We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

3.5 of 5 1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    311
    144
    46
    11
See reviews for
109
170
56
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (712)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (245)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (227)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Whitefish, Montana
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars NEW

Stayed one night for a group meeting. While the room had been updated, it was quite small, particularly the bathroom. They must still be working on the hotel because I kept hearing construction noise when I was in the room. Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The meeting rooms were in good shape and the banquet food was quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was very impressed by this hotel. I had read some reviews about the rooms being dated. They are currently renovating the hotel and we got a lovely room facing the lake that had been completely remodeled. We went over a weekend so the concierge lounge was closed but we were given vouchers to use in the Truss restaurant on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
68 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am often not disappointed by the marriott brand, but in this case I was. I have stayed at the other Marriott in portland and it was a better experience and where I will stay in the future. This location is in need of a major upgrade in all aspects beyond the lobby (which is OK). The room I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spokane, Washington, Usa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights for a dental conference my husband was having in one of the meeting rooms of this hotel. I came along and we brought our son. There were some great things and a few things to be aware of. First, the customer service from all of the staff, in the restaurants, at the front desk,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The usual efficient and friendly spot that one would expect of Marriott. Not sure that I am a fan of the new "let me be your friend" approach of the front desk staff. Room appeared to be newly renovated. As with all Marriotts, it was squeaky clean. The housekeeping staff did not get around to cleaning the room until almost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for not having your room cleaned before your return in the afternoon. Our housekeeping staff cleans rooms typically between 8am and 5:30pm and your room was probably the last one of the day. We can make arrangements for specific times for cleaning of... More 

San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in a great location. Get a room with a view if you can. The rooms are nice, clean and updated. The bar in the lobby is fun! We ate breakfast in the dining room and it was great. The service in the hotel is A+++

Was this review helpful? Yes
Issaquah, Washington
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have avoided this hotel for many years, as I don't feel as though you get the Marriott treatment at this location, as the hotel is very dated, and in much need of a refresh. They have signs indicating a refresh is coming or might be in process, but not my room... I decided to try it again, as I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear KM, thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry we were not able to accommodate a better view with your stay. We pride ourselves in offering great service and I'm glad you were able to experience this with our concierge lounge staff while you were with us. If your travels bring you back to Portland in the near future,... More 

Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checking in 35 USD a day for parking and 10 USD a day for internet, plus they want 20 USD a day for water view. Always makes me feel I'm being cheated , especially after the big deal about them blocking internet access for our safety at conventions. Nice room and good food. No good deals here. Rather stay at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay. We pride ourselves in having a great staff that offers great service. We do charge additionally for various services like valet parking and wifi and we check the market often to make sure we are at competitive rates. You... More 

North Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a long weekend with a friend and enjoyed it very much. Great view of the river and since we had clear weather, also a fantastic view of Mt Hood. Hotels are expensive in Portland and this is no exception. Wi-fi is not free either. We had hoped to use the indoor pool and hot tub, but they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sun Valley, Idaho
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service at this hotel was great. All employees were very helpful and pleasant. Our room was average - nothing special. The ottoman had some stains on it. Hot water in the bathroom was extremely hot - to the point of possible burn. We used the hotel pool and spa. The pool area was below average. Moldy stains, filthy spots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
William S, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. You may be interested to know we are in the middle of a full renovation of our guest rooms and by May of this year we will have an exciting new product for our guests. We apologize for the issues with our pool area. It will be taken out of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Address: 1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott Downtown Hotel Portland
Marriott Portland
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#40 Business Hotel in Portland

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (143)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay