We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Benezett accommodations

Wapiti Woods

Save Saved
You added Wapiti Woods to your Saves list
5186 River Road, Along SR 555 and the Elk Scenic Drive, Benezett, PA 15868
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (11)
  • Photos (14)
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Wapiti Woods
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benezett
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was looking for a cabin for some friends to get together for my boyfriend's birthday. I wasn't looking for something this nice, but the fact that they had family cabins that slept 6 (plus a full sized futon in the living room that could sleep an extra person), and that it was fully stocked sold me. I felt the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just wanted to give a great big Thanks for a fantastic weekend June 6-8th at your Cabins. What a great place to “run away” to. Lots of hiking around and elk to see, then to come back to VERY clean accommodations and peace and quiet. Loved that there were no vehicles right outside your door to wake you at odd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WapitiWoods, Owner at Wapiti Woods, responded to this review

Thank you for that fantastic review of our guest cabins and about your experience in the area. We look forward to seeing you again, soon. Steve & Coleen K. Wapiti Woods More

DuBois, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed in a romance cabin for a "pre-honeymoon" the owner was very nice. the cabin itself was beautiful and clean the woodburner was very nice beside the jacuzzi tub. there is no cell service which is perfect for a getaway from life like we were looking for. the cabin has heat but i turned it off and used the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WapitiWoods, Owner at Wapiti Woods, responded to this review

Thank you for your favorable review. We do note in our “Cabin Stock List and Guest To-Bring List,” found on our website at www.wapitiwoods.com, that camp slippers or shoes are recommended. We know that an aggregate stone finish might be harder on some of our guest’s bare feet, but wanted a flooring surface that would stand up to, and make... More

Coaldale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My hysband and I stayed here from October 26th to the 29th. Cabins are very clean and well maintained. Owners are very friendly. We loved our stay in Elk county and cabin #1. I read some reviews were it said "no cell phone service "and "had to walk to our cabin from parking area", if you do your homework and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WapitiWoods, Owner at Wapiti Woods, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review and comments. We wonder if we need to more prominently note the nonexistent cell phone service, cable / dish TV access and inability to drive onto the cabin grounds on the Wapiti Woods website (these items have been noted on our website since we opened in 2003). We do believe that the lack of... More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a two night stay during September. The area is beautiful and very well kept. The cabins are clean and in great shape. The property is bordered by a stream which is accessible from any cabin. There is also a nice walking path through the property. CONS - They are currently constructing three new cabins. The work started at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WapitiWoods, Owner at Wapiti Woods, responded to this review

Wapiti Woods added four new guest cabins in 2013/2014 that included three new 2 person Romantic Cabins and a new 6 person handicap accessible Family Cabin. We expected all of that work to be completed sooner. We certainly apologize for noise during the construction and expansion. We simply had no room to push work back or forward due to the... More

york pa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I booked this cabin after calling one of the local Chambers of commerce and being told that I was booking so late that I probably wouldn't find a place to stay. I was given the names of Wapiti woods and 2 other places that were in the area but were booked. When doing an internet search only those 3 came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WapitiWoods, Owner at Wapiti Woods, responded to this review

Oh, where to start….thank you for the very thorough review. It is good to see both pros and cons. Pros…again, thank you for that! Cons …Construction of new guest cabins – we added on four new guest cabins in 2013/2014. That includes three new 2 person Romantic Cabins and a new 6 person handicap accessible Family Cabin that are all... More

Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in cabin #3 for our honeymoon from September 22-25th, 2013 and wow!!! What an experience. Saw tons of elk, turkey and deer and it was an incredible experience. The owner of Wapiti Woods is awesome and extremely accomodating. The cabin was beautiful and romantic. This is probably one of the best vacations I have ever had and plan... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WapitiWoods, Owner at Wapiti Woods, responded to this review

A great experience and memory…thanks for coming to enjoy our place for your honeymoon. You had a great stay without even using one of the two person Romantic Cabins…that’ll be a treat for you when you come back! Steve & Coleen K. Wapiti Woods More

Conowingo, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day getaway - actually my parents had booked the cabin but my mother was diagnosed with terminal cancer in July and tried to cancel due to her inability to travel. However, the owner wouldn't refund her $ because it was within 60 days of the reservation. Upon arriving, I mentioned this again and he said,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
WapitiWoods, Owner at Wapiti Woods, responded to this review

We certainly do understand and make exceptions for emergency situations that we all deal with in life…deaths, sickness, accidents, loss of employment…things outside of our personal control. Since we took our first rental, in those instances when a cancellation falls inside of our 60 day cancellation policy, we charge for the reservation deposit but we also hold that deposit, good... More

Travelers are raving about these Benezett hotels

Blandon, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The exact reason we go here is to get away. There is a parking area for cars and buggies with big wheels are provided to get your supplies to the cabin. This certainly cuts down on the noise and light. The path is lighted to each cabin. This also increases your opportunities for wild-life viewing from your cabin front-porch swing.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WapitiWoods, Owner at Wapiti Woods, responded to this review

We recently added a quality, in-ground, stand-up charcoal grill at each cabin to make it easier for the outdoor chef. Grilling utensils are provided, along with mountain pie irons, hot dog & marshmallow cooking sticks, as well as a “Stoaker” for those wood burning enthusiasts. The Stoaker is a handy tool to tinker with the burning wood to get that... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

They are clean and newly built but too isolated. No cell service. No sunlight. A little too much iin the woods. Plus you have to walk from parking area to cabins. Not good for seniors. Bed uncomfortable. No way to reach anyone in case of emergency. Just way too much money for the price of these cabins. Maybe if the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WapitiWoods, Owner at Wapiti Woods, responded to this review

No vehicles are allowed to drive past the parking lot onto the cabin grounds. There is a lighted, level, rolled, gravel pathway that is perfect for the large, covered hand drawn wagons. They have big pneumatic tires for easy pulling and have ample room to move personal belongings from the parking area to your guest cabin in one trip. If... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Wapiti Woods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Wapiti Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wapiti Woods

Address: 5186 River Road, Along SR 555 and the Elk Scenic Drive, Benezett, PA 15868
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Benezett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Wapiti Woods and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wapiti Woods staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer