We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Scranton East Hotel & Convention Center

3.0 of 5 200 Tigue Street, Dunmore, PA 18512-2652 (Formerly Scranton East Hotel & Convention Center)
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Scranton East Hotel & Convention Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Scranton East Hotel & Convention Center
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    80
    49
    37
    31
See reviews for
124
75
21
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (306)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (117)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
72 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My daughter and I took a motorcycle trip from Pittsburgh, PA to Connecticut for a family reunion. After a long days ride we were looking forward to a good meal and a comfortable hotel, which was what this hotel was advertised to be. We had trouble finding the hotel (signs had been removed) and on walking into the lobby, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I organized a group rate for my family to stay at this hotel. When I had a question or concern, it took several phone calls and email messages to get a response from the managers, Rhonda or Kristina. A week before our arrival date my brother called to make his reservation. He was told the hotel was closed because of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 12

Travelers are raving about these Dunmore hotels

Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This is the best place to stay at the southern tip of the Poconos. We love staying here throughout the year. Especially in the winter months. It is a great escape and getaway from the weekend. The pool is beautiful. The hot tub is beautiful. The whole inside landscape is gorgeous. We love their breakfast as well. It is to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patchogue, New York
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

All was well until evacuated Sunday morning due to Carbon Monoxide intoxication due to lack of detectors. The hotel was recently renovated and done beautifully. The hotel had nice sized pool and jacuzzi. The breakfast was included and was very good.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
BestWesternScranton, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scranton East Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I deeply apologize for the travesty that happened on August 24th. I apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. Again, my deepest apologies. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance. Sincerely, Rhonda C Hotel Manager More

Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This hotel has a 3.5 star rating on Priceline which is why I booked a room en route from Ohio to Massachusetts. Unfortunately, this hotel was one of the worst I have ever stayed at! The a/c wasn't working throughout all of the public spaces in the building and after being on the road all day having to wait 20... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
BestWesternScranton, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scranton East Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank-you for taking your valuable time to post your review. I apologize, you state you had so many dissatisfactions with our hotel. I really would have love the opportunity to speak with you, especially with all of these issues. I really wished with all of these problems with the hotel , wished you had relayed the information... More

Danbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel and there was a sign on the door stating they were closed, due to maintenance! My husband called inside and the woman was extremely rude. Called the main head quarters and we were able to file a complaint. I Was able to book another room at the Hampton inn, beautiful hotel. Finally got in contact with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
BestWesternScranton, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scranton East Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank-you for taking your time to post this review. I apologize we had a emergency at the hotel and we had to close. It is difficult many times to explain to our guests when there is a problem with a third party booking, we as the hotel can't change or have any of the information on the... More

Long Island, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We booked this hotel and showed up to find out that it was closed due to a CO leak. No one called us to tell us it was closed. We called Best Western corporate and they were clueless. Promised a callback and didn't get one. Told that since we booked through Hotels.com we had to get a refund from them.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
BestWesternScranton, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scranton East Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest , I apologize for you showing up at our hotel and it was closed. I really wished we didn't have to be closed but this is not something we could have ever for seen. I apologize we were closed due to a CO leak.. I'm sorry but when you book third parties they have your monies and we... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Several small issues which were annoying, such as room keys which needed reactivation several times, and refrigerator was off when we arrived, but overall it was a good deal for the price paid. Also in-room internet was spotty, and needed re-activation near front service desk, everyday.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The interior ambience of the lobby/atrium with its balconies, waterfall and pool were eclipsed by a line of guests but only one stressed clerk. Poor houskeeping resulted in a misplaced stool that I nearly tripped over upon entering my room, and uncollected glasses on shelves outside. The easy chair and table were not easy being placed right against the A/C... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BestWesternScranton, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scranton East Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I like to thank-you for taking your time to post your review. I apologize for your stated dissatisfactions. Please feel free to contact me directly. I wished I had the opportunity to discuss with you your stated dissatisfactions while you were staying with us or upon check-out. Sincerely, Rhonda C Hotel Manager More

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I arrive early, could not check in until 4. I had to find somewhere to change for my enagement. The is worse is the evacutation for CO leak,I might not get my money back. No breakfast, outside for 4 h

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
BestWesternScranton, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scranton East Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank-you for taking your time to post your review. I apologize for not being able to get you into your room prior to 4 o clock. I check in time is 4 o clock. I wished you would have asked to speak to a manager or asked during your reservation to see if we could get you... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Scranton East Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Scranton East Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 200 Tigue Street, Dunmore, PA 18512-2652 (Formerly Scranton East Hotel & Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Dunmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Scranton East Hotel & Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Scranton East Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Scranton East Hotel And Convention Center
Best Western Plus Scranton East Hotel Dunmore
Holiday Inn Scranton East
Holiday Inn Dunmore
Dunmore Holiday Inn

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (84)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (33)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay