlie the manager is super chilled and friendly. It's great value at only $6 for a dorm bed. The kitchen is one of the best I have seen in a hostel. The wifi is good and works in the dorms. There is an awesome pool in the middle and there is a great family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we're glad you had a great time here! We have been listening to feedback from guests and recently made many improvements. To address your issues, we now have: - All new mattresses, among the thickest in a hostel here - New lockers, reinforced with an electric outlet inside each one - Security cameras on the dorm... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

I spend 4 nights in the surfing donkey, and there a at lot of good and a few bad things about the hostel. Pin realised that the new owner just brought this hostel, and a everyday working to make it better. In the few days I was staying there, that was a lot of things happening and changing in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Hi Rikke, thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere here and had a good time. We have been listening to your feedback and recently made many improvements. We now have: - All new mattresses, among the thickest in a hostel here - A stricter policy of music only from 10am - 10pm - New lockers, reinforced with... More 

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

You can tell that the hostel used to be a little run down but the Surfing Donkey staff seem to be putting their new plans into practice to make the hostel a more fun and sociable place to stay. Positives: - super friendly staff and volunteers. They made us feel at home and were super sociable. - well equipped and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Surfing_Donkey, Manager at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Hi Nicky, thanks for the review! We're glad you had a good time here. We have listened to feedback from guests and made many suggested improvements, among them: - All new mattresses, among the thickest in a hostel here - New lockers, reinforced with an electric outlet inside each for charging securely - And we've finished the outside painting along... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.2 mi away
Chale's House
Chale's House
#18 of 59 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yajure Surf Hostel
Yajure Surf Hostel
#22 of 59 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
HC Suites Hotel
HC Suites Hotel
#16 of 48 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#11 of 48 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
47.1 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#29 of 59 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
#43 of 59 in San Juan del Sur
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay