We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey

1518 E Chocolate Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033 (Formerly Motel 6 Hershey - Grantville)
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    30
    32
    11
    14
    26
See reviews for
59
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (113)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked room through internet for this hotel. Beware of booking through internet. This motel uses third party billing site which simply charge my credit card without giving any review and pay option. Once I paid it said it is not refundable. On the site, it said expedia.com so I trusted that web site but I found out later that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow, I don't think I have ever slept in a place like this before. We had a much nicer hotel in Washington D.C. for the same price as this one. We stayed in one of their Euro rooms which is suppose to be nicer. Where do I begin? Intermittent WiFi, chipped toilet seat, you must manually turn the t.v. off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CocoaCountryMgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience during your recent stay. We truly appreciate your feedback and we will use it while planning our coming updates and renovations. We would like for you to give us another opportunity to accommodate you in the future, we will ensure that you have an interior room without... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hershey hotels

Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean, comfortable bed, no frills place to stay when visiting Hersheypark. Pool is nice to hang out at before a preview night at the park. Would have given more stars except the air conditioning was not so great, it kept freezing over. Will be staying again for our next trip to Hersheypark.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CocoaCountryMgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We apologize for the issue you had the the A/C. Glad to hear you enjoyed our overall stay and were able to relax by the pool before a fun evening and Hersheypark. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First night there packed & no parking.Other guest also were showing up same time as my family and were irate. The room smelled really bad. Sheets had hair on the pillow case had hair which the bed had not been slept in. Bathroom huge ball of hair next to soap. Not sure housekeeper didnt seem to care. There is no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CocoaCountryMgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey, responded to this review

We strive to make every guest stay comfortable and enjoyable. If you find something unsatisfactory upon check in and during your stay, we ask that you make us aware at that time so we can correct the issue. If we aren't made aware of an issue with cleanliness or other items until our guests are going and writing reviews, it... More 

Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Door to outside didn't lock properly. Anyone could walk in without key. Had a room with a king bed. Sheets had weird stains so we slept on the full size bed. Towels had black hairs stuck in them. Dents in walls. Stains on walls. Key worked off and on to get in our room which made checking out and leaving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CocoaCountryMgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience of the key card and the cleanliness issues in your room. I have shared your feedback with the housekeeping staff to correct the items mentioned and prevent further guest dissatisfaction. I will also talk with our guest service staff to ensure that we are communicating with our guests while they are here. More 

Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

I stayed here with my husband and two kids. Now I knew I was booking a motel in tourist area at a busy time of year. I wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel. I knew we would be at Hershey Park most of the time and we wouldn't be hanging in our rooms all day. We booked for 3 nights.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CocoaCountryMgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. We have shared your feedback regarding the hair on the linens with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen for future guests. I apologize that we did not move your room sooner, the hotel was full the first two nights of your stay. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Please pay attention to the poor reviews. I am far from a snobby person but this room gave me a panic attack when I walked in. It smelled of old dog and cigarettes and it was a non-smoking room. There are stains on the carpets and some on the sheets. There was dead bugs in the air conditioning unit. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CocoaCountryMgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies that you found your room unsatisfactory. If we had been made aware of the issues you found upon check in, we would have done everything possible to make things comfortable for you, including moving you to a different room if necessary. We do not want our guests to be uncomfortable and given the chance to correct... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

Paid cash at check in and credit card was also charged. I've called them 3 times to resolve this issue and still not resolved. The original room was was below level with no window. Our room was changed and was much better. Poor management!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CocoaCountryMgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey, responded to this review

Bonnie: As we explained on the phone when we resolved this issue, the management staff that had the ability to process the credit was out of the country which is why it took so long to resolve. We apologize for the inconvenience this delay caused you. I understand that the credit was processed and you confirmed that the funds were... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

We stayed one night before going to Hershey Park the next day. The whole stay was great starting with a friendly quick check in! The room was nice and very clean with a comfy bed. We had some trouble with our key later that night, but the staff was very helpful and got us in right away! The lady checking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CocoaCountryMgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey, responded to this review

Holly: Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed the recommended restaurant and hope you had a blast at Hersheypark! We hope to see you again soon! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015 via mobile

Thanks to The Coco Country Inn at Hershey, this place is awesome two queen beds,refrigerator, microwave,satellite television, a/c, and a pool. The staff are friendly, and eager to please. They are very concerned about how you are doing during your stay, always asking, if there is anything you need. I would and will stay here every time I have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CocoaCountryMgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey, responded to this review

Theresa: Thank you for the fantastic review! We truly care about our guests and the staff will go out of their way to ensure everyone is happy. It is great to hear when we are succeeding in providing exemplary service and accommodations. Come visit again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
1:25
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hershey hotels
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
2.9 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#5 of 24 in Hershey
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn Hershey
BEST WESTERN Inn Hershey
#18 of 24 in Hershey
3.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#14 of 24 in Hershey
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay