We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Philadelphia / West Chester KOA

Certificate of Excellence
1659 Embreeville Road, Coatesville, PA 19320
Philadelphia / West Chester KOA
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
50
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This is our fourth year and we just love it. Quiet, beautiful location, every amenity close by. We also visit in the craziness of peak camping season when the park is packed, and the same thing applies. After hours it's quiet, the staff is there to help. What's not to love?

Was this review helpful? Yes
FLA.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights there in September and were generally pleased with our site. Clean and quiet. We used as base to explore downtown Philadelphia,Atlantic city, New York,Hershey,valley forge and Amish countryside

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pemberton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

My husband and I love KOA. We have always had positive experiences and this was no expectation. We have camped here a few times. We first camped in a pop-up by the river. It’s so cozy and a great view of the river where you can fish or canoe. The last time we camped in a 30 ft Motorhome and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

My husband and I recently took our son camping at this KOA site. We selected this site, because we stayed at the KOA in Gettysburg last year and had a wonderful time. We were very disappointed with our experience at the KOA Philadelphia/West Chester. There was pot, alcohol and a general rowdy adult party atmosphere there. In addition to that,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary L, Owner at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are a family campground and we do not allow pot smoking or blatant public drunkenness at our establishment. We strive to police things as best we can, however, since we dress in yellow, we sometimes are not able to catch individuals in the act. We, like all enforcement, rely on eye witnesses to help us.... More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Took a 15 minute drive to train station where we were able to hop on train to Philly and New York City. You are able to have the best of both worlds when you can get clean, safe, quiet sleep close to the big cities. They offer a day tour to Philly and Valley Force. Guide is knowledgable and worthwhile.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bel Air, MD
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We stay at various campgrounds in Maryland and PA throughout the year. This was our first stay at this KOA. We stayed in a deluxe cabin with a loft and it was one of the nicest cabins that we have stayed in! Great room and enjoyed all the amenities (tv, fireplace, kitchen, full bath, etc.). There was plenty of cupboard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North East, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

My husband and I have camped here several times over the past 4 years. We love this place! We usually make it a point to go here once or twice during the camping season. The camp store is the best we've ever seen. The pool is clean and nice. They have lots of different family oriented activities. The location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aliso Viejo, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were very pleased with our back-in upgraded site on the hill with a patio set. A short walk to the nice bathrooms and showers. It was not much further to the creek or the swimming pool. The pool was clean and had a lifeguard. This campground set the standard for the rest of our trip. We had a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We went for our first trip with our camper and this was great! They brought us to our site and helped guide us to back in since we had never done it before. They were also really helpful when we had a problem with our hitch. It is really clean and all of the staff are so friendly and helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
68 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

First of all the campground and facilities are nice. BUT, when we reserved a site there was no mention of a "resort fee" of $7.50 per day for each of my 2-15 year old daughters. I only saw this charge on my bill AFTER I paid. Sneaky way of getting a few extra bucks, but someone needs to be upfront... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary L, Owner at Philadelphia / West Chester KOA, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of our park and I apologize for any staff who may have treated you improperly during your stay with us. I would like to note, however, that we do not charge a resort fee. Our rates cover 2 adults and children 12 and under. The additional person charges for the teenagers of $7.50 was included in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question