We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa Oro

Saliendo del Colonial, 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Casa Oro
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    51
    21
    17
    24
See reviews for
5
38
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (186)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I didn't stay at Casa Oro... But with their other hostel casa Maderas. I did however take a surf lesson through them. My instructors name was Donovan Burgess and I highly recommend him. He was very calm and patient... In addition to this he had the perfect balance of being both professional and friendly... In the water he knew what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Québec, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We slept one night at this place. We had no reservation in town when we arrived and were lucky to find a room at this place for our first night in San Juan del Sur because there was a beah volleyball tournament and hotels were book....It was not our first choice but finally, we would have stay there more if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beds are clean & comfy. Common area is nice, with hammocks in the middle. There's a roof top bar with reasonably priced drinks. The free breakfast was really good - changes every day. Shuttles to beaches & other tours available. Good central location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hostel and good location. Shame about the staff who were consistently rude and unhelpful throughout our stay. Refused to return clothes that was taken from our rooms, later we discovered this behind reception. Breakfast was a nice added, but staff again rude and unpleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our Trip Advisor Page. We are sorry you were disappointed by our staff. We would like to have more details about what happened to your clothes.... We don't understand how our staff could refuse to return your clothes... unless the cloths in question were not yet found...they were probably misplaced... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Hong kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I will start my review by saying I did NOT stay there, although I tried 2 weekends in a row for a dorm bed, they were full. I am so glad I wasnt there after all. i did go there to get the shuttle, which is open to everyone. i dont know if they are that rude to everyone, or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thank you to have taken the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry you were disappointed by our services. As you realized, we are quiet busy down here and our receptionist does not have always the time to answer the numerous tourist's questions, especially during the rush to buy Shuttle tickets ! Moreover, our receptionist is obviously not... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

For being one of the main hostels, I wasn't overwhelmed with a party atmosphere. The bar on the roof top was fun, and a good place to mingle at night, or just a nice place to hang out in the daytime. It wasn't too noisy, but I sleep with earplugs anyhow. The Free breakfast was a good deal the one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed our stay with us. We always try to provide a nice and friendly atmosphere in our hostel, offering our guests the possibility to chill and relax. We are happy to hear that you liked the breakfast, our beach shuttles and our ideal location. Have a safe trip ! More 

Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Two things make Casa Oro awesome: 1) Cheap, semi-regular shuttles from San Juan del Sur to Playa Madera ($5 round trip, $3 one-way, running 4 or 5 times a day in peak season. Open to anyone.) 2) Good wifi. I stayed in Casa Oro my first night in Nicaragua. It was a nice place to crash after a flight and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear you liked our Beach Shuttle service and enjoyed our good wifi. We are sorry that you did'nt have the opportunity to socialize with others guests. We always hear comments to the contrary ! Its true that most of our guests are long time travellers and do need to... More 

Seville, Spain
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Positives This is a great hostel to meet people in as it is always busy. The dorms are clean and breezy, and provide a quiet place to rest after a night partying! The bar upstairs is a great place to have some drinks with everyone before heading out, and the hammocks on the ground floor help to nurse a hangover... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear you liked our roof top bar, the common area with hammocks, the breakfast, and our shuttle services. During high season and especially since beginning of 2014, we have been very very busy as you noticed. We have had too many times guests leaving without paying so we had... More 

Zürich
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

I stayed almost a week here, because I liked San Juan del Sur and also the hostel that much. Stayed in a 8-bed dorm which was good, a bit loud sometimes. Staff is very friendly and helpful, breakfast is included and varies every day ( burritos, pancakes, gallo pinto..). The hostel offers transfer to different beaches everyday and their inhouse... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thanks you for sharing your experience with us. It always helps us to improve ourselves. We are glad to hear you liked your stay at Casa Oro, the breakfast, the staff, our shuttles services. We will make sure our kitchen is being improved. Hope to see you again and Have a nice trip. More 

Hoboken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Great centrally located hostel. Large area including upstairs. Good-ish wifi TV with news Brekkie included 7-10am Shuttles to nearby beaches for $5-6 Close to mercado Lots of seating and hammocking GREAT mattresses with covers Spotless Nice staff Attached to surf school Lockers Ensuite bathroom in dorms Fans galore Lights out around 1030p Pay daily for the night you stay $10

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly D, Propriétaire at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a nice review. We are happy to read that you were satisfied by all our services and that you appreciated our nice staff. We always try to offer our guest the best conditions and facilities to enjoy their stay. Have a save trip ! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities