We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fernwood Resort

3.0 of 5 5785 Milford Road, East Stroudsburg, PA 18302
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fernwood Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
Fernwood Resort
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    33
    52
    106
See reviews for
123
56
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (249)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (79)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Called to get some more information on behalf of my Mom who knows English but can't understand them fully for details. So i called to get those information and relay them to her. Spoke with Jessica from Customer service and she was not only rude but not helpful at all. She doesn't seem to quite understand that , yes people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fernwood Resort is an old, outdated, smelly, dirty place. I was supposed to stay there a few nights last December (through New year's) but the place was so gross I lasted one night. I left and never looked back. The fireplaces don't even work anymore! And you have to pay for WIFI, and it's VERY expensive. No phone signal. Awful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was hard to find our block from check-in station. Not enough light and guides. The staff was not so nice to explain activities. There is only one place to eat even they possess themselves: community. Menu list is poor. Indoor pool with a gym should be renovated. One good thing: nice river passing through the complex, fresh air in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is horrendous! My wife and I went to stay in a studio and, upon our arrival, we knew the website over-promised. First, we waited in line for about 20 minutes just to check in. Following our check-in, we went to our studio apartment (which was more like a basement). The room smelled horribly and the carpet looked like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

First and foremost I would like to apologize for the disappointments you encountered during your stay with us. I can understand your concerns in not getting the vacation you had planned for. The issues you noted in your comments regarding both villas should indeed have been noted and corrected prior to the units being released for check in. I have... More 

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I recently visited the resort for a girl's weekend. First off, try not to travel to this resort in the dark! There are no street lights and minimal lights on the property to direct you where to go. The villa or townhouse that I stayed in was outdated but comfortable. It's spacious and can accommodate a family, it just needs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for giving our location a review and expressing you opinions. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered on your stay with us. I would also like to take this moment to reassure you that the current direction of the property is a positive one. We continue to make improvements property wide, which... More 

grannl2008
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

this place needs major renovation. apparently there are in the process, but they should have closed the place down until it was completely done. the carpet is worn out and had stains there is no freehousekeeping service unless you stay 2 weeks. If you want to pay its $55! indoor pool is not heated We went here thru RCI I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize that you had a less than desirable stay with us. I was disappointed to hear of the concerns that you had made mention of. These housekeeping items should indeed have been noted and corrected prior to the room being released for check-in. Our inspection process is usually quite thorough and I would apologize for any shortfalls in... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

So like many of you I read the reviews before staying at Fernwood and i thought maybe people are just being hard on these guys. I stayed there this past weekend and my wife showered in brown water. Yes Brown water. We immediately reported it bc we were traveling with our young daughters and were concerned about any side effects... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for giving our location a review and expressing you opinions. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered on your stay with us. In researching your guest history I do see that the Front Desk was able to upgrade you to a 4- bedroom lockout studio in Fairway. I do apologize if this... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

The place was falling apart, was outdated, dirty, and the water lines were all bad! They had to flush the water lines twice while we were there. Worst of all, the Management team didn't seem to have a clue about the conditions. We noticed they were updating units, but why put people in the old units at all?!?! Especially when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize that you had a less than desirable stay at our resort. As you stated, we are currently in the process of up dating our Resort with a very aggressive refurbishment program. The resort management will continue with this program as they determine what areas of the resort will benefit from upgrades and enhancements. I can assure you... More 

Lodi, New Jersey
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I've never experienced such a terrible vacation. Black water coming out of the jacuzzi, sinks, shower and toilet. Dust and cobwebs kept us from being able to sleep comfortably. Bugs crawling around the room. Hours waiting for maintenance and housekeeping to solve various issues. We checked out early having been unable to experience any of the Poconos because of their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

I would like to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience that you had at our resort. I have asked our Maintenance Department to try and determine the villa in which you stayed and I also expressed my concern as to why the concerns you had weren’t taken care of in a reasonable time. I was informed that steps would be... More 

Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I planned this getaway hoping to have an enjoyable 2 nights in the beautiful poconos. Enjoyable it was not!! Ive read other reviews and i too opted for the studio villa. What a nightmare. Lamp didnt work, frig didnt work, showerhead rusted, handle fell off dresser when we tried to open it. Toilet kept running when flushed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with your accommodations and for the concerns you reported in your comments, I only wish you had made your displeasure known to us so that we may have addressed or relocated you to another villa that would have been more to your liking. Our Resort offers different styles of villas from the studio... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Address: 5785 Milford Road, East Stroudsburg, PA 18302
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 650
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Fernwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Pa
Fernwood Resort Bushkill
Fernwood Hotel Bushkill
Bushkill Fernwood Hotel Resort
Fernwood Bushkill

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
2:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay