We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Rockaway Beach hotels

Surfside Resort

101 NW 11th Ave, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136 (Formerly Surfside Motel)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Surfside Resort to your Saves list
Surfside Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
78%
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Rockaway Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Lisa457 Abbotsford, British Columbia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (291)
  • Photos (110)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (103)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    129
    33
    13
    18
See reviews for
115
91
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, British Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I, our teenage son and his girlfriend spent two nights at the Surfside. I knew upon booking on booking.com that the motel wasn't new or modern. It is very outdated, especially the kitchens, bathrooms, artwork, and old-style keyed door locks. It is however reasonably clean. You are paying for the view and the incredible beach! We loved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our third stay in six years. Our room was looking pretty shabby. Small TV in living room, dirty looking couch with holes in it that only fit one adult and two kids - not ideal for evening TV watching. Serious housekeeping issues - arrived at 4:30 and the room wasn't ready. Day two - housekeeping arrived at 5:00pm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JHKManzanita, General Manager at Surfside Resort, responded to this review

Dear RSmith, First I'd like to thank you for taking the time to write the review nd for staying with us over last 6 years. We always appreciate long time returning guests. However, I am discouraged to hear of your negative experience regarding our in-room amenities. We strive to improve our room amenities during the offseason as much as we... More

Mill Creek, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Thank you for another great stay this year. We have visited Surfside Resort for quite a few years and this year we noticed that some updates had been made to the décor in the rooms, which was a nice addition. Now, the next update which would be nice to upgrade is the toilets, as we did have to contact the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We set out on a family Oregon road trip and were looking for a reasonable place to stay for a few nights. Having read other reviews, I did not set out with high expectations. Turns out, we had a great time! This was the perfect place - right on the beach with wonderful sand. Kitchen unit that was easy to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In June I booked a room for two for arrival on the 18th of August for a four night stay. I booked the room through booking.com and received an email from the Surfside Resort that our room would feature a "panoramic" ocean view. Upon our arrival we were given a key to room 117 in building C and discovered we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rockaway Beach is not on the direct route to the Pacific coast... but it is quiet and serene. The Surfside Resort was "reasonable" in high season, very clean, modern, and unpretentious. There is a pool aside from the fact that it is right on the ocean, and it meets the description of a "getaway." There are full apartment-sized suites, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Summerville, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I have been staying at the Surfside for years. It's a great place to stay because it has such wonderful beach access. We don't love crowds and the 7 miles of beach always has room. Having a kitchen in the room isgreat because you don't have to eat out all the time. It's not fancy, so if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ellensburg, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our hands down favourite place to go. We are a family of 5 plus dog. We always get the pet friendly suite with a separate bedroom for the kids. It's ideal - the kids get their own room with blackout blinds, closing door, and TV. What more could you want??? Plus, kitchenette so we can make our own... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a perfect location at an affordable price. You can literally walk right out of your room and on to a beautiful beach. The rooms are nothing special but they are more than adequate and have been recently updated. Bed was good for a comfortable nights sleep. Staff was helpful and friendly. Recommended stay for the perfect location!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Its in a great location. Easy beach access and very friendly employees! The indoor pool is decent. Be nicer if they had a hot tub. Rooms need updated! A little expensive for the over quality of the room but not horrible. Over all its a decent hotel with amazing views!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Surfside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Resort

Address: 101 NW 11th Ave, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136 (Formerly Surfside Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Rockaway Beach
Surfside Motel Rockaway Beach

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Rockaway Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have a beautiful oceanfront view, heated pool, gas fireplace, and balcony as well as a a variety of accommodations to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
69

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Surfside Resort and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Surfside Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer