We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)
Hotel amenities
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    60
    43
    59
    57
    113
See reviews for
81
65
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (332)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Buffalo, New York
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel location was great and free parking and wifi were nice too. We had no problems with our room. It was updated and clean, however the AC unit was pretty noisy. Hotel seems a bit dated overall, but not too bad. I think it was a little overpriced for the quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lakewood, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a room here very last minute at about 10:00p. The gentleman at the counter say that I was tired from being at the beach all day and said he was giving me the "King Suite" which had a King-size bed and was one of the rooms that was recently refreshed he said. My room was large and has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erica R, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Hi Dan, We appreciate it that you took the time and write a review about your recent stay with us. Thank you for the kind words. We actually started to work on the bathroom ceilings last week during the weekdays but unfortunately we can not do all of the rooms at the same time. We do hope to have the... More 

Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room,view, location was fantastic! The room was very clean! I dont understand the negative reviews on here, but i would definately book here again just for the location. Our room was not one of the renovated suites and it was really nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erica R, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for your kind words and positive review about our property. We hope to have the pleasure of your stay next year as well. Have a great day! More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is dated. My room (612) had 2 pathetic, over used beds. The box springs were showing and stained. No bed skirts. The center of the beds were sunken. Worn out. Stain on ceiling. Ironing board stained. phone dirty. Bathtub had a film. Carpet stained. Now, with that being said, it is not a 2.5 star as told to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erica R, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Hello Lisa, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are currently going over our procedures to see what changes need to be made in order for the rooms to be more consistent. Hopefully you are considering coming back in the near future and stay at one of our renovated rooms. More 

Travelers are raving about these Erie hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rate was over $100 a night-I have stayed in better and cleaner youth hostels in the past. The rooms were old and dirty. The breakfast tables were filthy and covered in food from previous diners. I left my room for the day with all my belongings in it and when I returned in the afternoon my door had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erica R, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Fiona, we apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We had a meeting with all the staff to make sure these mistakes with the doors will not happen any more. Aside from this response, we were also in contact via email regarding your reservation last week. Best Regards. More 

Glenshaw, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was in a good location for our visit to Erie. The rooms were sufficient as far as space and cleanliness. However, they definitely need to replace their bath towels. They were small and very thin and rough. Thankful for the parking garage, however, there was a lot of water and puddles in it making it a bit challenging... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at the Avalon once before and knew it for what it was. Average accommodations at a value price. Unfortunately, this time, I felt less satisfied than my first visit. Pros: Perfect walking distance to the Warner Theater and local commerce in Erie, affordable, free parking. Cons: Refreshed/remodeled rooms cost $30 more per night than the same "older"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ford City, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was very large but dated. It was fine for our needs and a nice central location in downtown Erie. The rooms are extremely noisy and the walls thin. The room adjacent to ours ended up having a party all night and management wasn't able to handle the situation appropriately. They would quiet down after management visited their room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodsville, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

By far the most disgusting hotel I've ever been in!! Rugs so filthy I would take my shoes off... Ceiling terribly stained and falling down in some areas. Bathroom sink had scum around the handles... I could go on but you get it. If you decide $135 is a bargain, think again and keep on driving!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Price was good. But you get what you pay for. The room was ok but dated. It was clean but old tv and furniture. Parking is an issue here. Front desk said that a wedding party was here and the garage was full. So we could park on street and wait till the wedding party leaves. But who knows when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
5.5 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Erie
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
4.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#9 of 35 in Erie
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 35 in Erie
3.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#24 of 35 in Erie
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay