We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Rockaway Beach hotels

Surfside Resort

101 NW 11th Ave, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136 (Formerly Surfside Motel)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Surfside Resort to your Saves list
Surfside Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Rockaway Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (266)
  • Photos (102)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (95)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    119
    30
    10
    18
See reviews for
104
85
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This was the second time we stayed here. This is such a great little find. We have a large family with a dog and the family suite is perfect. It is conveniently located right on the beach and even has a little indoor pool. The staff is always so nice. The rooms are clean with well stocked kitchenettes. If you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Pros: right on the beach, clean, easy access to 101 (but you can't hear the 101), the full kitchen was wonderful, excellent price Cons: towels and sheets smelt like bleach (which I guess is better than smelling like something dirty), easy to hear neighboring rooms and the refrigerator was very loud, felt like a very old facility (something that obviously... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had just rented a VRBO house near Pacific City and were planning to go back to Portland on Monday. Since it was going to be 95 in Portland we decided to spend another day on the coast. we were able to find Seaside resort and it met our expectations for a nice place for my wife and me and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed during our cross country road trip. Price fit into our budget. We were in a large suite with a fully stocked kitchenette, fireplace, balcony with view, flat screen TV, couch, dining table with 2 chairs. Furnishing a bit dated but clean. Bed and pillows comfy. Easy access to beach and nice beach. no breakfast provided but we enjoyed our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fort Calhoun, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay was fine with a few minor exceptions. The desk clerk was having a meltdown because it was very busy and not all of the housekeeping staff came to work. She was pleasant but very unprofessional. The suite was larger than expected and comfortable - the bed too soft for our liking but it would be fine for others.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel in July, mid week for $150/night. I wanted to stay at a hotel right on the beach (there are many hotels on beach in coastal OR) - so I figured I'd splurge on something nice, right on the water. I was told I'd have a "suite" room, with a kitchen and sitting area, ocean front.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JHKManzanita, General Manager at Surfside Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. First, I'd like to apologize for your unsatisfactory experience, as it is not characteristic of the level of service our staff strives to provide to our guests. Your feedback was shared with our staff, including housekeeping, frontdesk, and maintenance to address many of the issues you have shared... More

Vancouver, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location and wonderful staff. We had a great time and will return. If you want something right on the beach this is the place. Also dog friendly for a minimal fee. Great little pool for the kids when the weather wasn't great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JHKManzanita, General Manager at Surfside Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Shannon for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Surfside! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time during the stay, and thank you for your compliments regarding our staff. I will make sure to pass it to our staff, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rockaway... More

Vancouver, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this room last minute and really had no idea anything about the hotel. Much to my surprise the room exceeded our expectations! Extremely spacious, on the beach full kitchen; and a heated indoor swimming pool as well. Yes the decor is outdated but this is a small beach town so in my opinion to be expected. What really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JHKManzanita, General Manager at Surfside Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! We're pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. We always strive to offer the best service as we can, and hope to provide a better experience for you on your visit next month. Sincerely, Surfside Resort More

Puyallup, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice place. Very good for two nights. Enjoyed the amount of space. Very close to the beach. Somewhat in walking distance to the main town. Staff was polite. The gas fireplace did not work. Needs a litte updating with carpet and paint but in general great place. We will stay again for a longer period of time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a decent hotel, since they allow dogs for $10 a dog per night. Our dog sniffed certain areas like crazy, where it appeared other dogs left their scent. We've stayed at other pet friendly hotels in the past and our dog has never sniffed this much before. The carpet looked clean at least. I stayed in a family... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Surfside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Resort

Address: 101 NW 11th Ave, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136 (Formerly Surfside Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Rockaway Beach
Surfside Motel Rockaway Beach

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have a beautiful oceanfront view, heated pool, gas fireplace, and balcony as well as a a variety of accommodations to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
69

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer