We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    62
    45
    63
    61
    119
See reviews for
85
70
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (350)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (147)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just arrived home, we stayed one night. On arriving we went to check out the room. There were tiny ants crawling around on the Bathroom floor. We didn't see them anywhere else in the room. Of course no one could have seen them on the carpet if they were there. The room was an updated room, whomever updated it needs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clinton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Avalon Hotel is located in downtown Erie, PA, which makes it extremely convenient to just about any place in downtown Erie. This hotel is a hold-over from the days when hotels were huge, elegant, and very accommodating to their guests, I am happy to report that this spirit is still found in the Avalon Hotel today. Although the Avalon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erica R, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Ron, Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We really appreciate it and we look forward to your next stay! Kind Regards More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I stayed one night on August 24th and we were very impressed with our room. It was renovated with one king bed, and was large and very clean. The bed and pillows were so comfortable. After reading some negative reviews, I was a little worried, but our stay there was wonderful!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erica R, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

We appreciate your positive comments on your recent stay with us and are glad to you had a pleasant stay with us and in Erie. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards! More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came up from Pittsburgh for an overnight getaway. Having spent two and a half years in Erie in the early 2000's I was familiar with where the Avalon was. It puts you in the middle of downtown and within walking distance of all the spots on State St. that you would want to hit up. Pros: Central location Inexpensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erica R, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Good Day! Thank you for your comments and feedback about your experience with us; the hotel, location and rooms. We take all the feedback into consideration and it will be communicated to all the departments. Kind Regards! More 

New Waterford, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My 5 year old, husband, and I stayed at the hotel on Saturday night after a day at the beach. We were made to park down the street at a bank due to the lots being full. Three people in line in front of me had broken air conditioners. One of them was told the hotel was booked and could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erica R, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at the hotel. Our underground parking is on a first-come first-serve basis and there was a big event going on in town and therefore the additional parking areas were full as well. I do want to mention that some guest take their big... More 

Travelers are raving about these Erie hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked in at six, three hours after normal check in, room was still dirty from prior visitors (dirty sheets, bathroom, trash). Went out to dinner while they took care of this. When coming back, parking was full and was forced to park down the street at a bank, that was also full, so had to park in a way where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erica R, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

We’re sorry you were unhappy with the room - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thank you for the feedback. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A group of my friends and I recently stayed at the Avalon Hotel for my friends Bachelorette party. As soon as we got there we found out that there was no air conditioning in our rooms. We were told numerous times that it would be fixed soon. We turned the thermostat down as low as it would go and after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Erica R, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

We’re sorry you were unhappy with your room. Unfortunately we had an issue with our AC system and a professional had to come in to fix the issue. We are happy to read the positive comments about our front desk clerk Jermaine and we will pass it on to him. Thank you for your feedback. More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay on my way to Buffalo. I did not have high expectations after reading the reviews. However, I was pleasantly surprised! I received exceptional customer service from John at the front desk. There was a festival going on downtown and several of the streets were blocked off. I was having a hard time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erica R, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

We appreciate the kind words about your stay and front desk clerk John. We are happy to see that guests that had a good experience with us spread the word as well. We hope to have the pleasure of your stay in the near future again. Kind Regards! More 

Portersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was what we expected. Location was perfect right downtown. We were able to walk to all the concerts and all the festival. Drinking and driving was a non issues Stay in the unrenovated room, but for the price it was fine. Breakfast was included, so that was a money saver also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erica R, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again soon! Best Regards More 

Monroe, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Parking, had to park down the road, at a bank. Front desk lady was rude, the supposedly updated room was dirty, stained, and just nasty Partiers in the hallway until 3:30am, just stay somewhere else!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
5.5 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Erie
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
4.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#10 of 36 in Erie
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#24 of 36 in Erie
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#19 of 36 in Erie
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay