We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 The Dalles hotels

Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3223 Bret Clodfelter Way, The Dalles, OR 97058
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles to your Saves list
Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
38%
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in The Dalles
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
djbtravis Meridian, Idaho
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    25
    28
    41
    17
See reviews for
24
40
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Dalles, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Rooms haven't been updated since the 80s. Two tiny towels and only 1 wash cloth in a queen room. Old hard pillows. Not at all worth the price. Restaurant is pricey and I could have burned my own fish at home for a lot less money. Too bad as the location has potential!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Dear JDGFF, Thank you for your commenting on your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We value your comments, as we are constantly trying to improve our guest’s experience. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the future. Sincerely, H. Baker-General Manager More

Meridian, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at The Dalles Shilo Inn on our way to the Oregon Coast. We were pleasantly surprised. I had not read any of the reviews before our stay, but we did not have any issues. The wi-fi worked great. We did not hear noises from other guests. The bed was comfy and we loved our room. The decor is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Dear Djbtravis Thank you for your recent review and for being a valued Shilo guest. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely, H. Baker-General Manager More

Hermiston, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here many times in the past, but I think we will probably look elsewhere from now on. Yes, the place is well worn,the spa is still "under construction",the bar had 4 stools (most occupied by off duty staff) and it looks like the hotel is going to close at anytime. I paid $176.00 for 1 night with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Dear Matt M, Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. I sincerely apologize that our spa was not operational and for the inconvenience you experienced. We are currently undergoing a complete refurbishment of that area. I hope that you will give us a future opportunity to regain your confidence when we complete the spa renovation.... More

Travelers are raving about these The Dalles hotels

Fall Creek, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I had always thought Shilo Inns were a higher quality location. The Dalles location is in need of updating. There was no wifi in rooms. The bathroom door would not latch, the next room's TV sounded like it was in our room, and everything looked very used. We had considered staying at the Super 8. I think it would have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Dear Ken D, Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. I sincerely apologize that your experience failed to meet your expectations. Your comments are important and will be used to improve our guest experience. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to regain your confidence in the future. Sincerely, H. Baker-General Manager More

Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have never stayed at a Shilo Inn and will hesitate to stay in any of their inns. Once we checked in we noticed that the outside "secure" doors which supposedly needed your key only needed to pulled opened. So for security there was none. The hot tub was unavailable, the business center in the lobby was out of service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comment on your stay with us here in The Dalles. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience. We are continuing to work on the Spa Fitness area so that it may be utilized once again by our guest, and do apologize that you were unable to take advantage of... More

Deer Park, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed here on a number of visits to Oregon. It's a nice stop off, before traveling to the Willamette Valley the next day. Yes, it is older, however, the staff is warm & friendly. You do get breakfast in the restaurant. There are three selections to choose from. They do offer a "Veterans" room rate, which is nice.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comment on your stay here with. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found your room and views offered to your liking, and our wonderful staff was welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip through The Dalles. Thank you, Heather Baker General Manager More

Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The fitness center was closed for renovations, which was VERY disappointing. Reservations should advise people of this as it is important to some people. According to past reviews on Trip Advisor, it's been closed for a long time... Everything is outdated and run down in the motel. They still use metal keys, which don't work in the deadbolt- only the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent comment. I do apologize that your stay was disappointing. Our spa fitness area is closed for renovations and we are working towards getting that project completed so that our guests may utilize the area once again. I will pass your comments along to the restaurant owners in regards to the breakfast selection. If... More

Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We didn't stay here, although we tried to. Even though this motel takes dogs, we were told it accepts no other pets. We were traveling with a small bird, a cockatiel, in a cage. So, we had to find another place. It's up to them what kind of pet policy they have, but it's not obvious that this would be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Dear MisterED57, Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that our pet policy prevented you from being our guest and for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Sincerely, H. Baker-General Manager More

Haugesund, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night on our way from Utah to Portland. Perfect location close to I-84. The place looks old and used, but the staff was friendly and the room was clean. A bit pricey compared to the standard, but not too bad. Fast and efficient check in and check out. Room service was good. Good sleep quality, no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your recent comment about your stay with us here. I am glad that enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future should you be in the area. Thank you, Heather Baker General Manager More

Antrim, New Hampshire
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

1. The fitness center was closed for renovation. How about moving the fitness equipment to another room during the renovation? Or update your website about the renovation. One of the reasons this place was picked was for the fitness center. 2. There was nothing fresh about the fresh fruit cup that came with one of the only three options for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shilohotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent comment regarding your stay with us. I do apologize that the fitness center was closed and wasn’t available for use during your stay. I also want to apologize that you did not get cleaning service after your first stay, and the towel bar issue was not addressed. We have taken corrective action to... More

Been to Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

Also Known As:
Shilo Inn The Dalles Hotel
Shilo Inn The Dalles Hotel The Dalles
Shilo Inn The Dalles
The Dalles Shilo Inn
Address: 3223 Bret Clodfelter Way, The Dalles, OR 97058
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.