We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beachcomber Cottages

Hotel website
95500 Hwy 101 South, Yachats, OR 97498
The Beachcomber Cottages
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have traveled extensively and stayed at many places and never left a negative review. This place was by far one of the worst places I've ever stayed internationally and nationally. Our unit shared walls with the caretakers house which they didn't tell us before hand, road noise was incredibly loud, and you had to walk by the other units... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Cottages, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with Beachcomber Cottages. These units are properly cleaned and cared for, however they are lower end accommodations and are priced accordingly for oceanfront cottages. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

This a small place for people who don't havery allot of money to spend for bread and breakfast for a coastal view on the Oregon Coast. people would agree that the prices at these places are pretty expensive. The cottage at the beachcomber are less to pair. I love it because your right next to beach you dont have travel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

The cottage number 1 "The Starfish" is a very affordable place for a couple to stay in the central coast. It has a perfect location to explore all the beautiful places around and it is right on the beach with amazing views of the ocean. The cottage itself is private but has a shared inside wall with another guests so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BcCottages, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We value the feedback we receive, and we will use it to improve future guest experience. We do love the location of these cottages! More 

Vancouver
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We are currently staying at The Driftwood cottage at the Beachcomber Cottages. Our check out date is on Friday but I am considering leaving in the morning with my family. To be honest, people on the Oregon Coast are very friendly and Vacasa Rentals have been the disappointing part of our stay. We arrived to a substandard clean cottage. Some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
BcCottages, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are terribly sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay. Vacasa takes sub-par cleans very seriously and would have happily had a housekeeper dispatched to the property to address any complaints that you may have had. We were not informed of this until receiving this review.... More 

Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We enjoyed our time here! While modest, they're a great value for beachfront accommodations. We enjoyed the location and the cottage, and we will be back in the future. It was a great spot for our family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cottage Grove, Oregon
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Their beachcomber lodge lacks all the charm of the main "lodge." It is in ill repair and does not sleep eight comfortably as claimed. It didn't even have right chairs around the table. The dining room is small and crowded and it was smelly and unkempt. The whole interior looks like someone just threw on a coat of paint, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
BcCottages, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Beachcomber Cottage. We have recently taken over management of these cottages and are looking forward to making improvements to the units and service. We're sorry you were unhappy with your stay. More 

Reno, Nevada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

While promised service daily, we received no service. No clean linens, cleaning products, paper products, or trash can liners. We had no one to contact. The office did not exist and while we left phone messages, no one returned our calls. After the water was turned off the last day of our stay we attempted to contact the new owner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
BcCottages, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Cottages, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We would never let a guest know that a lack of water was 'not our problem'. We have a local property manager who is very concerned and invested in the satisfaction of our guests. Daily housekeeping is NOT promised or provided. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The only thing good about this rental was the location. When we initially booked the cottage it was not owned by Vacasa. We were told it had everything needed, towels, cleaning supplies, toiletries, etc. We should have known when there was no one there to check us in and had to call a handwritten note on the door. First we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
BcCottages, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Cottages, responded to this review

First of all, we apologize that you were unhappy with your visit. Vacasa does currently manage these units and there is no onsite staff. Your check in and lock box instructions are emailed to you several days prior to your arrival. We apologize if this was not clear in the check in instructions. More 

Eureka, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed in number one. Very noisy due to proximity to the highway. No management on site anymore. Property is in a great location but the living room floor is sagging and the cabin needs to be jacked up. Bed was comfortable. Bath linens were stained and had it not been for the previous manager, Ty, we would not have had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
BcCottages, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Vacasa has just taken over management of these units. We're sorry to hear that there were some problems with your stay and we are looking into correcting any issues to make sure all future guests have a great stay! More 

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Arrived and with no way to get into the room. Key in lock box with no code provided. Spotty cell phone and wifi so unable to communicate. Took over an hour to get into the place. No working smoke detector. Wifi advertised but intermittent at best. New management required that we pay ahead prior to check out. Threatened to call... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
BcCottages, Guest Relations Manager at The Beachcomber Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Vacasa has just taken over management of these units. We're sorry to hear that there were some problems with your stay and we are looking into correcting any issues to make sure all future guests have a great stay! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question