We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saliendo del Colonial, 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (136)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (26)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Casa Oro
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    37
    16
    14
    19
See reviews for
3
30
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was a good place to hang out. Great computers and even better breakfast. New one every day. Good coffee and good company. In town, close to the beach and a shuttle that take you to the beach throughout the day. Good hammocks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comment about your experience during your stay in our Hostel in San Juan del Sur. We are delighted to hear that we could meet your expectations, especially with our daily included breakfast and the good coffee. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look... More

Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I had the best time there! The hostel is very good when you're travelling solo and love to meet new people. It's fun but not a party (animal) hostel! The staff is great, and the trio (Colie, Jude and Amelie) were awesome! The shuttle to the beach and surf lessons are offered by the hostel. Plus the location is great!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a feedback after your stay in our Hostel Casa Oro. We are delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay, especially being in a very central location walking distance to everything, that you met nice people and had fun. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff and for telling us... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Whilst the breakfast was nice and the atmosphere social, I am not in a position to leave a positive review of Casa Oro. I had the unfortunate experience of having my phone and wallet stolen on the beach at night with a friend who was staying at another place. We came back to the hostel to use the wifi to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly D, Owner at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thank you for your helpful feedback about your stay at Casa Oro. We are sorry to hear about your theft incident on the beach. As we have camera surveillance in casa oro including the reception area we have monitored what happened that night and are able to write back to you to explain our policies. We understand that you came... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed here for just the one night and it was fine. I was on a tight budget so the room was a little pricey compared to other places but good for the town. It's set around a really pretty courtyard with hammocks and soft seating to lounge around in. Simple but tasty breakfast is provided. Bed had clean sheets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review to Casa Oro. We are glad to hear that you not only enjoyed your stay but our amenities as well. We're happy to hear that you were pleased overall. It's great to know that you found your room clean, quiet and comfortable. It's also wonderful to know that you enjoyed our Breakfast... More

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Had heard really good things about casa oro so was super disappointed with our experience. We stayed there 4 nights, our room was not cleaned once. The bin in the bathroom was overflowing, the bath may grotty and the curtain rail broke on the first night. No towels available and no locks on dorms. Sleeping was ok, powerful fans did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro, responded to this review

We are so sorry you were disappointed in some aspects of your stay. According to your comment we understand that you were located in the large dorms. These dorms are the less expensive beds in the hostel and still include a good & decent size breakfast.These dorms are very popular and can be full very often, they are cleaned 2... More

San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We did not stay here, so this review is entirely for Alfredo the surf instructor. Alfredo was a fantastic teacher who has a way of making his explanations really stick with you. I've only been surfing a handful of times, but his explanations of how to stand up, posture, catching the right wave, etc. went miles beyond what I'd learned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights when there was a popular music festival on which we stumbled on by chance. San Juan Del Sur was a destination we wanted to go and the guide book had mentioned Casa Oro which is where we headed to and were not disappointed. I'm not so sure about the staff being rude from previous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I didn't stay at casa oro but spent about 1.5 weeks learning to surf with them. The surf teacher Alfredo was fantastic, explained everything really well and was very approachable and welcoming. I really felt like I advanced well in the 1.5 weeks and would definitely recommend the surf class here for anyone looking to learn how to surf in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The beds were comfy and rooms air conditioned, the breakfast is limited and the trips are way expensive compared to other tour companies. Its in a perfect location and there is a roof top which was lovely to relax in. My main problem with this place is i feel its too expensive for what you get, also the staff are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I didn't stay here as you can't book in advance, but I walked up to check if they have a bed left. After being told its full, I said OK and thanks and asked for directions to another big hostel. The lady said she didn't know and went back to her computer. This is a tiny town, everyone knows where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Casa Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
Best Value, Poo...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Oceano
Hotel Gran Oceano
#17 of 20 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Lodge, Shuttle...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#28 of 53 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Free Parking, L...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Lazy Jakes Guesthouse
Lazy Jakes Guesthouse
#5 of 53 in San Juan del Sur
5.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Villa, Fr...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Casa Del Soul
Casa Del Soul
#2 of 53 in San Juan del Sur
5.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Chale's House
Chale's House
#18 of 53 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Room Service, F...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel Maracuya
Hotel Maracuya
#16 of 53 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oro

Address: Saliendo del Colonial, 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Oro Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Casa Oro to your Saves list