We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fernwood Resort

Hotel website
2157 River Road, 5785 Milford Rd., East Stroudsburg, PA 18302
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fernwood Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    41
    36
    53
    106
See reviews for
130
55
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I decided to go away for the night to enjoy each other and share a little quality time. We picked Fernwood for its spacious and quiet villas. We checked on line first to check availability and price happy with both, we headed out to PA. When we got there they said no walk ins available with no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad that you chose Fernwood Resort and The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway for your getaway. I can reassure you that the current direction of the property is a positive one. Wes have made significant improvements property wide. This plan of action will continue as we determine what areas of the... More 

Frankfort, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went here through a time share point exchange. To my disappointment it was the worst . The units( we had 2) were run down, tear in carpet, dirty toilet, no blankets in bed, broken blinds, dirty shower heads rusty appliances. Although the resort did fix the blinds, and shower heads it took a whole day of calling the office... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fernwood is a quiet property- maintenance needed to be called, but they came right away and fixed our problem immediately. convenient to wineries and restaurants in the area, but limited activities on the property for young adults.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. As you mentioned, Fernwood Resort is conveniently located to many different attractions and restaurants. We also have a wide range of activities for all different ages such as TreeVentures and Pocono Zip Racer, Paintball, Horseback Riding, Blue Lighting tubing and Family Karaoke to name a few.... More 

Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I have been to Fernwoods on 3 other occasions but this was the worse. Not only is the new check in area much smaller, the check in process took almost 30 minutes. The worse part was the keycards that deactivates as soon as you leave the room. We had to drive down multiple hills everyday of our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the level of customer care that you received. I can assure you that this is not our normal standard. I have shared your review with the Director of Guest Services so that he may discuss your concerns with all of the Front Desk staff. Our Resort offers a wide variety of different activities and... More 

fairfield, ct
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in mid-April. The weather was cold in the morning (35 -40 degrees) but to probably the high 60s or low 70s by afternoon. The kind of weather where you need heat in the morning and AC in the afternoon. We arrived around 5 at night and the unit was unbelievably hot. The heat was blasting. Actually the thermostate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with your stay and for the concerns you reported in your comments, I only wish you had made your displeasure known to us so that we may have addressed or relocated you to another villa that would have been more to your liking. I have asked our Maintenance Department to try and determine... More 

Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

STAY AWAY!!!! I've stayed at many places, hotels, resorts in PA and honestly this was wretched. It was last week over Easter/Passover break.... nothing was open for the kids. We actually drove an hour to go to Split Rocks waterpark H2O for the day. The pool closes at 5, why I dont know, the bar is open till 8 (not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for your dissatisfaction while visiting with us. I can understand your disappointment in not getting the vacation you had hoped for. We appreciate all of our guest’s input regarding the property whether positive or negative. I was truly sorry to read that we fell short of your exceptions. I have asked our Maintenance Department to try... More 

Pasadena, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There were several terrible things about this resort. The very worst thing was when all of the running water started coming out dark brown. We called the front desk and were told that they were flushing the pipes out. They did not call to tell us that they were doing this, instead we noticed on our own. When we called... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

First and foremost, please allow me to apologize for the level of customer care that you received. I can assure you that this is not our normal standard, and I have already discussed your experience with our Guest Services Director to ensure your experience is not repeated. I have also discussed your review with our General Manager, with whom you... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

After I booked my 2 night stay - I went on tripadvisor and saw these terrible reviews however to my pleasant surprise the place was excellent. Great deal of the beginners ski package teamed up with Shawnee mountain which is right up the road. A two night stay at Fernwood studio villa with two ski/snowboard rentals, two lift tickets, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Our staff works diligently to ensure each guest enjoys every moment while with us. We are pleased we were able to succeed in making your trip to the Fernwood Resort and The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway a great one. As you mentioned our location offers... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

The short story of this review is that if you are looking for the old Ferwood Resort, it has got up and left. We have visited this resort on four occasions, and this last time I was more than disappointed. I was upset at how this gem of a resort has gone awry with how they take care of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

First, please allow me to apologize for your dissatisfaction during your recent stay. We are continuously working on improving the resort from not only our own observations but also the valuable feedback we obtain from our guests. Our goal is to provide total guest satisfaction. I have shared your review with the Housekeeping Company that services our Resort, with regard... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

First of all the front desk staff has and attitude I thought for the only woman at the desk she would at least be nice.NO she was rude and ask if I had plan to check in at there busiest time. I completely rub her off since it was late and been at work. Then the room wall paper with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (102)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
2:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question