We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
15 West Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Fairfield, PA 17320
The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
rbc1psu York, PA
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    24
    6
    5
    8
See reviews for
19
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
York, PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were looking for a place not too far from home for a quick overnight for my wife's birthday. She had seen the Fairfield Inn advertised, so we decided to check it out. We stayed in the JEB Stuart Room, but were able to look around the whole place. It's full of history, creaky floors, but updated baths in each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keedysville, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
8 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were lucky enough to get reservations for today and we were not disappointed. The food quality was amazing. Big variety of dishes and desserts. The seafood lasagna was heaven on earth, as were the vegetables and garlic mashed potatoes. Also worth mentioning were the fried oysters and steamed shrimp. Everything was excellent. Our server Jenni was great, friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Stanton, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Friends had arranged winery visits and accommodations for this one of our many joint adventures. We take turns planning 2 or 3 day excursions to different states and wine trails. The Fairfield Inn was our surprise. We travel on a budget as far as food and sleep are concerned as our main goal is stock up on wines from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

Thank you for your very detailed review of the Inn. I appreciate your kind words. One of the quirks that I didn't see in your review is that the stairs, and some of the floors, have a slight slant to them. That's because the building was built in 1785! I find it a charming aspect of the Inn. Thanks again,... More 

Columbia, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We stayed at the Inn during a ski trip to Liberty. The manager and cook made us feel at home from the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out. The rooms had so much character. The food during dinner and Sunday brunch were both excellent. We will definitely be returning again soon. Thank you for making our stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

One cold blustery February morning around 11am we decided to stop in at the Inn for Brunch. [we live locally] What a disappointment! And way overpriced. As a restaurant consultant, I had high hopes, but they were soon dashed. Cold food, okay service, mediocre choices. The server was nice, but needed training. The "attention to detail" expected for an historical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

I'm very sorry you were disappointed with your meal. Keeping buffet line food hot can be frustrating. We have had people tell us that the food is hot, and we have had people say it isn't warm enough. And on the same day. As a restaurant consultant, perhaps you can help us find a solution to the fluctuations of temperature... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Absolutely delicious (loved the roasted potatoes) and so many choices. I'm not a fan of biscuits and gravy but theirs changed my opinion! Friendly staff made the visit memorable. Definitely will return when in the area!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

I appreciate your kind words. We endeavor to have the finest ingredients served to the finest people. I'm looking forward to your next visit. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Had a wonderful evening in the Tavern 12/10! We were in the area visiting a friend for the evening from Fredericksburg, VA, and we were looking for a place to eat and enjoy the evening together. What a wonderful place! All of the staff were wonderful and made us feel right at home. The fire in the fireplace was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

You are very kind to say so. We have had people from the Eastern Shore of Maryland tell us our crab cakes are the best that they have had. Next time you're here, try the dinner theater. Professor Kerrigan puts on a marvelous nineteenth century magic show. AND, he's funny! More 

Camp Hill
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We have been going to the Fairfield Inn for Thanksgiving dinner for many years. The food was always great. Nice turkey and ham, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, stuffing, cranberry sauce, etc. However, last year there was new management and everything was not quite as good as in previous years. We decided to attribute that to the fact that the new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were disappointed with your experience. As far as the bill of fare, we publish that it advance on our web page and facebook page. It is a prix fixe meal with three meats, vegetables, stuffing, yams and dessert, all served at your seat by a wonderful staff. We give ample servings, so much that many people took... More 

Bryson City, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014 via mobile

We dinned at the Inn for Thanksgiving. I was not aware that they were serving a traditional meal when I made the reservation. It was a pleasant surprise! We got a lovely full meal that was excellent!! Our service was outstanding the Inn staff were all warm and friendly! We thoroughly enjoyed the meal and your of the Inn!

Was this review helpful? Yes
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

Thanks for the excellent review. We pride ourselves on good food and excellent service. Have you considered signing up for our Feasts of Christmas? More 

East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

A fave location of mine, which I highly recommend. Excellent accommodations from an outstanding staff. Although it's very poslished, you still feel comfortable like you're in your own home. Whether you want to or not, you may have a little visit from a traveler from the past--in spirit! Everyone should experience the rich history of not only this venue, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

Robyne - thanks for the review. Did you get a chance to eat in the restaurant? More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay