We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fernwood Resort

Hotel website
2157 River Road, East Stroudsburg, PA 18302
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fernwood Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
Review This Hotel

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    41
    33
    53
    102
See reviews for
124
55
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (248)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After I booked my 2 night stay - I went on tripadvisor and saw these terrible reviews however to my pleasant surprise the place was excellent. Great deal of the beginners ski package teamed up with Shawnee mountain which is right up the road. A two night stay at Fernwood studio villa with two ski/snowboard rentals, two lift tickets, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Our staff works diligently to ensure each guest enjoys every moment while with us. We are pleased we were able to succeed in making your trip to the Fernwood Resort and The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway a great one. As you mentioned our location offers... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The short story of this review is that if you are looking for the old Ferwood Resort, it has got up and left. We have visited this resort on four occasions, and this last time I was more than disappointed. I was upset at how this gem of a resort has gone awry with how they take care of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

First, please allow me to apologize for your dissatisfaction during your recent stay. We are continuously working on improving the resort from not only our own observations but also the valuable feedback we obtain from our guests. Our goal is to provide total guest satisfaction. I have shared your review with the Housekeeping Company that services our Resort, with regard... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all the front desk staff has and attitude I thought for the only woman at the desk she would at least be nice.NO she was rude and ask if I had plan to check in at there busiest time. I completely rub her off since it was late and been at work. Then the room wall paper with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was dilapidated. The room had an infestation problem. Overall the activities were really fun. We stayed for the fireworks and snowtubing. We did the zipline rope course. Most of it easy. Though we didn't get to do the zip racer, the obstacle course was fun

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us. Guest feedback, is very important to us. I would like to take this moment to reassure you that the current direction of the property is a positive one. We continue to make improvements property wide and this plan of action will continue as we determine... More 

New Jersey
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you want to be harassed on buying a time share, then this is the place. Not only is this place dated, we were charged premium for this stay. There's no one to come and clean your villa only when it was time to check out. Can say I will never stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback and apologize for your displeasure during your stay. We have recently completed a project in Tree Tops that included new furniture including new mattress, flooring, sliding doors, etc. This same project with also continue into Fairway. We will also continue with our Preventive Maintenance Program. Our Resort does have a Housekeeping Company that services... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is nothing remotely positive about this place. The check in was a train wreck, with about 75 in line when I arrived 30 minutes before check in on February 27th. It was freezing, like -9 degrees and the key the door didn't work and we stood outside for 20 minutes with bags ect... before someone showed up from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. February is the busiest winter month at our Resort, I do apologize for the wait time during your check in process. Maintenance issues are often unforeseen especially during extreme cold negative temperatures Our resort is a family oriented establishment. We proudly accommodate a very diverse range of guests and make no effort... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really wanted it to not be a bad trip after reading the reviews but it was pretty awful. I feel sorry for the front desk staff because they were very accommodating. The "housekeeping" staff at Fernwood should ALL be fired!!!!!! The first villa was NOT clean; crumbs on floor and counter, stains on sheets (eewwwww) and the shower knob was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

First and foremost I would like to apologize for all of your disappointments. I have forwarded your concerns to the Management of the Housekeeping Company that services our Resort, so that they may try to determine the villas in which you checked in to and to investigate why these items were not taken care of prior to the villa being... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We stayed here in January 2015 for the weekend. The best thing about the place was the snow tubing. Other than that I would not recommend this place at all. We had to switch rooms 3 times during our stay. I will give the management credit in trying to accommodate us but the reality is they have little to work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015 via mobile

Only thing the heat went out in the middle of the night . Otherwise snow tubing went well including the breakfast buffet. Price was somewhat hi for a 3 day stay. Could do better in different resort in the Poconos

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for your experience at the Fernwood Resort and The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway. Maintenance issues are often unforeseen, especially in the negative temperatures we have been having this winter. Our Maintenance Department works diligently on all maintenance issues that arise. I am glad that you enjoyed our White Lighting Tubing Park as well... More 

Garnerville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

This was our 4th visit to Fernwood, first time in a one bedroom. It was just as nice as our usual 2 bedroom villas. Love having so much room to relax in and so many of the comforts of being at home. Outside temp was -8 one morning but we were warm and comfy. We loved the snow tubing hill!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your vacation. Our staff takes great pride in offering exceptional service, so that all of our guests can have an enjoyable vacation experience. Our Resort offers many different types of villas from a cozy one bedroom or studio to a 2, 3 and 4... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
2:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question