We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Erie

2.0 of 5 7865 Perry Highway, Erie, PA 16509
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Red Roof Inn Erie
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Roof Inn Erie
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    183
    74
    21
    8
See reviews for
159
144
42
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (495)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (207)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Erie
See the most recent reviews
State College
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Before I made a reservation I read what the other Tripadvisor reviewers had written. The "Red Roof Inn" sounded just like our kind of place - nice and clean, but also very affordable. The other reviewers were right. The motel was certainly priced right (even for senior citizens), and the newly refurbished rooms had everything we needed. The company calls... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review

Our status on Tripadvisor here has brought us a lot of attention and I am happy to know that our other guest's reviews are so widely read and that they are honest in their feedback. I would like to thank you for your feedback and would like to apologize for the issue you had with the HVAC unit in the... More

Pickering, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just spent 3nights at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised. it was very clean, the rooms have been newly renovated and the bed was comfortable. We had a room at the back and were not bothered by traffic noise. We found the front desk staff helpful and friendly. Only disappointment was breakfast at McDonalds 3 days iin a row, with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review

It is such good news when I read about our guests being surprised at the cleanliness of our rooms! Reading your reviews gives us a level of pride that makes it easier to perform at our best knowing that my team's efforts are being recognized. We have been blessed with an incredible staff here and we all appreciate your taking... More

Coraopolis, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hotel was obviously older, but rooms seemed to have been redone recently. The rooms had laminate floors instead of carpet which I found a little odd. Disappointed in the "free breakfast". Normally this is held within the hotel. Not this case. The free breakfast turned out to be a choice of 4 things from the McDonald's next door. Lot's of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay with us was only mediocre and not excellent which is what we strive to deliver to our guests. While we have been around for thirty years, we do make it a point to keep our hotel looking its absolute best. We have recently made the switch from carpeting in our rooms to laminate wood... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We did not know what to expect when the signs said NEW ROOMS... they meant it.. the front desk person was exceptional..very friendly and answered all our questions. The room was excellent. Neat,comfortable, and they were new. The new flooring was wonderful. Non-slip but easy on the feet and beautiful. Highly Recommend this motel.. and it does not hurt that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review

We were very excited when we first heard the word that our hotel was going to be renovated and now that we're done we couldn't be happier! I am glad that you were as pleasantly surprised as we were! I am so proud to hear that my Front Desk staff did such an amazing job at making you feel welcome... More

Orillia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just got back from a quick shopping trip to Erie. 1st time staying at this Red Roof and it was excellent. New reno is great, beds excellent. Will return in Nov. Only thing is I will stay around the backside of this hotel. It is right at the exit and the traffic noise was a bit much for me. But... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review

I am honored that our Red Roof in Erie was able to set such a positive image for your first stay with the Red Roof Inn brand. Thank you for your approving comments regarding our renovation and beds. We love hearing from guests that we are headed in the right direction when it comes to our presentation and room design.... More

Franklin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Was looking for a nice, inexpensive room for a last minute getaway that wouldn't break the bank. I have stayed at this motel before, but not recently. I was very surprised with the completely updated non-smoking facility. Great stay and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review

I would like to say that I am very happy to know that you were pleasantly surprised when you stayed with us again. I very much appreciate the fact that you enjoyed our new layout of the rooms and our new smoke free policy. We try our best to be competitive with our pricing compared to our market and it... More

Niagara
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just got back from staying here for 2 evenings for a little 'get-away'. As most of the comments state, the rooms are nice enough...refurbished....however, the rooms say non smoking. When we walked into the room, the smell of smoke was really bad. For a non-smoker this is not good. Called Dave at the front desk, who was very, very polite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your honest review of your stay with us. We appreciate hearing about your stays, even if there were area's that weren't perfect as these gives us examples as what to fix for future guests. I would like to thank you for mentioning Dave's hospitality and customer service. I am however, sorry that both of the... More

Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Room is nice enough but a few problems. Room keys don't work well, ABC and NBC not viewable, free breakfast is a coupon to McDonalds and God help you if you are on the Interstate side. Way too close, noisy and for the first time ever there is a quiet AC when you need a noisy one for white noise.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry that your room was so lacking in quality as compared to the service that we regularly strive to deliver to our guests. I would like to apologize for your room keys not holding a charge for the duration of your stay as I know how frustrating it is to frequent the front desk when you should... More

frankfort ky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

what a nice place if you just want a place to sleep, catch up on the internet, or watch a litle t.v. check in was easy. the room was clean and inviting. the value was great. i would definetly stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review

I am very happy to hear that your experience with us was so pleasant and relaxing! It is very comforting to know that my front desk staff is performing well and making the check in process convenient for our guests. We love having the chance to meet new guests and show them why we are all so proud of our... More

barrie
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Rated number one but nothing special staff polite, we stayed in the superior king room which was just average. Smallest washroom i have ever had and no conditioner for your hair unless you ask the front desk. The cleaning staff are not even aloud to have conditioning on their carts. I would recommend this to anyone close to the casino... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay with us was just average and did not exceed your expectations at all. I would like to apologize for your having to go to the front desk for the conditioner. My team would be more than happy to provide you with anything you request when you first check in. I am at least grateful... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Erie

Address: 7865 Perry Highway, Erie, PA 16509
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Erie 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Red Roof Inn

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay