We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
1401 SW Naito Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Add Photo Write a Review

833 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    245
    359
    157
    55
    17
See reviews for
133
197
59
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (833)
  • Mar-May only
    (193)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (316)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (227)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall the hotel was great and I loved it. The best view is the river view from a higher floor, and it's also quiet on the river side. Only downsides were that the internet was not free and there was no fridge in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is good, and the staff was friendly but there are some issues. We were in room 808 and it was lacking in several areas, especially for the price. There were no drawers to put clothes in, no places in the bathroom to hang anything and no fan in the bathroom. And if you want WiFi in your room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lora F, Front Office Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

T P, Thank you very much for staying with us, I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize that our hotel guest room did not meet your expectations. Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you. More 

Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was nice but very active. My room (1438) had a weak a/c. It could not keep up and allowed the room to get to 76 with the curtains closed. They sent someone up three times but no improvements. They said the hotel was full so they couldn't move me. On the third night they finally offered to replace... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lora F, Front Office Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

Jerry, Thank you for taking that time to review our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the AC issues you experienced while at our hotel. During our recent renovation we upgrade all out AC units. I will share this issue with my engineering department to ensure this in a isolated incident. Again thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please... More 

Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great accommodations and the staff was exceptionally friendly. The proximity was walking distance to the OMSI and many other Portland attractions. When we arrived at the hotel, we parked our vehicle (across in the street for $19/day vs. hotel valet for much more) and didn't move it until we headed out of town. ~Great Portland experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
143 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

PROS: Nice location with waterfront views available Clean, clean, clean Extremely accommodating staff (Sam, my waiter in the 2nd floor restaurant, was great!) Quick, professional check in Elite lounge available on 3rd floor Fitness center Good restaurant with Starbucks on first floor Small but attractive rooms with nice HD flatscreen television with decent channel line up (a little too heavy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in a great location, right on the waterfront and practically next to the Boardwalk and it is also easy walking distance into the centre of Portland. There seemed to be some good restaurants on the Boardwalk, but unfortunately we only had time for an ice cream. The lunch we ate in the hotel bar was reasonable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lora F, Front Office Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed dining at our hotel. I apologize you were disappointment by our recent renovation. I will share your experiences with the appropriate departments. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do for you. More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I know this review is going to be atypical of most reviews of this hotel. However, I think it needs to be stated that they dropped the ball when it came to my stay. A hotel of this calibre should really have better customer service when it comes to deficiencies in their service. They should really apologize for a lapse... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lora F, Front Office Manager at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the low batteies in the smoke detector. I have shared your feedback with... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My expectations were low because I've not liked Marriotts much, but we chose it because my partner was attending a conference there. It turned out to be fine, much better than my previous experience. Good: - Customer service was very good at the front desk and with the valet staff. Friendly at every interaction and the front desk was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful accommodations and outstanding service. Our trip started with the flight from hell (never fly Spirit) but from the second I pulled up I was greeted and taken care of. From Geremy at the Valet to the Ty Miller running the front desk "Kudos, and thank you for going the extra mile!" The rooms are very nice but more noteworthy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
189 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed 2 nights at the Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront, which is a busy business class hotel in the heart of the business district in Portland. The hotel is very large and the days I was there it was jam packed and busy. There is no free parking and no property owned self-parking options. We used the valet which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

289 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (158)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (131)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Marriott Portland City Center
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center
Downtown
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown / RiverPlace
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#23 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay