We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Chadds Ford hotels

Brandywine River Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Brandywine River Hotel to your Saves list
Brandywine River Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
69%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013
Kris P Coventry, United Kingdom
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    49
    24
    8
    16
See reviews for
32
78
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Brandywine River Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We used to stay here all the time but about 18 months ago a rude clerk at checkin discouraged us for future visits . Last week we decided to try again. We thought we were calling the Hotel directly but it turns out we were talking to Hotels.com. We signed up for 2 nights. the morning of our scheduled first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
daysspringfield, General Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruth, I am sorry to read about the issues you had with the cancellation of your reservation. I know it is frustrating but when a guest books with a third party site such as Hotels.com etc, the guest is paying that website not the hotel, and they alone hold the ability to refund your payment. It is always difficult... More

Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two days while on business. Room was very quiet, although I could hear the periodic use of the ice machine as it disgorged a supply of ice in someone's ice bucket. Since there is no room service, I would expect some amenities in the room to aid the traveler: microwave, coffee maker, frig, room safe. All or some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
daysspringfield, General Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vince, First of all thank you for taking the time to review your stay. During your stay we were in the process of fixing the wireless system and it is now up and running as it should be. It was not working up to the standards our guests nor we expect, but we do want to let you know... More

Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at the Brandy Wine River Hotel whilst visiting Longwood Gardens. The hotel was quiet quaint and comfortable, along side this is was a nice environment with an additional feature of being able to go downstairs to have tea and biscuits at 4pm; It was greeted as a pleasant change to other generalized hotels.The front desk was very helpful regarding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I know that there is new ownership. But, when you ask for a guest comment card at departure and you are told "we don't do that anymore", it explaines what happened to a place we really enjoyed before. No Wi-Fi in our room, jets did not work in the Jacuzzi, What happened to the breakfast? Bigelow tea, but none of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NJ
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place really needs work! Fresh paint, new carpeting and fix the plumbing. Just for the start.. Send your front desk to take a few customer service courses...Stop turning the ice machines off at night. Stop calling your breakfast offering a European plus breakfast. Lastly this is not even close to a European style hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Newark, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My room was tiny and becoming rundown. The jacuzzi jets were inoperable which really didn't matter as the jacuzzi would not hold water. The "Breakfast" was practically non-existent. The staff was extremely arrogant and rude, especially the manager! I have never had a worse experience anywhere! Never going back, and warning all my friends and family to avoid this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rochester, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The description of this motel is over the top when compared to reality. It is a basic, clean, small place to stay for the night. The included breakfast was minimal, with packaged muffins, one choice of cold cereal, toast, juice, and a waffle iron. It certainly did not live up to the words "elegant", "charming", or "boutique". The double/double room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cape May, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Janice & Chef Joey make your experience one of a kind with their positive and outgoing attitudes and wonderful personalities. The food is great and the omelette station is to die for. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is nice, comfortable, very pretty and well situated. The rooms and bed very comfortable, and the staff accommodating. Breakfast was included, but it was like being on a treasure hunt. Hopefully this was a bad week and not the norm. There was one waffle-maker and a shelf with a few bagels and some cake. The bagels ran out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed here many, many times and have always enjoyed our stay. I had read that the place had gone downhill but refused to believe it without seeing it for myself. Sadly we experienced several small disappointments which, when taken altogether, left us nostalgic for the "old" hotel. First of all, the place needs an update. The furniture, bedspreads,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Brandywine River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Brandywine River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Chadds Ford with
any amenities